We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Aalders to your Saves list
Hotel Aalders
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #48 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Lodi, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Very very close to the museums. Channels and city center at walking distance. Free wireless everywhere in the hotel. Bike rental a little expensive. Friendly staff. Big challenge to park the car. Good experience

Room Tip: Our room was at the second floor. Small stairs but well-working lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    352
    57
    15
    10
See reviews for
219
220
90
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Perfect location for us with museums very close by, quiet street, charming room in old style, with separate seating area. Great aircon, waterheater for tea/coffee, nice and clean bathroom, friendly and helpful staff, ok breakfast. We would recommend the hotel Aalders and we'll come again .

Room Tip: Room nr 9 is charming old style with nice vue of garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We have just had a nice 3 day stay at the Aalders hotel. It's in the perfect location for the museum quarter with the Main shopping streets close by. The room was nice enough but no tea/coffee making facility available in the room. The bathroom was quite small but adequate. The breakfast was really nice with a good selection of cereals, fruit, cold meats, cheese, bread and jams available. Staff were friendly and helpful. We would recommend this hotel if you're visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We experienced Hotel Aalders as an ideal place for resting sore feet of Museum walkers. In fact we soon found ourselves asleep whenever we crossed the treshold to the room. The bed was not to hard, not to soft. The breakfast was good, and the service splendid. We will come back next time we go to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The rooms are a bit outdated, no airco. The toilet light also lit the room light. Nice interior tough, but should be updated a bit to current standards. Also a bit more attention should be paid to the breakfast (choices of eggs limited to boiled eggs)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Hotel Aalders was selected due to its excellent location close to museums and based on the good reviews on Tripadvisor.

The hotel indeed is located very close to Riksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Stedelijke Museum (Modern Art Museum). Tram and bus stops also were situated nearby.

The personnel at the hotel were friendly. They also provided good tips like getting the bus 197 to Schiphol airport. The bus trip takes around 30 minutes and costs 5 euros. The bus was more convenient than taking taxi to railway station and train to airport.

The hotel room was located on the ground floor, just few meters away from the lobby and luggage room. Unfortunately sleeping quality was not so good, since sounds from lobby were audible in the hotel room.

The room itself was quite clean. However, there were spider webs in the phone cord and in the bathroom. Even after cleaning the spider webs, more spiders appeared during the three night stay at the hotel.

Door lock was not working properly, thus it was very difficult to lock and unlock the door of the hotel room. The lock was finally fixed during third day and was then functioning correctly.

Hotel room had no air-conditioning which is understandable in an old building. Safety box was available at the hotel reception.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We spent almost a week at Hotel Aalders and loved it. The hotel was in the heart of the Museum district but located on a quiet tree-lined street. We had a cute room with a balcony. Every room in the hotel is different.

The staff were very friendly and helpful for everything, giving us great advice including local advice on things to do, like picnic in the park that is nearby. Since eating out every night was expensive, knowing where the supermarket was located (a block away) and going to the park (two blocks away) was great fun. However, plan accordingly as there is not a refrigerator in the room. We joined a host of others but there was plenty of room for having a private dinner. They also directed us to a local street market which had all the local flavor we were searching for.

Breakfast was a buffet and included protein such as meat, cheese, and eggs, along with the standard cereal and breads. The hotel values cleanliness and it is clear that they abide by that value.

We were able to walk everywhere from the hotel including the Maritime Museum and the Dam. It is located a block from the Rijkmuseum and just behind the Van Gogh Museum. Their are several trams a block away as well. There is a canal just behind the Rijkmuseum. We were delighted with our hotel choice and would gladly stay there again on a return visit.

Room Tip: All rooms have Wi-Fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family owned 3-star hotel in southern part of the city centre containing 28 rooms of different sizes and types, with it's own unique character and personal attention towards guests. Certified member of HoReCa Nederland and ANWB Hotel classification guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aalders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.