We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aalders to your Saves list
Hotel Aalders
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We spent almost a week at Hotel Aalders and loved it. The hotel was in the heart of the Museum district but located on a quiet tree-lined street. We had a cute room with a balcony. Every room in the hotel is different.

The staff were very friendly and helpful for everything, giving us great advice including local advice on things to do, like picnic in the park that is nearby. Since eating out every night was expensive, knowing where the supermarket was located (a block away) and going to the park (two blocks away) was great fun. However, plan accordingly as there is not a refrigerator in the room. We joined a host of others but there was plenty of room for having a private dinner. They also directed us to a local street market which had all the local flavor we were searching for.

Breakfast was a buffet and included protein such as meat, cheese, and eggs, along with the standard cereal and breads. The hotel values cleanliness and it is clear that they abide by that value.

We were able to walk everywhere from the hotel including the Maritime Museum and the Dam. It is located a block from the Rijkmuseum and just behind the Van Gogh Museum. Their are several trams a block away as well. There is a canal just behind the Rijkmuseum. We were delighted with our hotel choice and would gladly stay there again on a return visit.

Room Tip: All rooms have Wi-Fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    420
    66
    15
    11
See reviews for
250
269
99
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

I have to say that the staffs at hotel Aalder are very kind and helpful. They always tried to solve problems for you with very polite and kind manner. The location is excellent for museum lovers and convenient for tram riders.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed 3 nights with my teen daughter and had a great time. Our room was quite small but we were only there for sleeping at night. We were out all morning sightseeing as the hotel has no air conditioner, it does has a small fan. We left our window open and it kept our room cool when we returned. It was easy to get to the hotel from Central station. Take Tram 2 or 5 to Rijkmuseum, look for the Hotel Aadlers sign right above the bus stop. It's about a couple minutes from the bus stop in a quite neighborhood. The staff was excellent especially Rick at the front desk. They are very accommodating. The breakfast was great. The bathroom was extremely small but the bed was EXCELLENT, had a great night sleep. You can't beat the location it's 5 minute walk from the "HOP ON & OFF " canal boat. The best part was that we were 3 minutes from the "I AMsterdam" sign in front of the Rijkmuseum. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Staff always available and affable ...
Excellent breakfast-buffet.
Very calm place . it's important after days of hell in the city biking, walking, sightseeing and so on.
If i try to find something less ... maybe the AC ...
enjoy your stay !
Regards
Guy

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the courtyard are very very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I've stayed there 3 nights in June. strongly recommended. arrived around 9am after a 7h flight; room not ready but it's normal for EU hotels as they could be small and fully booked and clients start to check out only at 10-11. room was ready at 11:30 which allowed me to visit a nearby museum. clean small room but very ergonomic, comfortable bed, bathroom large for EU standards. the staff is super friendly, extremely helpful and will do anything they can to accommodate you (they made me coffee and breakfast at 4:45am the morning I left). front desk people, what can I say, you can't ask for more; special thanks to the nice brunette lady late 30's. close to tram 2 and 5 which will take you to central station. everything is available at the front desk: tram passes, cruise tickets etc. very good continental breakfast. room was very quiet and nicely sound proofed. will go back without hesitation next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is a perfect, small hotel for visiting the museum district. The room, bed and bath facilities were very good. The staff was experienced and very helpful. It's located on a quiet street and in easy walking distance to all the museums and excellent neighbor restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Had a very pleasant overnight stay at Hotel Aalders. Pleasant and very helpful staff, and wonderful location near Rijksmuseum and tram/bus stop for airport. The staff were knowledgeable about local transport links. And a pleasant breakfast too.

Room Tip: I had a garden room - it was small, but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and run by three generations of the Aalders Family since 1955, the Hotel Aalders is a charming establishment with a 3 star rating, located on a quiet, residential street. Ideally situated in the cultural centre of Amsterdam, the comfort and hospitality of Hotel Aalders can be found just a few minutes from the Van Gogh or Rijksmuseum and the astonishing historic city centre. We are delighted to welcome you and will make sure that you enjoy your stay and feel at home. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aalders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.