We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Affordable Place in a Chic Neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Aalders to your Saves list
Hotel Aalders
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Missoula
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An Affordable Place in a Chic Neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The very friendly family run Hotel Aalders is right around the corner from PC Hoofstraat, the most luxurious of Amsterdam's shopping streets, in the Fashion District. The Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum are steps away. The rooms are small but adequate. When I said the bed was a bit soft for me, they brought up a board and put it under the mattress. Our room had a large balcony that overlooked the backyards of all the houses on the block with views of lovely gardens.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms with a balcony in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    365
    59
    15
    10
See reviews for
221
228
93
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed at this for 5 nights and enjoyed the ambience of the Hotel. It is located in the Museum district and within walking distance to all the Museums in the Square. Hotel Staf were very friendly and helped us with our visit by suggesting sghts to see and were to eat cheaply. We had a Economy Comfort room that was very spacious and clean. Breakfast was Continental style and very good. Used Tram all the time. A day ticket costs 7.50 Euros per person. You can take the #2 or #5 Tram to the Central station or other squares.

Room Tip: The Economy Comfort Rooms are very big and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I had the single bed on the first floor. The bed was amazingly comfy and the room small but sufficient. Ask at reception to borrow a bike so you can see the city like a local. Breakfast was decent, although the hot chocolate a little weak for my liking :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff! We asked for restaurant tips, and they gave us a map with 15 restaurants that were not supposed to be touristic. We tried three of them and they all turned out to be excellent! Our three bed room was very large, and we also had a large balcony! The beds were very comfortable. Perfect access to the hotel from the airport by taking bus 197. Nice and quiet area. Walking distance to shopping streets.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Great location, staff, breakfast. Very close to museums, located in a quiet location. Tram and bus to city center and to airport at 30 meters from hotel.
I recommend this hotel for visiting Amsterdam.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Aalders with my Mum for 2 nights. We booked a comfort twin room, the room was spacious, bright and very clean and the buffet style breakfast was really good. The staff were very helpful and took the time to answer any questions we had, their recommendations for local restaurants were great. Even though the area was fairly quiet at night we felt safe walking around. The location is excellent, right in the middle of the Museum Area with trams stops at the end of the road taking you to the Central Station in about 15 minutes. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Hotel Aalders is in a leafy, quiet location very close to the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the Concertgebouw and only a short walk from the city centre. It's a very nice building with a lot of character and although I booked a small single room it wasn't as small as I expected and was comfortable and peaceful. The friendly, welcoming staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family owned 3-star hotel in southern part of the city centre containing 28 rooms of different sizes and types, with it's own unique character and personal attention towards guests. Certified member of HoReCa Nederland and ANWB Hotel classification guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aalders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.