We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bicycle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bicycle Hotel to your Saves list
Bicycle Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Ostadestraat 123 | The Pijp, 1072 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #174 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“Pleasantly Surprised ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked a double room expecting a very small Bible based on past reviews. The room we received (referred to as an "apartment") is a lovely spacious, neat and clean. It has it's own very large shower and toilet with a large bedroom and self catering kitchenette including fridge, microwave and kettle with cutlery. For the average middle income traveller I would definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    67
    30
    15
    7
See reviews for
13
73
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new plymouth
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly helpful staff. Bike hire reasonable price. Strongly recommend hiring one, extremely bike friendly city. Stairs to the rooms are tough, steep, narrow - don't stay if you will struggle to carry big suitcases up narrow stairs!! Sure staff could help. Wifi good, free use of computers too, breakfast simple but very adequate. Room small but fine, has basin. I had a room facing street. Toilet and shower fit for purpose, but one issue is toilet/shower lights on very short timers so turn off fast - on motion sensors so do turn back on but disconcerting 1st time! They were clean when I was there - note that others found that not the case. If you are at RAI conference centre and on a budget this is ideal. Close to markets, easy bike to city centre/red light area etc.. Most ppl do not come to Amsterdam for a hotel room so this is very much fit for purpose.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrahdale, W.A.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were pleased with the hotel. We have been traveling a lot recently including a lot of travel in Africa. We arrived very tired first thing in the morning and were pleased that they were willing to keep our bags even though we could not check into the room till 3 pm.
The stairs ARE steep (read ladder), but hey! its Amsterdam! Breakfast was good (only mind the toaster - if you burn your toast it sets off the fire alarm ALL THROUGH the hotel AND fire station!)
Easy to get to - trolley bus 8 stations from Amsterdam Central train station. Great area for walking. On a quiet street.
Shared bathroom and toilet - not a problem - clean and all that, but automatic lights are on very short timers.
Would go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I don't honestly have many negative things to say about this place. It's not far from the city centre, and easy to get to on trams. You take the 25 from central station, and it takes about 15 minutes!
My main negative is the stairs, we were on the top floor (4th). However, we got used to it and we could handle it I guess! If you can't handle a lot of stairs, I would recommend saying something before you book it, and asking for a room on the first floor etc.
It was a really good price for what it was, the breakfast was very basic. There was a toaster on each table, and you got given a bread basket. Coffee machine etc, fresh juice, cereal, and hams/cheese. The breakfast room is really nice, relaxed and very Ikea.
The rooms were basic, and a sink in each room. We had room 4.1, 2 single beds. VERY comfy beds, nothing to complain about that. And it's in a very quiet neighbourhood, kept the window open all weekend and nothing ever woke us up. Clean room, and the shower room and toilet were always clean. It never bothered me that it was shared because there was never any queuing for anything!
Really enjoyed myself here, and I would stay here again. But maybe request a room on a lower floor!

Room Tip: The stairs are just crazy so a lower floor would be better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet area and easy to find.

The kitchen and dinning area are nicely set up and makes you feel like home.

However, the building doesn't have an elevator and if you happen to be located on the last floors it is a struggle to get the luggage to the room, stairs are to narrow and uncomfortable.

Also, rooms DO NOT have any fan or air/con so it can become pretty hot during summer. Bathrooms are very average... they could be much better to be honest.

Staff are friendly but too strict... be punctual with the check out, they don't give extra 15 mins to leave the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Bicycle Hotel was a perfect place to stay for my first visit to Amsterdam. A good Dutch breakfast started the day; friendly and polite staff gave good advice, maps etc; location is quiet and within easy walking distance of museums etc and the room clean and comfortable. Definitely recommend this reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The location was perfect, a very short walk to a tram stop, close to cafes and restaurants, and a short walk to the centre of town. The staff were helpful and friendly, providing a map with all the main sights marked on it, and the breakfast (which was included in the price) was just what we needed: toast, cereal, juice, tea and coffee etc. We had a double room with a shared bathroom - the room was fairly small but that's not a problem if you're just sleeping there, and had a sink and a TV. The toilet and shower were both very clean, and we never had to wait when we wanted to use them. The only problem with them was the light was on a short timer, so would switch off several times during a shower! We had a street facing room which could be quite noisy at times because of traffic and people.The only real problem with the hotel is the fact that the stairs are super steep, but that just means you have to find some interesting ways to go up and down them! Would definitely recommend this hotel for a short, budget stay as a great base to explore the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street, it will probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#136 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#220 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa 400
#58 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicycle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicycle Hotel

Address: Van Ostadestraat 123 | The Pijp, 1072 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Bicycle Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, Budget Places, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Bicycle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicycle Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bicycle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.