We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Apple Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Apple Inn to your Saves list
Hotel Apple Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koninginneweg 93, 1075 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great Location, cozy rooms, walking distance to city centre, very friendly staff, cozy and clean rooms, breakfast a little overpriced but still alright, TVs in the rooms could be a bit larger with more channels, comfy beds - overall one of the best places to stay.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    63
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
71
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Apple Inn in October for three nights. The hotel itself is quite nice, modern, and renovated. Our room wasn't big but it wasn't too small. It was also clean and comfortable. Check in was quick and stuff were pleasant and helpful. We were given a choice of two rooms on the first and second floor. Although the stair was really narrow and steep and it was not easy to carry all our 3 cases up, we chose the second floor because we didn't want to face a street with trams. For us this stair was just a bit tricky, but obviously I can not recommend taking upper floors for the elderly people.
What I like about this hotel is its location which is in the quiet area and just a short tram ride to downtown. The museum district is also nearby (15 minutes walk). Wi-Fi worked OK. Also you can borrow a big umbella for free ( they located next to the entrance.)
What I don't like is that there is no coffee machine in the rooms, and we had to pay for tea. It was vital for us because my wife got a cold.
Before check out you can ask to order a taxi because the hotel will give you a small discount.
Overall a good place for a few nights.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are calmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014 via mobile

This is a good small hotel located slightly away from the town centre. It is located in a very quiet and nice neighborhood. Only a short walk to Vondelpark which is absolutely beautiful during fall.

You can hop on the tram (no 2) from a station not far from the hotel which will take you directly to town areas and canal areas within 10 minutes.

The staffs were all eager to serve and requests were handled very well. (Sonya) who was at the counter when we arrived was pleasant and very accommodative. We were assigned a nice room by her which has access to a nice little garden on the ground floor.

The only set back is the small toilet size. Not a big problem to us but I would prefer it slightly bigger. It was hard to dry yourself in the toilet without occasionally knocking yourself on the wall.

Breakfast is served in a small cosy cafe at the lobby daily.

Would definitely return to stay here if I am back in Amsterdam.

Thank you the staff members of Apple Inn especially Sonya, which made our short stay a memorable one.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Pleasant, friendly service. Room small but very clean and comfortable. Shower area excellent but toilet area very tiny, one needed to be a contortionist between the basin and the toilet. Overall an excellent place, to be well recommended.

Room Tip: Don't pick room 46 if you are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Just got back from 2 nights at Apple inn after reading the many reviews on trip advisor. For once i feel trusty trip advisor has let me down. First things first, check in was quick and efficient- staff were pleasant but nothing special or helpful when asked about local attractions.

We stayed in room 10 a triple on the top floor. Being a 25 year old fit male who regularly goes gym I read the reviews of the steep stairs and dismissed them.. how wrong I was. The stairs were possibly the steepest I have been up and the stair itself not large enough for a secure footing I struggled bringing 3 hand luggage's up the stairs. Definitely not recommended for the elderly or those with mobility issues.

The room was clean and presentable and the double bed was 2 singles pushed together. Door quite thin so could hear people walk past. Room was acceptable for a 2 night stay but had no wow factor or that comfy feel- just a room for a brisk weekend. Our safe was locked upon arrival and reception sorted this issue straight away.

Location was not as expected. The tram took us 25 minutes to and from central station and stops running around midnight. On top of this we had to wait for the tram so not the most convenient. On the day of leaving we left our luggage and traveled the central and then had to come back an hour to get our luggage- to then travel back. Although in a pleasant and quiet area we did not try walking to town.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaghadee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Stayed at this hotel Nov 2014 with seven other family members whilst visiting Amsterdam city. On arrival we were dealt with very efficiently by staff who were both friendly and helpful in every way. The rooms while not 5 star were clean,tidy well appointed, warm and only a short tram ride to the city centre. The breakfast on offer was more than satisfactory each morning. All in all a pleasant experience and recommended.

Room Tip: Try if possible to get a room to the rear of the premises
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Hard to beat the location of this hotel. Amsterdam's main park over the road and the key Museums within a brisk walk or short tram trip. Even down town is within easy reach by numerous tram and bus routes. Our room was well organised, adequately furnished and clean, if not a little on the small side. Ensure you ask for a room away from the front of the hotel as the trams start early. Our welcome was very friendly on arrival from helpful staff. However, it was the weekend of the Amsterdam marathon and surprising that there was no knowledge of the tram/bus service reroutings. Wi-Fi worked ok in our room. Breakfast was well presented and choice adequate. Overall this was a value for money hotel which we will use again.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Apple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apple Inn

Address: Koninginneweg 93, 1075 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Apple Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Apple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apple Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Apple Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.