We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bicycle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bicycle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bicycle Hotel
Van Ostadestraat 123 | The Pijp, Amsterdam 1072 SV, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    46
    23
    12
    6
See reviews for
8
47
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the bicycle hotel for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend. The staff are all so chilled out, let us pay the day after arriving as we'd had a long coach journey. We hired bicycles for three days which was cheap and convenient, they give you your own key to the bike garage so you can come & go as you please. The hotel is in a really nice quiet area, but still very close to everything we wanted to see.The rooms are basic but just what we needed for a short stay, continental breakfast was basic but again just what we needed and great for the price. The shared shower and toilets were very clean and in good condition. We had a fantastic time! Would definitely go back to this little hotel :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here with a group of freinds for a 3 night weekend.

On the negative side: Rooms are cramped and very basic, really hostel class. The web pictures don't really show just how basic they are.

On the plus side:
Very freindly and helpful staff
Good system for out of hours arrival
Breakfast good
Location good to Ok - easy tram to Dam Square/station or nice 30 min walk to City through the Albert Cuyp market

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Awesome little budget hotel about a 10 - 15 minute tram ride from the centre and the train station. We stayed for 3 nights. Staff were really helpful. Breakfast was the best we had during our travels - each table had their own toaster which was cute. We had room 13 on the first floor and the bed was really comfy. Only thing I would say is negative is that the stairs are very steep so if you were higher than the first floor it could be an issue.

Room Tip: Room 13 on the first floor right next to the bicycle neon sign is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

GREAT WiFi. Best hotel bed I've had in a while. CLEAN. Good showers. Love environmentally conscious aspect of the hotel. Bikes were well maintained and good value (7.50EU/day). A little out of the way, but very quiet street and I actually thought location was perfect ... close enough to get to the center quickly, but a place to chill for a couple of hours before dinner.

Only downside was that I thought that breakfast was lame and it was a little on the pricey end (though, for Amsterdam, I guess it's about right).

Room Tip: 1.B is good double with nice shower and workable TV. Love the location right next to the Bicycle si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platform 2
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Basic but comfortable hotel with a hostel feel about it. The numerous staff who seem to change on a daily basis are all multi-linqual, very friendly and extremely helpful. A little off the beaten track but only a 15 minute tram ride from the centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bicycle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicycle Hotel

Also Known As:
Bicycle Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Van Ostadestraat 123 | The Pijp, Amsterdam 1072 SV, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HotelsClick, EasyToBook and HostelBookers so you can book your Bicycle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bicycle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.