We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and kind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aalders

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aalders to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aalders
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly and kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

A quiet hotel behind the Rijksmuseum. Warm welcome and the lady at the desk greeted me BY NAME before i introduced myself! It was no trouble to wheel my bike through the hotel into the garden and it was safe there during my stay of 3 nights. Lovely breakfast and very friendly staff. I would LOVE to stay here again and recommend it thoroughly.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    330
    49
    15
    9
See reviews for
198
213
80
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

My aunt and I stayed at Hotel Aalders for 4 nights, in 2 of the small single rooms. We both thought the rooms were large enough, very clean with private baths and TVs. Mine overlooked the quiet street and hers opened onto a lovely garden. All the staff were extremely helpful and kind. It was wonderful that we could check in early after a long flight. The breakfast room is very nice and the included breakfast is good. Very convenient to the museums and tram lines and not too far from large supermarket, park, and canal boat rides. This was the complete opposite of a stuffy, business hotel. We both felt so comfortable there and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

I was recently a displaced person in Europe trying to get home as a result of the Icelandic volcano in 2010. Not knowing if the airspace would open for my connecting flight, I took the train to Amsterdam and stayed at this lovely hotel. Never having been to Amsterdam, but having travelled Europe, this was the best hotel I've stayed at so far made even better by family hospitality . The rooms are not spartan, but funtional with lots of character. My small single opened up into the yard which was in bloom with tulips and magnolia trees. While there was not an iron in room (typical Europe, why?), I got to iron in the kitchen while the owners made pastry for the day. . Add to these great experiences a fantastic location in the museum district on a quiet side street - not quiet as in boring, but quiet as in away from tram tracks and traffic. i would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

We will recommend Aalders to family and friends for the following reasons:

Well-situated: Quiet street. 1 block to the Van Gogh Museum, 2 to the Rijksmuseum. Around the corner from designer shopping. Easy access to city centre on foot or by tram.

Clean hotel and room.

Breakfast included was "continental plus": Hardboiled eggs, cold cut meats, cheese, breads and pastries, cereals, yogurt, fruit, juice, hot beverages.

Amenities: Free internet access from the lounge and via wi-fi. Elevator.

Helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Very well situated for Art Galleries and (if you can afford them) designer shops. Disappointing that the Stadelijke Gallery is still closed but that's not the fault of the hotel! Close to excellent transport links into the city centre, and good restaurants nearby. Try the Sama Sebo (just around the corner) for excellent Indonesian food, but you may need to book

Staff at the hotel very friendly and helpful. Our room was small but nicely carpeted and beds were comfortable and there was good linen. (extra pillow would have been nice). As with a most continental hotels, there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but hot drinks could be bought and taken up to our room. (we keep saying that we must bring our travel kettle, teabags and coffee when we go abroad, as we take these for granted in English hotels).

A good breakfast with lovely views of the garden at the back of the breakfast room was welcome each day, as was the British TV news!

Overall, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Amsterdam is actually nice for a family with teenagers, and museums (don't miss the Diamond, Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum), shopping district and public swimming pool (!) are all 2 minutes away. Tropenmuseum and Nemo are great for families as well.

The hotel was nice - a bit oldfashioned, showers and beds quite good. We would have preferred two rooms for us and the kids, but there was no other hotel in Amsterdam offering a family suite! The breakfast room urgently needs new tapestry but the magnolia and the free-living green parrots outside are a great view.

We were served a private breakfast on the early morning of our departure at the bar - very nice, thanks! And thanks to the nice staff that served us breakfast every day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

Hotel Aalders was a pleasent exsperience.
The location was perfect - only a few minutes to go to the city center. The room was clean and comfortable.Quiet location.
The staff service was excellent. The last night one in our family got ill and needed contact with an doctor - the staff on the hotel were extremely helpfull.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family owned 3-star hotel in southern part of the city centre containing 28 rooms of different sizes and types, with it's own unique character and personal attention towards guests. Certified member of HoReCa Nederland and ANWB Hotel classification guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aalders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.