We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay wow !!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A-Train Hotel

Save Saved
You added A-Train Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
A-Train Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 23, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Schirmann Hotel) (Dam Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #116 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“good stay wow !!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

28-31 march, room b107,great room small clean,nice staff,safe storage for bags before you check in, bathroom good clean hot water,b107 is a solo room nice tv,good location with being right across the road from the train station,someone at the door 24/7.

Room Tip: b107 is a solo room nice tv
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIGBOSSAmsterdam, Owner at A-Train Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    235
    74
    26
    16
See reviews for
68
180
27
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Perfect location with being right across the road from the train station and right around the corner from a lot of the museums.
We were 3 sharing a room which was over 2 floors, beds upstairs and bathroom, tv and chairs downstairs.
Really friendly staff and free safe storage of your luggage after checking out if you have a few hours to kill, like we did,

Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Let me begin by saying that this was my first time in Amsterdam and I was truly blown away by the city itself and how friendly and welcoming almost all of its people were. Sadly enough, those working at this property were not among the vast majority of these people.

This hotel claims to be run "family-style" but it felt like your run of the mill, low-end hotel. And while I know that the rule of thumb is that "you get what you pay for", I really felt cheated on value both in terms of product and, more importantly, service. The gentlemen at the Front Desk were condescending to the point when I felt like I was paying to stay at a youth hostel, not a hotel, regardless of its positioning. Upon arriving, I was asked to sign a credit card slip (even though I had already been charged online in advance). Upon asking hey, I was told that this was the way things were (something I find hard to believe, having personally be in charge of implementing PCI DSS at several hotels myself...). Furthermore, the antiquated practice of returning your hard-key each time you left the hotel was poorly explained and I was basically given an earful for not doing it. As a matter of fact, the only individuals that I felt were genuinely friendly were the housekeeping attendants.

As for the product itself, the breakfast offering was acceptable for a complimentary one. However, the presentation was sub-par (yogurt was placed in a milk container, and the milk itself in some unrecognizable container, all while being entirely unlabelled.... The room itself was beyond tiny (and I've stayed at countless hotels in Paris, a city notorious of its minimal room sizes). There was no room to move around, not even for me to place my suitcase unless upright. The mattress was wafer thin and I won't even get started on the bathroom, which looked more like it should be in a penitentiary rather than a hotel. Furthermore, this room was meant to accommodate two people, which I think I would have dreaded if it were the case.

In short, this hotel really only has one thing going for it, which is its proximity to the Grand Centraal station. And quite frankly, upon walking around, there seemed to be much more pleasant places to stay around the station and in even closer vicinity to its entrance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here thursday to monday. Enjoyed the stay in Amsterdam. The hotel has 24 hour service and has very kind and helpful staff.
I do recommend it for the location too. We walked all around the city centrum :-)
B.I.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Very near the central station and short walk to Dam Square and other attractions but just far enough to be out of the hustle and bustle of the inner city streets. Hotel staff were friendly with a laid back but thoroughly professional attitude. Rooms were clean and well equipped and ours had nice large windows with a good view of Central station. The hotel had a train theme but it was done tastefully and wasn't too gimmicky.

Would not hesitate in booking this place again. Thoroughly recommend it as a base to explore the city from.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Had a 2 night stay at the A train and we couldnt find any faults.. stayed in the old dutch suite which had its own little courtyard. Breakfast was included in the price which was basic but good, although more fresh fruit could possibly be on offer. Staff very friendly.. Enjoyed our stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We spent two nights a the A-Train hotel and I am very happy with the choice. The room was very comfortable and the use of space was superb. The room was clean and the bed and pillows comfortable. A great addition in my opinion was that the room had radiators so the heating was easily controlled without that awful drying out of the atmosphere that blow heaters provide! The staff were very friendly and the location excellent.

I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A-Train Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Train Hotel

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 23, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Schirmann Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A-Train Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A-Train Hotel is a unique 3 star hotel with a train-theme. It is ideally located in front of the Central (Railway) Station, right in the beating heart of Amsterdam. Shopping areas, tourist attractions, pubs, restaurants, theaters, are all within walking distance. All 34 rooms are comfortably furnished and have modern bathrooms with a hair-drier and are equipped with radio, satellite TV with pay TV, safe, work desk, direct-dial telephone with wake-up system and WIFI. The hotel has a lift, a luggage store room and 24 hours check in. An easy chair, coffee and tea making facilities, fridge and a great view off the Central Station are the extras in our 4 excellent 'First class rooms', also very suitable for business guests. For special occasions we have the 'Old Dutch Suite' with a small private garden/patio. Furthermore smoking and non-smoking rooms and 2 excellent family rooms. No two rooms are alike in our surprising train-themed hotel! All major public transport lines operate from the Central Station, only 15-20 minutes from Schiphol Airport, RAI and WTC. There is an (expensive) underground public parking opposite the A-Train Hotel. Cheap parking, from €10,- per 24 hours at 5 minutes walk from the hotel.. The A-Train Hotel is a cozy hotel, run by Jos and Erika Heijnsdijk and manager Ali Hassan and will be a comfortable place to stay during your tourist or business visit and will make you feel like "Home away from Home". We aim to please with an informal atmosphere and are looking forward to see you soon in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your A-Train Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Train Hotel Amsterdam
Europe Train
Train Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A-Train Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.