We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A-Train Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added A-Train Hotel to your Saves list
A-Train Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 23, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Schirmann Hotel) (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very friendly and central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Perfect location with being right across the road from the train station and right around the corner from a lot of the museums.
We were 3 sharing a room which was over 2 floors, beds upstairs and bathroom, tv and chairs downstairs.
Really friendly staff and free safe storage of your luggage after checking out if you have a few hours to kill, like we did,

Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Let me begin by saying that this was my first time in Amsterdam and I was truly blown away by the city itself and how friendly and welcoming almost all of its people were. Sadly enough, those working at this property were not among the vast majority of these people.

This hotel claims to be run "family-style" but it felt like your run of the mill, low-end hotel. And while I know that the rule of thumb is that "you get what you pay for", I really felt cheated on value both in terms of product and, more importantly, service. The gentlemen at the Front Desk were condescending to the point when I felt like I was paying to stay at a youth hostel, not a hotel, regardless of its positioning. Upon arriving, I was asked to sign a credit card slip (even though I had already been charged online in advance). Upon asking hey, I was told that this was the way things were (something I find hard to believe, having personally be in charge of implementing PCI DSS at several hotels myself...). Furthermore, the antiquated practice of returning your hard-key each time you left the hotel was poorly explained and I was basically given an earful for not doing it. As a matter of fact, the only individuals that I felt were genuinely friendly were the housekeeping attendants.

As for the product itself, the breakfast offering was acceptable for a complimentary one. However, the presentation was sub-par (yogurt was placed in a milk container, and the milk itself in some unrecognizable container, all while being entirely unlabelled.... The room itself was beyond tiny (and I've stayed at countless hotels in Paris, a city notorious of its minimal room sizes). There was no room to move around, not even for me to place my suitcase unless upright. The mattress was wafer thin and I won't even get started on the bathroom, which looked more like it should be in a penitentiary rather than a hotel. Furthermore, this room was meant to accommodate two people, which I think I would have dreaded if it were the case.

In short, this hotel really only has one thing going for it, which is its proximity to the Grand Centraal station. And quite frankly, upon walking around, there seemed to be much more pleasant places to stay around the station and in even closer vicinity to its entrance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AAlGhoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here thursday to monday. Enjoyed the stay in Amsterdam. The hotel has 24 hour service and has very kind and helpful staff.
I do recommend it for the location too. We walked all around the city centrum :-)
B.I.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Bilal I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Had a 2 night stay at the A train and we couldnt find any faults.. stayed in the old dutch suite which had its own little courtyard. Breakfast was included in the price which was basic but good, although more fresh fruit could possibly be on offer. Staff very friendly.. Enjoyed our stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank flirtyfairy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We spent two nights a the A-Train hotel and I am very happy with the choice. The room was very comfortable and the use of space was superb. The room was clean and the bed and pillows comfortable. A great addition in my opinion was that the room had radiators so the heating was easily controlled without that awful drying out of the atmosphere that blow heaters provide! The staff were very friendly and the location excellent.

I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debrahis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Just got back home from a 7 day trip to Amsterdam with my hubby. My hubby booked 3 days at a hotel near Dam Square for our 20th wedding anniversary - this was a surprise as I had already booked A-Train for my hubby's birthday a couple of days later. The first hotel was awful, noisy dirty and no amenities at all. My poor hubby was gutted by the state of the place.
A-Train on the other hand was wonderful. I had booked the suite with the private garden. Clean room, wonderful friendly owners and staff that really looked after you, lovely breakfast and a really quirky hotel that was so comfy. Just a stones throw from the train station and walking distance to the main square, what an absolute delight. I would recommend to anyone wishing to stay in is lovely city, to take a look at this hotel - you won't be disappointed. Thank you so much for a memorable stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lily2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I satyed with 4 friends at the A-Train Hotel over an extended weekend and we had just a fabulous time! The location is perfect - everything needed is within a few minutes walking distance; the whole staff is extremely friendly and very anxious! Rooms are very clean, spacious, comfy - value for money is perfect! We definitely will be back soon!

Room Tip: If you travel like me and my friends in a group - ask for the 'apartment' on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#162 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,610 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#120 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#188 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,144 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#59 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Train Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Train Hotel

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 23, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Schirmann Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — A-Train Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A-Train Hotel is a unique 3 star hotel with a train-theme. It is ideally located in front of the Central (Railway) Station, right in the beating heart of Amsterdam. Shopping areas, tourist attractions, pubs, restaurants, theaters, are all within walking distance. All 34 rooms are comfortably furnished and have modern bathrooms with a hair-drier and are equipped with radio, satellite TV with pay TV, safe, work desk, direct-dial telephone with wake-up system and FREE WIFI. The hotel has a lift, a luggage store room and 24 hours check in. An easy chair, coffee and tea making facilities, fridge and a great view off the Central Station are the extras in our 4 excellent 'First class rooms', also very suitable for business guests. For special occasions we have the 'Old Dutch Suite' with a small private garden/patio. Furthermore smoking and non-smoking rooms and 2 excellent family rooms. No two rooms are alike in our surprising train-themed hotel! All major public transport lines operate from the Central Station, only 15-20 minutes from Schiphol Airport, RAI and WTC. There is an (expensive) underground public parking opposite the A-Train Hotel. Cheap parking, from €10,- per 24 hours at 5 minutes walk from the hotel.. The A-Train Hotel is a cozy hotel, run by Jos and Erika Heijnsdijk and manager Ali Hassan and will be a comfortable place to stay during your tourist or business visit and will make you feel like "Home away from Home". We aim to please with an informal atmosphere and are looking forward to see you soon in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your A-Train Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Train Hotel Amsterdam
Europe Train
Train Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing