We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really basic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 13 - 19, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly chic&basic Amsterdam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Albania
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
67 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Really basic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Location is superb - quiet street (canal) not far from the station, great view, if you got the room with the front view. Rooms are small, functionality is basic. No tables in the rooms at all. Shower is OK, heating works. So, if you there for the night or for the sightseeing / museums it is OK.
Their brekfast is just bread and jam, but coffee complimentary 24/7.

Room Tip: Ask for the canal looking room, probably it worth to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    241
    94
    34
    22
See reviews for
37
310
52
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Regardless of some of the bad reviews this hotel has received I'd have to give this one a two thumbs up. The rooms have an interesting and cozy decor, the beds were comfortable and the highlight was the bathroom located below the room itself. My friend and I were flying standby and had to go to and from the airport to the hotel three times and despite the fact we were checked out each morning, the front desk was courteous enough to allow us to make phone calls and even took messages from my mom overseas! Upon arriving back to the hotel they would also let us back in our room and eat breakfast at no additional cost. Thanks to the staff at C&B my friend and I caught a flight back without any further delays! Danke!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCCLE
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Nice and not too expensive hotel in the center of Amsterdam, in a walking distance of all the attractions..
Rooms are decorated with style.
Breakfast is included, though it's only coffee and bread. That's the only down of the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in November. The reception and overall look of the room when we went in was really good. On first going into the room, having the bathroom down a small flight of spiral stairs was a quirky plus point. But in reality, this was not very good! The stairs too tight and the bathroom ceiling was really low. I'm 5foot 7 and had to crouch to get under the shower.
The breakfast included was toast and coffee/tea. Nothing special.
We stayed in room 201 so if you're tall, have difficulty walking or dont like tight spaces then i would suggest getting a different room. But dont have 003 as this is right next to the stairs to all other rooms and i imagine that this is really loud of a night time.The rooms were quite whilst sleeping but as soon as someone walked by the door it was really noisey. And the room wasvery hot! We couldn't open the window and the tv didnt work (but to be honest they would have sorted that if we had mentioned it)

Overall it was an ok stay, nothing really to shout about. Couple of minutes walk from the central station and the main places of interest. Average hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a room up at least one flight of stairs as the lower levels are very noisy when p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

A booking which was confirmed long in advance was cancelled a couple of days before our arrival with an insulting offer to book us into a cheap airport hotel miles away from the centre. The hotel staff was rude and unapologetic . A promised token compensation has not arrived to this day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a terrible hotel with no customer service at all. When we arrived (26/10) at the hotel, we were told the hotel was overbooked. They had booked us to a hotel "nearby" - it was near the vondel park - 50 min walk from the train station (Park Plaza)! We did not want to go, but they said it was an upgrade to a 4 star hotel and that the room was not the standard one. They called a taxi for us and guaranteed our room at the other hotel would be ready. When we arrived, Park Plaza did not know anything about our situation. Then we heard our room was not ready. in the end they gave us a room, the most basic one, not nice at all! I booked a room at Chic and Basic (not the standard one) worth 146 euro, and they put us in a hotel at the other side of Amsterdam, for 99 EUR! We had to buy 48h passes for public transport to get to the centre for which Chic and Basic did NOT pay of course. The next day, we got a bill at the Park Plaza hotel (!) of 99 EUR. In the end, Park Plaza told us we had to pay 50 EUR to them and 50 to Chic & Basic. We were furious and called C&B - the lady at the reception called her manager, and after 15 min they called back to say we shouldn't pay. When I got home, I sent 2 mails to Chic & Basic to complain and they didn't even bother to answer! When writing this review, I now see that it happens quite a lot. I very much regret not having checked Tripadvisor before booking a room at Chic & Basic. They seem to do this on a regular basis, this is pure fraud - they let you pay 130-140 EUR and then they book you at another hotel for 99 EUR - they win 30 to 40 EUR for doing nothing. I would say to everyone who is thinking about booking a room at this hotel: please don't, you'll regret it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel does overbooking : you reserve, they confirm and when you get there they say : "sorry, no room for you" and they send you to another hotel in a completely different district!
This happened to us on november 1, 2013. IT WILL HAPPEN AGAIN SO AVOID THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Herengracht 13 - 19, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly chic&basic Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Max Brown is situated in three monumental Amsterdam canal houses with an amazing 300-year old facade, at the corner of Amsterdam most famous canals, the Herengracht & the Brouwersgracht. You’re in Hipsterdam the moment you check-in when you pick up your key from the guy or girl behind the impressive bar. You can choose to go straight up to your cosy room or to take a seat at the living room bar. Or at one of the comfy tables, chairs and sofa to gather around with a drink and some delicious bar bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic And Basic Amsterdam
Chic & Basic Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Chic Basic Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.