We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for money - lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Apple Inn

Save Saved
You added Hotel Apple Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Apple Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koninginneweg 93, 1075 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Value for money - lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I had been planning a weekend away to Amsterdam for me and my girlfried for a while, and after using sites like expedia, I was finding the search results being quite costly (£600)

Browsing groupon one day i came across an offer of 3nights £125pp at this hotel (inc flights). we immediately booked a December weekend away. after reading the reviews and checking the pictures I really wasn't sure what to expect in terms of the hotel and its location etc, however I really was pleasantly surprised.

really cant fault this place. although its no 5* Hilton, its a cracking 3-4* for what you pay and really is great value for your money.

we arrived at the airport and debated whether to get the train to central station then jump on the tram to the hotel ( I was informed of this info after emailing the hotel) or visit he shuttle desk at the airport. We went for he shuttle. It was 25 euro for a return ticket pp. the shuttle dropped us right at the door and picked us up right on time for our return journey. train tickets are 6 euro and 7.50 for a 24 hour tram pass, so getting the shuttle is probably a lot less hassle, quicker and the same cost.

we arrived at 10am, we were allowed to check in straight away and were shown to our rooms, which was great as we were shattered from a 6am flight.
The room itself was small but it was very cosy but we were expecting that. it was nice and modern, had a flat screen tv with a few English channels. shower was nice. only downside was there was no kettle or complimentary coffee and tea. Also the walls are quite thin so you do hear the odd bang or singing in the shower. and I did book a double bed however we were given two singles pushed together. this wasn't really a big deal for us and im sure the hotel would have swapped if we had requested but we were that tired we didn't care.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. answered all our questions and provided a great service. bar was nice, had a game of cards whilst having a few drinks.

In terms of location, the hotel is right next to a tram stop so its easy to get to the centre town, however if your like me and don't mind exploring the sites, is about a 20minute walk (in a straight line) to the outskirts of the centre. we took a de tour trough vondelpark and had a lovely stroll. really do recommend the walk

all in all we thought the hotel was great value for money, in a great location and we would recommend it to any one thinking of visiting and we would return again if we ever went back to Amsterdam.

only thing is easy jet. don't fly with them. they suck.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    42
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
53
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Me and my husband had 3-night stay in Amsterdam , and we stayed at Apple Inn hotel . We loved it. The hotel property itself is quite good. The hotel has old-school grand charm, the rooms are good and big, the bathrooms are fantastic, the WiFi is reliable and speedy, and the bar is an amazing place to get a drink or two and hang out. What puts them up at 5 stars, however, was the staff. The staff at the front desk was incredibly helpful. They always had time for us and they were friendly and polite, they gave me countless reliable opinions on restaurants and sights to see.
There was one thing with mattresses - I don't know where they got them , but they are amazing , I haven't sleep so well since ... never !!!
Definitely we will come back here :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was our first time in Amsterdam. We really loved the location, quiet and nice. The hotel is fine and it was convenient both for walking and for accessing to public transportation. Very nice beds and matresses. Some rooms were too small, but our request to change a room was immediately met. I would improve the breakfast variety and the service at the breakfast, although the coffee is very good. The staff is very nice and helpful. Thanks to them for their help. The hotel has a special agreement with a transfer company which was very convenient as well and not pricey, and very well organised. The only minus is the stairs, without an elevator, and elderly people or people who have problems with their legs, or have heavy luggage, would have problems.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Great little hotel, very clean, rooms nice and modern. Recently refurbished. Staff very helpful. Good location on no 2 tram route, although we never used it and chose to walk into central Amsterdam. Near museum quarter. Can use the pc in reception for printing out your own boarding passes, saved time at airport. Did not eat there so not sure what food is like, nice little bakery around the corner, also mini supermarket nearby. Would stay there again :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Really friendly small hotel.
Staff who obviously love what they do.
Good location, within walking distance to the Riks museum. Lots of eateries nearby
Tram outside the door to Central station.
Steep stairs up to second floor, so request a lower floor if your not fit !
Room quiet at the back, beds comfortable.
Breakfast choices good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as its quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with some girlfriends, I really cannot find anything negative about it.
It was very clean, the staff were so friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them, the breakfast was excellent and set you up for the day, good location, local restaurants lovely, tram service just outside hotel.
Amsterdam is a lovely city steeped in history, lots to see and do, the fact that we had such a lovely hotel just made it.
Thankyou Hotel Apple Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

good location really close to Vondelpark and museums,comfy beds + room is nice. we booked double room with breakfast. Reception is open 24 hours, staff is very friendly ,service is excellent.
Hotel is very stylish , beautiful decoration in the lobby. Tasty fresh mint thee with honey.

Room Tip: Vegetarian breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Apple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apple Inn

Address: Koninginneweg 93, 1075 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Apple Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Apple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apple Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Apple Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.