We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, clean and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bicycle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bicycle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bicycle Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Ostadestraat 123 | The Pijp, 1072 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cheap, clean and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

A step above a hostel. Clean, cheap and located wihin a fifteen minute walk from the centre. Staff very helpful. parking a pain though. narrow spiral staircases. Tricky with big luggage. Parking a little expensive, but the hotel can save you a couple of Euro in their lot.

Room Tip: Choose ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    52
    23
    12
    6
See reviews for
10
51
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

we stayed 6nights, the guys are very helpful and nice, everyday we can see a pretty girl or pretty boy, haha.
we like the breakfast, even now I still miss them.
stairs are very steep, and the room we stay do not have place to hang wet clothes

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Highlights: location, convenient to trams, quiet at night. Can't say I found the staff friendly; rather, they seemed to tolerate us. Also, didn't think breakfast was a highlight; it was sufficient but nothing to rave about. WiFi was spotty which considering the importance for a traveler planning their activities was a disappointment. All in all.....meh.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked a double room expecting a very small Bible based on past reviews. The room we received (referred to as an "apartment") is a lovely spacious, neat and clean. It has it's own very large shower and toilet with a large bedroom and self catering kitchenette including fridge, microwave and kettle with cutlery. For the average middle income traveller I would definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
new plymouth
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very friendly helpful staff. Bike hire reasonable price. Strongly recommend hiring one, extremely bike friendly city. Stairs to the rooms are tough, steep, narrow - don't stay if you will struggle to carry big suitcases up narrow stairs!! Sure staff could help. Wifi good, free use of computers too, breakfast simple but very adequate. Room small but fine, has basin. I had a room facing street. Toilet and shower fit for purpose, but one issue is toilet/shower lights on very short timers so turn off fast - on motion sensors so do turn back on but disconcerting 1st time! They were clean when I was there - note that others found that not the case. If you are at RAI conference centre and on a budget this is ideal. Close to markets, easy bike to city centre/red light area etc.. Most ppl do not come to Amsterdam for a hotel room so this is very much fit for purpose.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrahdale, W.A.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were pleased with the hotel. We have been traveling a lot recently including a lot of travel in Africa. We arrived very tired first thing in the morning and were pleased that they were willing to keep our bags even though we could not check into the room till 3 pm.
The stairs ARE steep (read ladder), but hey! its Amsterdam! Breakfast was good (only mind the toaster - if you burn your toast it sets off the fire alarm ALL THROUGH the hotel AND fire station!)
Easy to get to - trolley bus 8 stations from Amsterdam Central train station. Great area for walking. On a quiet street.
Shared bathroom and toilet - not a problem - clean and all that, but automatic lights are on very short timers.
Would go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I don't honestly have many negative things to say about this place. It's not far from the city centre, and easy to get to on trams. You take the 25 from central station, and it takes about 15 minutes!
My main negative is the stairs, we were on the top floor (4th). However, we got used to it and we could handle it I guess! If you can't handle a lot of stairs, I would recommend saying something before you book it, and asking for a room on the first floor etc.
It was a really good price for what it was, the breakfast was very basic. There was a toaster on each table, and you got given a bread basket. Coffee machine etc, fresh juice, cereal, and hams/cheese. The breakfast room is really nice, relaxed and very Ikea.
The rooms were basic, and a sink in each room. We had room 4.1, 2 single beds. VERY comfy beds, nothing to complain about that. And it's in a very quiet neighbourhood, kept the window open all weekend and nothing ever woke us up. Clean room, and the shower room and toilet were always clean. It never bothered me that it was shared because there was never any queuing for anything!
Really enjoyed myself here, and I would stay here again. But maybe request a room on a lower floor!

Room Tip: The stairs are just crazy so a lower floor would be better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bicycle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicycle Hotel

Address: Van Ostadestraat 123 | The Pijp, 1072 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Bicycle Hotel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bicycle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicycle Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bicycle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.