We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 13 - 19, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly chic&basic Amsterdam) (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
UCCLE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Nice and not too expensive hotel in the center of Amsterdam, in a walking distance of all the attractions..
Rooms are decorated with style.
Breakfast is included, though it's only coffee and bread. That's the only down of the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    249
    94
    35
    22
See reviews for
39
322
52
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in November. The reception and overall look of the room when we went in was really good. On first going into the room, having the bathroom down a small flight of spiral stairs was a quirky plus point. But in reality, this was not very good! The stairs too tight and the bathroom ceiling was really low. I'm 5foot 7 and had to crouch to get under the shower.
The breakfast included was toast and coffee/tea. Nothing special.
We stayed in room 201 so if you're tall, have difficulty walking or dont like tight spaces then i would suggest getting a different room. But dont have 003 as this is right next to the stairs to all other rooms and i imagine that this is really loud of a night time.The rooms were quite whilst sleeping but as soon as someone walked by the door it was really noisey. And the room wasvery hot! We couldn't open the window and the tv didnt work (but to be honest they would have sorted that if we had mentioned it)

Overall it was an ok stay, nothing really to shout about. Couple of minutes walk from the central station and the main places of interest. Average hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a room up at least one flight of stairs as the lower levels are very noisy when p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

A booking which was confirmed long in advance was cancelled a couple of days before our arrival with an insulting offer to book us into a cheap airport hotel miles away from the centre. The hotel staff was rude and unapologetic . A promised token compensation has not arrived to this day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a terrible hotel with no customer service at all. When we arrived (26/10) at the hotel, we were told the hotel was overbooked. They had booked us to a hotel "nearby" - it was near the vondel park - 50 min walk from the train station (Park Plaza)! We did not want to go, but they said it was an upgrade to a 4 star hotel and that the room was not the standard one. They called a taxi for us and guaranteed our room at the other hotel would be ready. When we arrived, Park Plaza did not know anything about our situation. Then we heard our room was not ready. in the end they gave us a room, the most basic one, not nice at all! I booked a room at Chic and Basic (not the standard one) worth 146 euro, and they put us in a hotel at the other side of Amsterdam, for 99 EUR! We had to buy 48h passes for public transport to get to the centre for which Chic and Basic did NOT pay of course. The next day, we got a bill at the Park Plaza hotel (!) of 99 EUR. In the end, Park Plaza told us we had to pay 50 EUR to them and 50 to Chic & Basic. We were furious and called C&B - the lady at the reception called her manager, and after 15 min they called back to say we shouldn't pay. When I got home, I sent 2 mails to Chic & Basic to complain and they didn't even bother to answer! When writing this review, I now see that it happens quite a lot. I very much regret not having checked Tripadvisor before booking a room at Chic & Basic. They seem to do this on a regular basis, this is pure fraud - they let you pay 130-140 EUR and then they book you at another hotel for 99 EUR - they win 30 to 40 EUR for doing nothing. I would say to everyone who is thinking about booking a room at this hotel: please don't, you'll regret it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel does overbooking : you reserve, they confirm and when you get there they say : "sorry, no room for you" and they send you to another hotel in a completely different district!
This happened to us on november 1, 2013. IT WILL HAPPEN AGAIN SO AVOID THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were very disappointed with ‘Chic and Basic’ as we were told on arrival that the hotel is overbooked, although we already booked and paid in advance.
They transferred us to a hotel that was very far from where we wanted to be (about 20min from Central Station by car). They paid a taxi to take us there, but it was our own problem to get back to the station the next morning to fly back home.
To top it all, we had to pay in 100euros to the hotel we didn’t wanted to stay in, in the first place!
Apart from the inconvenience and the money Chic and Basic cost us, isn’t it LOGIC that if you have 10 rooms available, you only book the amount of people that can fit into these 10 rooms, especially when you have to pay in advance?
Besides the accommodation debacle, we enjoyed Amsterdam very much!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Good location. Basic hotel. Only problem we had was a terrible smell came from bathroom drains. Not pleasant. But other than that nice and stylish place near everything and 10 minute walk from central station.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#179 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel Wiechmann
Hotel Wiechmann
#97 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#31 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#9 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#95 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,298 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#152 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Herengracht 13 - 19, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly chic&basic Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#117 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Max Brown is situated in three monumental Amsterdam canal houses with an amazing 300-year old facade, at the corner of Amsterdam most famous canals, the Herengracht & the Brouwersgracht. You’re in Hipsterdam the moment you check-in when you pick up your key from the guy or girl behind the impressive bar. You can choose to go straight up to your cosy room or to take a seat at the living room bar. Or at one of the comfy tables, chairs and sofa to gather around with a drink and some delicious bar bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic And Basic Amsterdam
Chic & Basic Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Chic Basic Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Max Brown Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.