We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam 2013 (x4)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bicycle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bicycle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bicycle Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Ostadestraat 123 | The Pijp, 1072 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Cologne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amsterdam 2013 (x4)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Lovely, small hotel, slightly tricky to find but in quiet area about 15mins tram ride from central station. Extremely steep stairs that became the talking point of the holiday!. Basic but warm and clean rooms, ideal for the busy tourist I wanted to bring my bed back with me as it was soooo comfy! All the staff - they changed all the time - were very friendly and catered for our every need. Good breakfast which set us up for the day. Would definatley return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    50
    23
    12
    6
See reviews for
9
50
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a clean and tidy little hotel that gives you what you expect from a hotel at this price.
Nice area with an excelent market place nearby.
If you are taking kids, have any problems climbing stairs or have a lot of luggage then make sure you are in the lower rooms, The stairs are more suited for mountain goats that us bi-peds.
The breakfast is excelent and sets you up for the day, the staff are nice and helpfull.
I will more than likley stay there again at next years ISE.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here from the 28th of January 2013 for 3 nights. The self-catering apartment (adjacent to the main hotel) was very clean, with separate toilet and shower, and a good kitchen. The inside steps, up to the apartment, were very narrow, which is typical of these buildings. We were very close to the trams, Albert Market, and lots of shops. If you enjoy walking, you can actually get to most of the tourist places very easily from here. The continental breakfast was plentiful, and all the staff were great. We would highly recommend the apartments. We visited the Anne Frank Museum, and bought a 24 hour ticket for the canal bus, which was a cheap way of hop on/ff travel, and seeing most of the city. The weather wasn't great, expected for the time of year, but impressed at how many people still cycled in it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I've stayed at the bicycle hotel five times now, sometimes alone, sometimes with my traveling companion. Many of the negative comments are true but it's still my favorite place to stay when I visit Amsterdam. The staff is great, especially Gerald. It's very easy to get to from Central Station, and easy to get FROM when you need to leave to get to the airport. If you're going to rent a bike, they make it cheap and easy. The bikes are adequate and don't have a big sign on them saying "I'm a tourist on a rented bike".

About the negatives. Yes, the stairs are narrow and steep and twisty. As a former house painter, I've climbed ladders more easily. Yes, it does seem more like a hostel than a hotel. But it's really the best of both worlds--the safety and privacy of a hotel with the camaraderie of a hostel. Some of the cheap rooms are dismal. One time the only thing available was a tiny dark room with a double army-style cot (in my youth I spent three years sleeping on such cots but as soon as a better room became available, I took it.). I've stayed in rooms with shared showers. The shower was clean. I'm sure sometimes guests get them when they aren't so clean. Maybe I was lucky because I get up early. My most recent stay was in what is probably their best room, a double with its own bathroom. It was excellent. The breakfast is good. A toaster on every table. Good coffee. Free WiFi, connection was good plus they have a computer for public use.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bicycle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicycle Hotel

Address: Van Ostadestraat 123 | The Pijp, 1072 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Bicycle Hotel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bicycle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicycle Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bicycle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.