We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for art and music” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aalders

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aalders to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aalders
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for art and music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Everything was fine. Especially the staff make you feel at home at all times. It is a great place for relaxing after a visit to the Rijkmuseum, The VanGogh and Stedelijk museums. Great also for quality music as the Het Concertgebouw is very near too.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    344
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
211
219
86
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, WA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

This was the second time that we stayed at Hotel Aalders in Amsterdam. It is located in a very quiet and safe neighborhood very near to the Museum District. Both the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum are a block away. Vondelpark is within walking distance of about 5 minutes. Easy access to/from Amsterdam Centraal train station, Dam Central Square, and the Flower District on Metro lines 5 or 2. The Metro stops are within a 5 minute stroll from the hotel. The service and staff at Hotel Aalders go out of their way to assist in any way possible. The complimentary breakfast is one of the best in my European travels.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed here regularly over the years. Last visit now: given room 21 on ground floor. After hearing drain noises coming from the bathroom shower drain, my room filled with an awful putrid smell of drains! Now I know why my room window was left wide open by the maid. Why don't hotels sort this stuff out????

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick A, Manager at Hotel Aalders, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Narvik,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor about our hotel.
We take every feedback by heart and we are sorry to have to learn the circumstances of the drain from your review. Your stay unfortunately does not reflect the service we strive for at HOTEL AALDERS and for that we would like to offer our apologies.

The drain is being fixed as I am writing this reply.

Again our apologies for any inconvenience it may have cost.
We hope that you will return to our lovely city and our great small hotel.

Kind regards,

The HOTEL AALDERS Family & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We are a family with two little kids and spent here 4 nights over the Easter. A very nice room on the ground floor just fits our use. The room is very clean and comfortable. The staff are very friendly. The breakfast is relatively simple but good enough for us. The quiet location is ideal but also very convenient with the public transportation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick A, Manager at Hotel Aalders, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Zichen J,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about our hotel!
We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed yourselfs during the time you stayed with us.

Hopefully we will see you again next easter!

Kind regards,


The HOTEL AALDERS Family & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed at Hotel Aalders for 3 nights. My single room was probably the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in! But I knew in advance that it would be small, was traveling alone, and was not planning to spend any time in the room anyway, so it didn't matter to me. The room was very comfortable and looked out on a beautiful garden in the back. The location is perfect - literally around the corner from Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum, one block from an extremely upscale shopping street (think Rodeo Drive), and within easy walking distance of many excellent restaurants, shopping districts, and tourist attractions. Also, one of the excellent electric trams runs right past the end of the street. Free Wi-Fi worked well, breakfasts were excellent, and the staff was all-around helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

My friend and I stayed in the Hotel Aalders for three nights in April and had a fabulous stay. All the staff were really lovely, welcoming and could not have been more helpful. The room, though we knew it would be small, was great. Clean with everything we could need:hairdryer, shower gel, a window that opened (great these days of air conditioning), a really comfy bed and pillows, an excellent, big shower and a telly with English channels.
The location has to be seen to be believed. Five minutes to three major museums, to the tram stop into town, to the canal boats and to the bus stop to and from airport.
One tip is to buy tickets for the Blue Boat Canal trip from the hotel as it is 5 euros cheaper. It also helped us to buy tickets for the Rijks museum and the Van Gogh gallery at the hotel as we then could skip the queues.
I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and would go back with my husband and teens to a family room.

Room Tip: Our room 23 was great as it was two floors up and looked onto the quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights and three days with my students at aalders hotel, and we all appreciated the hotel... The team is really nice and hepfull, the hotel very cosy and the building is placed in the middle of everything (you can easily go everywhere in Amsterdam just by walking)!! The breakfast is great and everything very clean!!!
But the best id that the hotel has a sensibility for the environment... That's an important point!!!! You'll see what if you go there.... (Water is the most important resource of our life)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick A, Manager at Hotel Aalders, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Sevgi2010,

Thank you for staying with HOTEL AALDERS and for your kind words.
We are happy to hear that you and your students enjoyed our hotel and lovely city.

Hopefully we will see you next year with a new group !

Kind regards,


Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family owned 3-star hotel in southern part of the city centre containing 28 rooms of different sizes and types, with it's own unique character and personal attention towards guests. Certified member of HoReCa Nederland and ANWB Hotel classification guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aalders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.