We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Apple Inn

Save Saved
You added Hotel Apple Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Apple Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koninginneweg 93, 1075 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Brighton, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“clean and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

A lovely, clean and quiet hotel. It had a small bar where they also served a great buffet breakfast. I couldn't hear car traffic at all. We had a little balcony overlooking the garden at the back. It was a 15 minute walk to the main museums, but a bit further into the centre of the city, so a travel card was a good idea. Highly recommended for those that don't want to be right in the thick of things.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    31
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
42
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Clean, friendly service, good nights sleep. Great place to stay. Easy connections to Central Amsterdam with the tram stop just round the corner. Good breakfast. Really couldnt fault it.

Its in a quieter area of town, very close to Vondelpark. 10mins tram ride.

Service was great, friendly. Even when you roll in at 3am and have a drink at their bar.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I have just left this hotel today and couldn't fault this one bit. Slightly out of the main hussle but that's exactly what we wanted there is a tram stop 2 mins walk away and it's really easy to find, we did walk into the main centre a couple of times which is a pleasant walk. The staff are lovely and really helpful. The lady on reception recommended a place for us to eat when we arrived and we had a beautiful meal. We had a room right at the front of the hotel and there was no noise from traffic or passing trams etc. rooms are a good size for Amsterdam and spotlessly clean- the bathroom is brilliant I only wish I had that shower at home.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

A group of us stayed here in November.

Rooms were really clean and cleaned daily with fresh towels.

Staff were really nice and helpful.

Couldn't fault this hotel for anything apart from it didn't have a lift to get to the top floor with suitcases but oh well. we all have legs...

It was further out than I've stayed in Amsterdam before but there was a tram stop close by (number 2 tram) which takes you directly to all the main squares.. it took about 15 minutes from the Apple Inn to Leidseplein.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights in late' November after a lot of research.
The staff were great, they welcomed us and printed us a map, recommended places nearby, and let us use a computer. (They also helped us print a route for the way home after the Satnav did not use the same road names as the road signs!). The room wasn't massive but nicely decorated and had a great shower, everything we needed for our city break. We were ground floor at the back.
The location was nice and quiet, and right on the tram line and right by Vondelpark which was nice to walk through to the main city. Few restaurants/cafes nearby too and in the park.
We drove on our to Amsterdam and parked in the world shopping centre carpark which has a deal where its only 16 Euro for 24 hours and you get a free tram ticket (which you must use to get the special rate) so it was just a few stops along the tram to Apple. We only used the tram twice, both ways between the hotel and carpark and this got us the deal - bargain!
The Christmas market was on when we went as well which was a treat - mulled wine with amaretto or jagermeister!

The quality and staff of the hotel makes up for it being a little out of the way. We should have got the tram more as the walking into the city then around it wore us out - so much to see :-)
P.s. watch out for bikes!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I had been planning a weekend away to Amsterdam for me and my girlfried for a while, and after using sites like expedia, I was finding the search results being quite costly (£600)

Browsing groupon one day i came across an offer of 3nights £125pp at this hotel (inc flights). we immediately booked a December weekend away. after reading the reviews and checking the pictures I really wasn't sure what to expect in terms of the hotel and its location etc, however I really was pleasantly surprised.

really cant fault this place. although its no 5* Hilton, its a cracking 3-4* for what you pay and really is great value for your money.

we arrived at the airport and debated whether to get the train to central station then jump on the tram to the hotel ( I was informed of this info after emailing the hotel) or visit he shuttle desk at the airport. We went for he shuttle. It was 25 euro for a return ticket pp. the shuttle dropped us right at the door and picked us up right on time for our return journey. train tickets are 6 euro and 7.50 for a 24 hour tram pass, so getting the shuttle is probably a lot less hassle, quicker and the same cost.

we arrived at 10am, we were allowed to check in straight away and were shown to our rooms, which was great as we were shattered from a 6am flight.
The room itself was small but it was very cosy but we were expecting that. it was nice and modern, had a flat screen tv with a few English channels. shower was nice. only downside was there was no kettle or complimentary coffee and tea. Also the walls are quite thin so you do hear the odd bang or singing in the shower. and I did book a double bed however we were given two singles pushed together. this wasn't really a big deal for us and im sure the hotel would have swapped if we had requested but we were that tired we didn't care.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. answered all our questions and provided a great service. bar was nice, had a game of cards whilst having a few drinks.

In terms of location, the hotel is right next to a tram stop so its easy to get to the centre town, however if your like me and don't mind exploring the sites, is about a 20minute walk (in a straight line) to the outskirts of the centre. we took a de tour trough vondelpark and had a lovely stroll. really do recommend the walk

all in all we thought the hotel was great value for money, in a great location and we would recommend it to any one thinking of visiting and we would return again if we ever went back to Amsterdam.

only thing is easy jet. don't fly with them. they suck.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Me and my husband had 3-night stay in Amsterdam , and we stayed at Apple Inn hotel . We loved it. The hotel property itself is quite good. The hotel has old-school grand charm, the rooms are good and big, the bathrooms are fantastic, the WiFi is reliable and speedy, and the bar is an amazing place to get a drink or two and hang out. What puts them up at 5 stars, however, was the staff. The staff at the front desk was incredibly helpful. They always had time for us and they were friendly and polite, they gave me countless reliable opinions on restaurants and sights to see.
There was one thing with mattresses - I don't know where they got them , but they are amazing , I haven't sleep so well since ... never !!!
Definitely we will come back here :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Apple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apple Inn

Address: Koninginneweg 93, 1075 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Apple Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Fastbooking, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and HotelsNL so you can book your Hotel Apple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apple Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Apple Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.