We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, sweet atmosphere & lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aalders

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aalders to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aalders
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location, sweet atmosphere & lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

1. LOCATION. This hotel is situated on a quiet street, with some other hotels, and right at the end of the block is the Rijksmuseum. If you walk just a little farther, there is the Van Gogh museum. Both are top-notch and the Rijks is a must-see. There is a park on the other side of the block, near the Van Gogh museum, and I saw there was ice-skating going on. Very, very appealing. Restaurants (I recommend Canaleto) as well as luxury-brand stores are also close by. If you cross the canal going towards the center of the city, there are more inviting (that is, less elite) shopping and eating opportunities. In short, the location is ideal -- a 30-minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal and the Anne Frank museum. Not good if you have tons of luggage, I suppose, but I was able to walk all over town with my 3-days worth of clothes, etc. without too much pain. Amsterdam seems planned-out with pedestrians and bicyclists in mind. It was great, and easy to figure out even for a first-timer.

2. SAFETY. I am 22 years old, female, and a solo traveller. It was my first time in The Netherlands, so I was very happy to see I would be completely safe staying at this hotel. You give the front desk your keys whenever you leave, and there is someone there 24/7. They have a camera to see who approaches the entrance, so when you come back, they buzz you in and there your keys are, waiting for you. You are allowed one guest, if you specify whom beforehand (I stayed in the small, single room -- perhaps you get more guests if you are with a larger party, in a larger room?), so nobody comes or goes that they don't know about. There was, however, a door from my room leading outside into a courtyard, which I initially found a little alarming; but I simply locked it and drew the heavy curtain over it at night.

3. VALUE. This was not a very expensive, super-fancy hotel, but it was very professional, and had a very homey feel. They all speak perfect English, of course, and like all the Dutch I met on my trip, they were friendly and kind. My small one-person room was equipped with a television with approximately 20 free channels with a few in English, wardrobe, nightstand/bedside lamp, desk, single bed; the bathroom was likewise very basic. There is a shower but no tub, and a hair-dryer provided. The only soap that you get is from a dispenser on the wall, like at a public toilet -- there is one above the sink and one in the shower to be used on your body AND your hair. This I found slightly unusual, but the only hotels I have ever stayed at before have been in the US. Overall, no big deal. Bring your own stuff if you are fussy. As far as the appearance/layout of the hotel, it is perfectly respectable in every way -- small, but very nice.

4. FOOD. There is a very good breakfast upstairs from 7:30am to 9:00am. You can help yourself to cereals and milk, tea, breads, croissants, eggs, etc. They will offer you coffee as well. Nothing too elaborate, but a very nice dining room and pleasant service. Downstairs is a bar with alcohol, some sodas, and some minimal snacks (candy bars and potato chips).

5. NOISE. If you stay in one of the two downstairs rooms, you will probably hear people thumping on the stairs all hours of the morning. They are slightly steep steps, so this is likely why. However, the neighborhood itself is virtually silent (I stayed in February, so this is based on a winter experience -- it may be different in the summer when more people are on vacation).

6. Was there anything that went wrong with my stay? Well, the pen on my desk was quite useless. The phone in my room was not connected until I mentioned it to the front desk, but they quickly remedied that. Oh, and I started out with two pillows, until one disappeared the next day, which was disappointing, as I like having two pillows to sleep with.

In conclusion, I will certainly stay here again. I love Amsterdam and the Hotel Aalders was perfect for my situation.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    339
    52
    15
    9
See reviews for
206
217
83
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Breda
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

We felt very welcome and completely at home here. The location is superb: right in the heart of Amsterdam in a very quiet street. The people at the reception were helpful and friendly. Our (family)room offered perfect value for money. Our 5-year old daughter felt immedialtey comfortable. Just one minor point: a more international breakfast (fresh fruit, omelets, bacon) would be appreciated.
But apart from that: we will certainly return to Hotel Aalders and we thank the receptionists for their kindness and assistance!

Family Robert Vissers / Verdonk

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Friendly, helpful staff. Other guests friendly and considerate. Family atmosphere (we took 15 yr old son & 11 yrd old daughter). Breakfast served us well - good coffee! Our room was lovely - we had the one with the huge window and balcony. We only had a shower - no bath, which was a bit of a shock, but it was a decent shower. Very clean. Albert Hijn (supermarket) is very close. If you work out how to use the trams(!), the tram stop is very close to the hotel. Line 5 takes you to Central Station with Leidesplein on the way. The hotel is really close to Rijks & Van Gogh and the (seasonal) outdoor skating. (Rijks museum are still charging full rate (about 14 E each) but over half the museum is being refurbished.). Take your laptop and you can login at the hotel - which is quite helpful for airport info etc. This is a really great end of town to base yourself in - the haute coutrure shops are nearby too - albeit for window shopping. This area is a real part of city life - children's schools and playgrounds are integrated all around. I'm so relieved we didn't base ourselves near the central train station which is close to the red light district. Amsterdam is curiously permissive. Everyone seems to be smoking cannabis and sex is, apparently, a commodity.Permissive to everyone that is, except the poor pedestrian, who fears for his life crossing the road. If the bikes don't get you the trams will! The bicycle is king here. And you can hire those too from the hotel.Given the proximity to the Vondel Park that would probably be a great thing to do in the Spring/Summer. Thanks to the staff at the hotel who helped to make it a very pleasant and successful half term stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

Nice hotel right longside museum quarter. Very quiet at night. Short walk to most of Amsterdam. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

A site I used for my trip to Amsterdam: www.timeinamsterdam.com
Really convenient, the Hotel was great and in such a quiet area but it was in the city center. Great staff and rooms!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

The room was clean and warm, although rather small (but apparently that's de rigour in Amsterdam). Breakfast was good, and the service was friendly and helpful. Free internet and printer usage was a real bonus. Location was great, on a smart street right next to the Van Gogh museum.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montpellier france
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

a human sized hotel...pleasant staff...a nice place to rest very close to museums and convenient if you want to go to the centre (tram stop at 100m)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family owned 3-star hotel in southern part of the city centre containing 28 rooms of different sizes and types, with it's own unique character and personal attention towards guests. Certified member of HoReCa Nederland and ANWB Hotel classification guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aalders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.