We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A-Train Hotel

Save Saved
You added A-Train Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
A-Train Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 23, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Schirmann Hotel) (Dam Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #115 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“first class hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed at the Atrain for 3 nights,the hotel is very clean and looks just like the photos on the website.We had a twin smoking room at the front facing Central Station,the beds are very comfy and can be pushed together,if you want a quieter room ask for a room at the back of the hotel. The traffic noise might be a problem for some but not us. The bathroom was large, for Amsterdam, and clean with the towels changed daily. The breakfast was plentiful and you could eat as much as you like ( the fruit toast was our favourite) with as much coffee as you could drink. The staff always had a smile and were only too happy to answer any questions that were asked. Although we're not into the railways this is one train we cant wait to catch again!!

Room Tip: A big bonus is the modern lift which alot of hotels in Amsterdam DONT have!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    236
    74
    26
    16
See reviews for
68
180
27
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This hotel was great. Located very near the train station, hop on hop off canal bus stop and walking distance to the red light district and other attractions. The staff was very friendly and the room was perfect for two adults and two teens.

Room Tip: The room we had was 2 twin and a double bed. Perfect for 2 adults and boy and girl teens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011 via mobile

This is a great 3-star hotel in a perfect location. It's just across the station. It's a regular 3star hotel but I think the best thing about it are the very friendly staff. Very good breakfast too!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montenegro
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I reserved this hotel trough the internet, it's wonderful located just in front of Central Station, price was similar to other hotel in the same area.
The hotel is very cozy, clean and well decorated, staff was very friendly and helpful, but our room was terrible! It was almost in the under flool, the only window was badly located and we could not see nothing trough it. The room was not only bad, it was expensive, very expensive, almost 200 euros per night! If it was sheaper, ok, no problem, but it doesn't value the price! I hardly recommend the hotel to charge less for that room! The room was very badly lightened (not enough lamps), and it increases the sensation of sub soil. The good thing we have there was the floor of the bathroom, it has a very nice heating system. Amsterdam is a very nice city, good museums, but it's a place to go once in your life and do not come back! At least for me, marijuana and prostitutes are also very common in Brazil...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Very convenient to train station for quick in and out trip. Price was a good value. Staff very friendly and accomodating.
Street noise was a bit loud. Not sure I would stay there with the family.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

To put it simply, I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I went back to Amsterdam.

The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Everything was as advertised and mentioned on their website. The room was spacious and clean (we had booked a 3 bed room). It was priced for economy and breakfast was included. Our choice of breakfast was limited - but that's because we were vegetarian. There was a free internet kiosk provided free of charge and unlimited drinks from the vending m/c (this may be a limited period offer because the hotel is being painted from the outside and the owners wanted to compensate for any inconvenience caused - not that it was causing any - we were out the whole day and came back late at night)
Earlier reviews had told us that they ask for the whole amount to be paid in advance - so that wasn't a shock. The hotel was well worth it so no complaints. Located very close to the train station, bus station, tram station and the red-light district; this meant we saved a lot of time and money on travel

Room Tip: their website gives you the best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011 via mobile

Great location. Staff helpful and friendly. Rooms very small and no air con or fan in bathroom. Meant room was VERY hot. Don't think I could stay there during peak of summer.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A-Train Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Train Hotel

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 23, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Schirmann Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A-Train Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A-Train Hotel is a unique 3 star hotel with a train-theme. It is ideally located in front of the Central (Railway) Station, right in the beating heart of Amsterdam. Shopping areas, tourist attractions, pubs, restaurants, theaters, are all within walking distance. All 34 rooms are comfortably furnished and have modern bathrooms with a hair-drier and are equipped with radio, satellite TV with pay TV, safe, work desk, direct-dial telephone with wake-up system and WIFI. The hotel has a lift, a luggage store room and 24 hours check in. An easy chair, coffee and tea making facilities, fridge and a great view off the Central Station are the extras in our 4 excellent 'First class rooms', also very suitable for business guests. For special occasions we have the 'Old Dutch Suite' with a small private garden/patio. Furthermore smoking and non-smoking rooms and 2 excellent family rooms. No two rooms are alike in our surprising train-themed hotel! All major public transport lines operate from the Central Station, only 15-20 minutes from Schiphol Airport, RAI and WTC. There is an (expensive) underground public parking opposite the A-Train Hotel. Cheap parking, from €10,- per 24 hours at 5 minutes walk from the hotel.. The A-Train Hotel is a cozy hotel, run by Jos and Erika Heijnsdijk and manager Ali Hassan and will be a comfortable place to stay during your tourist or business visit and will make you feel like "Home away from Home". We aim to please with an informal atmosphere and are looking forward to see you soon in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your A-Train Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Train Hotel Amsterdam
Europe Train
Train Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A-Train Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.