We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aalders to your Saves list
Hotel Aalders
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

If you want to have a glimpse on the interior of a dutch ''old'' house Aadlers Hotel is a good choice. It also has the advance of the location - in the middle of museum district - and the proximity of public transportation station. The staff is very friendly. The rooms cannot be described as big, but they are clean and have all the facilities.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    384
    63
    15
    10
See reviews for
229
241
94
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The big advantage of the hotel is its practical location right in the center of the museum district.
It is ideal when you plan to visit the different really nice museums around.
The old city center ("De Dam") is at walking distance (approx 30 minutes)
The Rooms are clean and correct, however not extremey luxurous (furniture is a little dated).
The breakfast is continental and correct
You can get the tramway with a stop very close to the hotel (lines 16,24,12), which is practical when coming from Amsterdam railway station of from one of the P&R parkings outside the city.
Amsterdam is not cheap for hotels, but price Quality ratio is OK (we paid 115 euros for a double room, breakfast included)
A small minus is the bottle of water on the room, which is charged 2 euros, whereas this normally should be included in the romm-rate.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Hotel Aalders is in a GREAT location. It was charming, safe, had a great friendly staff and allowed us to have a very early breakfast on the morning we left Amsterdam. Everything was clean,and everything worked. Breakfast was served in an open airy room. Breakfast, serve yourself style, was a combination of cereals, breads, cold meats, and cheeses, tasty croissants, yogurt, coffees, teas, juices, hard cooked eggs. and sliced fruit, tomato and cucumber. All of our typical tourist questions were answered by the desk staff. The area around the hotel was quiet at night yet very close to bus/tram stops and major attractions. I would stay here again, in a heartbeat.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Hotel Aalders is a comfortable, friendly hotel, ideally located a short walk from the museums and canal tours. My wife and I stayed in a three person room with our adult daughter. The room was a good size, peaceful, with French doors and a balcony. A good quality breakfast was included. All in all, I can't fault it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The main attractions for me in Amsterdam this time were the major museums: the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh and the Stedelijk. All of them were within a block or two of this hotel. I love the woman, Rovana, who is the main receptionist the lobby. So helpful with information about the city.
Breakfast, although quite spare, was of excellent quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Aalders for 4 nights. The booking process was easy and we received email confirmation. The price was slightly cheaper than on booking websites. Getting to the hotel from the airport was really straightforward - bus 197 (5 euros each) took about half an hour, getting off at Museumplein. It’s then a 2 minute walk; there’s a sign above the bus stop telling you where to go. We arrived at 10 in the morning so our room was obviously not ready but they stored our bags for us.
Our room was a triple; lovely big room with a double and a single bed (proper bed not a sofa bed), feature fireplace and balcony overlooking the quiet street. Some reviews have said there was no tea/coffee facilities in the room but ours did have. Bathroom was a shower/wetroom which was fine.
Breakfast every morning from 7 - 10 was a selection of cereals, fruit juice, tea/coffee, breads (toaster), rolls, mini croissants, ham/cheese, boiled eggs.
The hotel is a little out of the main city centre but everywhere is within walking distance; 20 minutes to Anne Frank Huis and 30 minutes to Central Station. The Rijksmuseum and Van Goch Museums are 5 minutes away. There are plenty of buses and trams from Museumplein.
This was a lovely hotel in a really useful location. It was very clean and tidy and the staff were all very helpful and friendly.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 24 a triple room with a large double and one single bed (not a sofa bed). Room is large with ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Very very close to the museums. Channels and city center at walking distance. Free wireless everywhere in the hotel. Bike rental a little expensive. Friendly staff. Big challenge to park the car. Good experience

Room Tip: Our room was at the second floor. Small stairs but well-working lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family owned 3-star hotel in southern part of the city centre containing 28 rooms of different sizes and types, with it's own unique character and personal attention towards guests. Certified member of HoReCa Nederland and ANWB Hotel classification guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aalders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.