We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, good value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bicycle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bicycle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bicycle Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Ostadestraat 123 | The Pijp, 1072 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, good value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights here and it was a very pleasant experience. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was small but adequate for my stay and the bed was comfortable. Fortunately there was only 1 flight of "Amsterdam special" stairs to climb!
The breakfast room was light and pleasant and the food more than adequate to set you up for the day. The bike hire is great, there was a problem with my first one but I was quickly given another which was fine. The free WiFi is also a nice touch.
All in all a good hotel and much better than some of the cheap central hotels for a similar price. The quiet location was good and only a short tram ride from Centraal. I even walked back from Damrak in under 30 mins. I'd definitely go back. Could do with better directions though, it's not clear you have to cross the Ceintuurbaan but once I'd realised it was easy enough to find.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    53
    23
    12
    6
See reviews for
10
52
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great location - close to market, 24h supermarket, ATM machine, tram. Very helpfull and friendly staff. Rooms are small but clean, have to highlight very comfortable beds and pillows, wi-fi worked well. Toilets and showers clean. Also very good breakfast (considered that is included in price). Free PC with an internet connection. Would definitely recommend to friends and would return again. Many thanks.

Room Tip: Very steep stairs, especialy between groundfloor and 1st floor, so if you have many luggages or chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Lovely, small hotel, slightly tricky to find but in quiet area about 15mins tram ride from central station. Extremely steep stairs that became the talking point of the holiday!. Basic but warm and clean rooms, ideal for the busy tourist I wanted to bring my bed back with me as it was soooo comfy! All the staff - they changed all the time - were very friendly and catered for our every need. Good breakfast which set us up for the day. Would definatley return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a clean and tidy little hotel that gives you what you expect from a hotel at this price.
Nice area with an excelent market place nearby.
If you are taking kids, have any problems climbing stairs or have a lot of luggage then make sure you are in the lower rooms, The stairs are more suited for mountain goats that us bi-peds.
The breakfast is excelent and sets you up for the day, the staff are nice and helpfull.
I will more than likley stay there again at next years ISE.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here from the 28th of January 2013 for 3 nights. The self-catering apartment (adjacent to the main hotel) was very clean, with separate toilet and shower, and a good kitchen. The inside steps, up to the apartment, were very narrow, which is typical of these buildings. We were very close to the trams, Albert Market, and lots of shops. If you enjoy walking, you can actually get to most of the tourist places very easily from here. The continental breakfast was plentiful, and all the staff were great. We would highly recommend the apartments. We visited the Anne Frank Museum, and bought a 24 hour ticket for the canal bus, which was a cheap way of hop on/ff travel, and seeing most of the city. The weather wasn't great, expected for the time of year, but impressed at how many people still cycled in it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bicycle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicycle Hotel

Address: Van Ostadestraat 123 | The Pijp, 1072 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Bicycle Hotel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bicycle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicycle Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bicycle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.