We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great helpful staff and central to Amsterdam train station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A-Train Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added A-Train Hotel to your Saves list
A-Train Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 23, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Schirmann Hotel) (Dam Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bundaberg, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great helpful staff and central to Amsterdam train station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stayed there for 2 days and found the staff most helpful with any information I asked about. Also the lift was great to have instead of using stairs with luggage etc. Breakfast was very well catered for and the room I stayed in was very tidy. I will be traveling back in a few weeks time and have booked to stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    246
    83
    26
    17
See reviews for
76
191
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We (family of 5) stayed in the family suite for three nights. It was quiet, but a little warm upstairs with no AC but the fan was fine. The room is big with a small kitchenette attached to the loft and living area. Breakfast was pretty basic. The location, however, is the best. Straight across from the train and within walking distance to most of the attractions in the inner ring, it's incredibly convenient access back to the airport and out of or into the city.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The hotel is allocated opposite the train station .if you travel by Eurostar " The train" is the
perfect place to stay in.
It is also very convenient for walking in Amsterdam ,exploring the town and then quick and easy
come back to have a rest or change clothes.
The theme of the hotel( like his name) is " Train" and inside it looks like a train.It is unusual. It is
attractive and unique in some way.You got the impression that you are in train.
It is a bit narrow,it is not luxury,but,common,guys,what do you expect- this is a TRAIN!
And we don't go to stay indoor. We' ve got everything we needed ( for the money we paid ) and we enjoyed the hotel.
The room was clean.
The staff was nice and friendly.The breakfast - good and enough.
I recommended this hotel to all my friends
And i will recommend it again,to everyone who need a place to stay and to see
the Amsterdam's sights

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are not so no The rooms on the top floor are far from the bar and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIGBOSSAmsterdam, Owner at A-Train Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Very pleased to hear that you appreciated the amazing A-Train hotel, we aim to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Guy on desk was rude and acting as if the place was the Ritz or something..we paid...152 euros..left bags..when we came back for keys and saw twin bedded room we demanded our money back..then went to the much better Victoria Hotel for not much more money. ..crap crap crap

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIGBOSSAmsterdam, Owner at A-Train Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
First of all we are sorry you were disappointed in our hotel.
We are a 3* hotel in located in 4 monumental buildings and of course our standard room sizes are smaller than in 4/5* star hotels, like the Victoria.

Trust you had a good time in our beautiful city anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This hotel is just right across Amsterdam Central (train station). Hotel main theme is train . So the owner loves anything about train, breakfast is simple but good . Staff is very friendly, rooms are clean. This hotel is just 5 min away from Damrak. There is also a supermarket right next to this hotel making it easy to buy drinks and tidbits.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Tripadvisor revues do not always give you the full story. For all future research we will read many more negative reports to assist us to understand exactly what we are getting.

We booked a double room and stayed in room 301 on the third floor. During our stay it was unusually warm for that time of year and without air-conditioning we really struggled to get a good night sleep as the outside noise continues into the early hours being so close to the station. May be ear plugs would have assisted us and allowed us to leave the window open.

It would have been difficult to get the double bed into the room. It was pushed into the corner and protruded past the bathroom. There was no space for an open suitcase and the wall mounted TV could not be turned far enough to face the only viewing position…the bed. Basic inclusions were 2 of each; bath towels, hand towels, soap dispensers, toilet rolls and 8 hangers…That was it!

The location is excellent as was the service but we would not stay there again as we felt it was poor value.

Room Tip: Check negative revues to get a better picture of your selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIGBOSSAmsterdam, Owner at A-Train Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
First of all we are sorry you were disappointed in our hotel.

The A-Train Hotel is a unique 3 star hotel. All 34 rooms are comfortably furnished and are equipped with radio, satellite TV with pay TV, safe, work desk, telephone, WIFI, wake-up system and have modern bathrooms with a hair-drier.
We have two buildings one from 1820 and the other one from late 1600, that is way some of the rooms are relatively small. Drastic changes, as replacing walls, were not allowed by the "Department of the Environment Historic Buildings Bureau". Airco's were not allowed.
If you look at our pictures, you will see that our rooms are relatively small, we have nothing to hide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The wife & myself have just had another great trip too Amsterdam and the A-train hotel,prebooked and managed to grab our favourite room (a-side 204) nice and quiet on the second floor (lift available) also you can smoke (normal bacci ) :) Breakfast was superb,we even had some on arival,and this was after the kitchen was closed. Made welcome again by the staff who some of remember us from previous visits.

All the attractions be it,smoking,drinking,canal trips,red light dist,clubs and pubs are all within easy walking distance,also if traveling by train,the hotel is facing central station.

Next door theres the Albert supermarket,this shop will cater for all your needs at a great price,pop in here for a sandwich and eat it in the atrains lounge,a cheaper option to eating out.

Thanks again people,hope to see you all again in the near future.

Kathy & Bob.

x

Room Tip: A-side 204 for peace and quiet pluss smoking allowed (normal bacci)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIGBOSSAmsterdam, Owner at A-Train Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Very pleased to hear that you appreciated the amazing A-Train hotel, we aim to please.
Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to A-Train Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Train Hotel

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 23, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Schirmann Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A-Train Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A-Train Hotel is a unique 3 star hotel with a train-theme. It is ideally located in front of the Central (Railway) Station, right in the beating heart of Amsterdam. Shopping areas, tourist attractions, pubs, restaurants, theaters, are all within walking distance. All 34 rooms are comfortably furnished and have modern bathrooms with a hair-drier and are equipped with radio, satellite TV with pay TV, safe, work desk, direct-dial telephone with wake-up system and WIFI. The hotel has a lift, a luggage store room and 24 hours check in. An easy chair, coffee and tea making facilities, fridge and a great view off the Central Station are the extras in our 4 excellent 'First class rooms', also very suitable for business guests. For special occasions we have the 'Old Dutch Suite' with a small private garden/patio. Furthermore smoking and non-smoking rooms and 2 excellent family rooms. No two rooms are alike in our surprising train-themed hotel! All major public transport lines operate from the Central Station, only 15-20 minutes from Schiphol Airport, RAI and WTC. There is an (expensive) underground public parking opposite the A-Train Hotel. Cheap parking, from €10,- per 24 hours at 5 minutes walk from the hotel.. The A-Train Hotel is a cozy hotel, run by Jos and Erika Heijnsdijk and manager Ali Hassan and will be a comfortable place to stay during your tourist or business visit and will make you feel like "Home away from Home". We aim to please with an informal atmosphere and are looking forward to see you soon in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your A-Train Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Train Hotel Amsterdam
Europe Train
Train Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A-Train Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.