We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bicycle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bicycle Hotel to your Saves list
Bicycle Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Ostadestraat 123 | The Pijp, 1072 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Picton, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our host Gerard assisted by the other staff made the stay tops. Nothing was a problem. Great location, easy information, great benefit with secure bike storage over the road. The beginning of a 1150km cycle odyssey around the Netherlands.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    59
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
10
63
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel seemed clean and the staff are friendly. The beds are REALLY nice, memory foam topper and lovely mattress. The bedroom we had was a 4 bed, which seemed like a converted king sized room, but there was enough space easily. The bathroom was clean and so was the shower. . The only thing i can fault it with was the fact the lights are motion sensitive, so if you are sat on the loo or in the shower for more than 2 minutes you might have to do a little dance to get the lights back on, i found it more entertaining than annoying at the time.
LOCATION
The hotel is situated about a 50 minute walk from the center or a two minute walk to a tram which can take you there. Two minute walk from two 'Cafes' if that is what you like. Two minute walk to MacDonald and subway. An equivalent to boots and on the corner of the street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the bicycle hotel for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend. The staff are all so chilled out, let us pay the day after arriving as we'd had a long coach journey. We hired bicycles for three days which was cheap and convenient, they give you your own key to the bike garage so you can come & go as you please. The hotel is in a really nice quiet area, but still very close to everything we wanted to see.The rooms are basic but just what we needed for a short stay, continental breakfast was basic but again just what we needed and great for the price. The shared shower and toilets were very clean and in good condition. We had a fantastic time! Would definitely go back to this little hotel :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here with a group of freinds for a 3 night weekend.

On the negative side: Rooms are cramped and very basic, really hostel class. The web pictures don't really show just how basic they are.

On the plus side:
Very freindly and helpful staff
Good system for out of hours arrival
Breakfast good
Location good to Ok - easy tram to Dam Square/station or nice 30 min walk to City through the Albert Cuyp market

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Awesome little budget hotel about a 10 - 15 minute tram ride from the centre and the train station. We stayed for 3 nights. Staff were really helpful. Breakfast was the best we had during our travels - each table had their own toaster which was cute. We had room 13 on the first floor and the bed was really comfy. Only thing I would say is negative is that the stairs are very steep so if you were higher than the first floor it could be an issue.

Room Tip: Room 13 on the first floor right next to the bicycle neon sign is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bicycle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicycle Hotel

Address: Van Ostadestraat 123 | The Pijp, 1072 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Bicycle Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Bicycle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicycle Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bicycle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.