We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“proprietor told us it was Friday 13th to a room change request” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Prinsenhof

Save Saved
You added Prinsenhof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prinsenhof
Prinsengracht 810, 1017 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 302 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“proprietor told us it was Friday 13th to a room change request”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We arrived to be whisked into a back room with scaffolding outside the windows and workmen in boots working on the room above. No mention of this at booking.
Cigarette smoke seemed to be somehow wafting into our room from below??? even though the hotel is supposed to be non smoking.
The noise of workboots woke us next morning at 8 am.
We were paying 95 euros per night. The room was small, spartan and completely lacking in character and feeling. Were it not for the location and the fact that it was a busy time in Amsterdam we would have moved to another hotel.
When we requested a room change for our second night the response - It's Friday 13th - ie.bad luck!
great customer empathy.
We stayed here over 10 years ago and a cheerful woman greeted us for breakfast. We had a positive feeling about this place on that stay. The breakfast is now self serve.
We won't be giving this place another try nor will we be buying the lonely planet guide which rated it "honest value". Travel experiences educate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    66
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
65
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I agree with one of the previous comments that some people are overrating this hotel. The staff were nice and welcoming and the location decent, but.. it was extremely noisy. Traffic outside and paperthin walls made it difficult to sleep. The beds were also hard. I didn't have a problem sharing bathroom facilities and the radiators were on to the max, but no way will that price retain customers considering how noisy it was.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Visited this hotel a weekend in November, nice and cozy, nice rooms. A bit pricy. 75€ pr night. Good transport connections with the nr4 tram running outside. The rooms have good heating, but only single glazed windows make it a noisy experience!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I've visited Amsterdam more than seven times since 1999 and Hotel Prinsenhof is one of my favorite places to stay. My wife and I stayed here during August 2013 while on summer vacation.
Positives:
Great central location. Next to superb restaurants and pubs/cafes. We walked from the hotel to Van Gogh Musem, Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum, Leidseplein, Rembrandtplein. I ran from the hotel to Vondel Park every day to exercise.
Friendly professional staff: Mark & Renee did their best to make us feel welcome.
Free WiFi
Clean and safe hotel.
Quiet at night, easy to sleep.
Free and filling breakfast buffet.

There's nothing I can say negatively about this hotel. I would note; if you have limited mobility or need a handicapped accessible hotel this would not be a good place for you, no elevator and very steep stairs.

Room Tip: I requested a room facing the canal and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This little gem of a hotel is reasonably central with enough bars and restaurants to cater to everyone's taste. Also within walking distance is Rembrandtplein where you will find a more tourist vibe if your heart desires such. Tram #4 from Central Station stops a VERY short distance from the hotel - so you are easily connected to the rest of the city and not too far from the museum quarter too. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable with free wifi in the rooms and free safety deposit boxes at reception for all your valuables. A double room is a standard European style of 2 single beds side-by-side. The building is quant and old - so be prepared for very steep stairs with a short run - not so easy for those of us with big feet, but all part of the charm of this characteristic buidling. Our room was one of 2 at the very top of the building, which meant that we were in the pitch of the roof. This gave it a very cozy atmosphere, but was a bit awkward at times especially for us 6ft+ people. Over-all I was very impressed with this hotel and it's very friendly and accommodating staff and would definitely recommend it - I'm sure that my next trip to Amsterdam will be spent at this delightful gem again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the hotel might not have a canal view, but they are definitely quieter as b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Comparing the price to the youth hostels, before arrival we were thinking we would get a smelly room without any windows. This hotel is beautiful. Luckily we got a room looking to the canal, the decoration of the room made me feel like I was a character in a Dostoyevski novel. At night we felt asleep with pleasant thoughts.

And the breakfast was excellent too. It wasn't the usual "serve the cheapest food you can find", the quality of the items were pretty decent.

Don't expect much from the hotel though, it is a budget B&B in the end. But totally worth every cent you pay, you will get more than your money's value. It is not right in the middle of the attractions but it is close enough especially if you rent a bike. Dave the receptionist was very kind and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We wanted a hotel along the canal ring for a reasonable price, and this place fit the bill perfectly. The steps up to reception are steep, but we expected that given that it is truly an old canal house. Staff was exceptionally friendly, even lending us a power converter for our 3 night stay. Beds weren't anything special, but we had the triple room on the first floor and it was exceptionally roomy. No TV, but the little time we were in the room we enjoyed sitting with the windows open listening to the rain fall on the buildings around. Walking out of the hotel you are greeted by a view befitting a postcard as you are right on the canal & have bikes locked up to the railing. We were also pleasantly surprised by a new tram stop that was only 15 yards from our front door that wasn't on the map we had downloaded, but made getting around a dream!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prinsenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsenhof

Address: Prinsengracht 810, 1017 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 302 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Prinsenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsenhof Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prinsenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.