We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced for a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prinsenhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Prinsenhof to your Saves list
Prinsenhof
Prinsengracht 810, 1017 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced for a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Prinsenhof for four nights and loved walking out the front door and seeing the canal. My room was small but clean and comfortable. Don't expect a lot of amenities, but the staff will take good care of you. They were helpful and friendly and answered any questions I had. The stairs are steep, so pack lightly! The location was perfect--it's within easy walking distance of the Waterlooplein street market and there are several cafes in the vicinity. The closest tram stop is only a few blocks away. If you don't mind walking, you can easily get to the Museumplein and shopping. The internet connection was unreliable, which was frustrating. The breakfast each morning was great and I finally saw the cat on day four!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    74
    26
    7
    4
See reviews for
13
76
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Multi-level less expensive hotel. Not bad value for price. Very small stairs with no elevator and rooms on multi-levels. Not a lot offered at breakfast. Very helpful, and friendly staff. No private bathrooms, all shared bath.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here for €89 for 2 people including breakfast. It was a pleasant stay with a clean room right in the heart of Amsterdam on the 'nicer' half of the city. There was no tv in the room or toiletries provided but for the price in Amsterdam it was good value and the people were friendly. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Not suitable for wheelchair users, lots of very steep stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

A lovely canal building with cafes and bars in the nieghborhood. The staff were quite nice, the breakfast is awesome, especially with classical music. Lots of hip European youngsters going to nearby bars, and canal boats passing by with pulsating Euro-trash techno can be bothersome at night. The steep stairs really suck, but whatever. The shared shower and bathrooms are no problem. My single room was small but cozy enough, with a canal view. Tight spaces are a fact of life in Amsterdam. Overall, great hotel and cheap! The biggest problem was getting some sleep from the partyers at night (and man do they keep on going even till 5:30 am!) You can close the window, it gets a little muggy but not too bad.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel is housed in a traditional canal house on the Prisengracht. There is a cat and a very interesting mechanism for opening the front door from the first floor. The stairs are very steep as is typical of dutch canal houses and there is no elevator. I paid my bill in full in cash upon arrival (I was there for 4 nights total); because of this, the day manager didn't have to keep my passport. When I was checkin out, the afternoon manager, a grumpy man, accused me of not having paid. I assured him that I had paid in full. Why else would you not have my passport, I asked him. The day manager had not written down that I had paid. I asked the grumpy guy to please call the day manager to confirm this. After a bit of arguing, he aquiesed and the day manager indeed confirmed that I had paid. A lot of stress and trouble for nothing. The windows in the room are very old and will not stay up unless you stick a nail in a hole that has been drilled into the sill. It is advertised that breakfast can be provided for people with early flights. I got some resistance to this request but ultimately had some bread, jam and a coffee maker delivered to my room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

This is our second stay at the Prinsenhof and we returned to celebrate our wedding anniversary
It is in a brilliant location on the Prinsengracht canal, close to some lovely bars and restaurants. We asked for room 9 again which is at the front and at the top, (good exercise). A lovely attic room with a small en-suit, a broad small set of ladders leads you to the wide window over-looking the canal and the roof- tops towards the center(it can get a little noisy in the good weather when folk are out on their boats, but we didn't mind, it added to the ambiance.
Breakfast is served on the petite breakfast room which over looks the courtyard and is decorated by an imposing 'Night watch' and a wonderful map of old Amsterdam.
Its an easy walk to all of the attractions from the hotel...looking forward to coming back next year!

Room Tip: The hotels website is great full, and full of tourist information
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder Creek, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Spent 2 nights here in May. First, let me say the location is the best thing about this hotel - very close to tram stops, nice neighborhood for wandering, shopping, simple dining.

The dining room is sweet, the classical music playing at breakfast is sooo nice (Brandenburg Concerto the morning I ate there), the breakfast itself was perfectly fine (and I loved the coffee/tea pot warmer with candle!)

The hotel itself made me uncomfortable. The room was big enough, but funky carpeting (read that as "really needs to be replaced"), dicey shower curtain, sheets that need to be replaced, as well as creaky, could hear other guests, steps in the hallway at night (yes, I know there's shared facilities). I actually put a chair up against my door when I finally went to bed.

Not particularly friendly/helpful staff. No effort to help me as I struggled with my large, heavy suitcase up the crazy narrow, steep, small entrance staircase.

Glad I only spent 2 nights. Next time, I'll start looking for a hotel sooner than I did this time. Would not stay here again, even at the price. I would actually rate this place as between Poor and Average, if I could.

Wish the hotel had lived up to its website...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prinsenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsenhof

Address: Prinsengracht 810, 1017 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Prinsenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsenhof Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prinsenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.