We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising Stairs - Fab Breakfast!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of PC Hooft Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
PC Hooft Hotel
Save
You added PC Hooft Hotel to your Saves list
PC Hooftstraat 63 | Museum Quarter, 1071 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #317 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Berkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Surprising Stairs - Fab Breakfast!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

When my friends and I arrived at PC Hooft Hotel we were rather impressed at its location (it's on a rather plush street near the museums/galleries). However, we were not prepared at all for the very steep staircase which seemed to go on and on. Luckily we were only there for a few nights so we only had little cases to drag up the stairs!
The room I stayed in had a small window which I kept permanently open due to the room STINKING of cigarettes! I sprayed alot of my perfume to mask the odour. There was a communal shower which wasn't too clean.
The positive side was the staff were friendly and 'laid-back' (well this is Amsterdam if you know what I mean). The breakfast was very good, we helped ourselves to a mighty amount it too!
My recommendation is that this is a very niche Hotel, in other words if you a) have Back Problems/Disabilities b) are put off by smoke smells c) are older than 30 then this hotel IS NOT FOR YOU!

Stayed April 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2006

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. We arrived and were shown to a basement room (after being told there were "no other rooms available at all" by the less than understanding receptionist) with no window, with maintenance work being loudly carried out in the hallway outside. After complaning, we were miraculoulsy given a top floor room. Had this suddenly become available within the last, literally, 180 seconds?

The television was in an awful condition, no ironing board was supplied as we had been told and the room had no air-con. We were next to 2 very inconsiderate travellers, who, due to the thin and ultra NON soundproof walls, kept us awake till at least 4am each and every night.

Breakfast was OK, but very basic and in a horrible surrounding. The Vondelpark entrance at the end of the street was fenced off and all in all, my opinion of Amsterdam has been soured by this truly horrific hotel.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2006

We were first shown to a room with no window, so luckily we got changed to a room with a window. The small double rooms are very small, ensuite was clean and recently retiled. Breakfast was good. Very expensive and not a 3 star std hotel. The area was nice and not very far from shops and leidsplein. We paid 546 for 4 nites.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2006

We needed a hotel room for an extra night in Amsterdam and our much cheaper one star up the street was totally booked, so we booked this hotel on Expedia. While it was very nice to have our own bathroom, it was absolutely not worth the money. The bed was pretty uncomfortable, the TV was black & white and the elevator smelled terrible. Considering I was able to priceline a 4 star hotel room for substiantally less in another major european city, I really feel that the Hotel Pc was kind of a rip off. Amsterdam is an expensive city to stay in, but with a little work, you could defenitely do better.

I should also note that this hotel has a different name on the front, it is called the Hotel City Gardens, not Hotel PC. However, the address matches, so it ended up working out.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2006

It was OK if the main thing was to have a cheap room in walking distance of the centre - its very near the reijksmuseum and the outer ring of the central canals, and the Vondelpark is lovely. Designer shops alll along the road if you like window shopping. And to be fair, the reception staff were nice and friendly and helpful. However, the hotel is dingy and shabby throughout, reception carpet worn through and very worn and faded bedroom furnishings. The lift was tiny and made worrying creaking noises, and our room was a few flights of stairs further up than the lift went, so not for the elderly or infirm. we had an en suite bathroom and the shower worked, but the bathroom was grubby and cracked. Our radiator didnt work, when "on" it gurgled loudly, when "off" the room was freezing and the bedding too thin to get warm. We asked for someone to bleed the radiator but there was no evidence of this having been done, and by the time we got back each night we were too tired to worry about it really. The beds were very low and the mattresses inadequate. I didnt see any evidence of mice, but both of us did get a load of bites on our legs which looked like fleabites and took ages to clear up. The breakfast was a standard continental style, plentiful (with a warning not to make sandwiches for your lunch on the wall!) and it was nice that it was included in the deal as often it isnt. definitely not ideal for a romantic weekend, but ok if youre backpacking with friends. though even then, Id say the youth hostel round the corner where I stayed last year was clean and cheap and cheerful if youre with friends, and if youre with your partner/family, I'm probably with the people recommending you try somewhere else...

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2006

go here if you dont mind crackheads and homeless people on your 2 hour walk from the city to your hotel ,dutch elvis(the owner)is a decent enough guy whose hotel reeks of puff

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2005

The PC Hotel in Amsterdam is an overpriced, small, dank and dingy place that's out in the middle of nowhere. The PC Hotel has horrible business practices, just horrible. There are many places to stay in Amsterdam, dont waste any money on this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PC Hooft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PC Hooft Hotel

Address: PC Hooftstraat 63 | Museum Quarter, 1071 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hotel Pc Hooft

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PC Hooft Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.