We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aalders to your Saves list
Hotel Aalders
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Inverness, Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

My friend and I stayed in the Hotel Aalders for three nights in April and had a fabulous stay. All the staff were really lovely, welcoming and could not have been more helpful. The room, though we knew it would be small, was great. Clean with everything we could need:hairdryer, shower gel, a window that opened (great these days of air conditioning), a really comfy bed and pillows, an excellent, big shower and a telly with English channels.
The location has to be seen to be believed. Five minutes to three major museums, to the tram stop into town, to the canal boats and to the bus stop to and from airport.
One tip is to buy tickets for the Blue Boat Canal trip from the hotel as it is 5 euros cheaper. It also helped us to buy tickets for the Rijks museum and the Van Gogh gallery at the hotel as we then could skip the queues.
I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and would go back with my husband and teens to a family room.

Room Tip: Our room 23 was great as it was two floors up and looked onto the quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    376
    62
    15
    10
See reviews for
228
237
93
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights and three days with my students at aalders hotel, and we all appreciated the hotel... The team is really nice and hepfull, the hotel very cosy and the building is placed in the middle of everything (you can easily go everywhere in Amsterdam just by walking)!! The breakfast is great and everything very clean!!!
But the best id that the hotel has a sensibility for the environment... That's an important point!!!! You'll see what if you go there.... (Water is the most important resource of our life)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick A, Manager at Hotel Aalders, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Sevgi2010,

Thank you for staying with HOTEL AALDERS and for your kind words.
We are happy to hear that you and your students enjoyed our hotel and lovely city.

Hopefully we will see you next year with a new group !

Kind regards,


Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Have just spent 2 very pleasant nights staying in the Hotel Aalders with my daughter while on a business trip. It's convenient, with the 2/5 trams at the end of the road as well as surrounded by the art galleries of Amsterdam. Yes - our room was small but it did the job ie comfortable & clean. We especially liked the breakfast in the lovely breakfast room and enjoyed a sit-down with a glass of wine in the little bar. Staff were friendly and courteous - and kind enough to email me having found a piece of forgotten jewellery. We would return to this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

My husband and I and our teenage daughter visited this family run hotel at beginning of April 2014. We stayed in a triple room which was spacious and clean with nice bed-linen. The en-suite bathroom was also spacious with lovely shower/ bath and plenty of hot water and also a hairdryer. Prior to our visit we were sent clear instructions of how to get there from the airport. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from tram and bus stop. The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave good advice on places to visit and provided tickets. The hotel is old and has character and is situated in an attractive tree-lined street.. It was just as I had expected having viewed the location on google street-view. The location was excellent for us as we wanted to visit the museums as well as seeing the city centre and canal area. The free WIFI was appreciated. An excellent buffet breakfast was provided. I thoroughly recommend Hotel Aalders and would not hesitate to go there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick A, Manager at Hotel Aalders, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Aileen H.,

Thank you very much for the nice words about our hotel and staff.
For us, it's always a great compliment to read that guests will be returning to our hotel without hesitation!

Thank you again and hopefully we will see you again in the near future!

Warm regards,


The HOTEL AALDERS Family & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed at Aalders Hotel in April 2014, for six nights. We booked a small double room through the site of the hotel, based on the photos there and the advises at TripAdvisor. When we arrived we were confused right at the entrance - not fitting with the descriptions we had. The hotel seemed old and not very comfortable. Right at the check-in they said we must pay in advance, and so we do. But when we saw the room we stayed very bothered. The room was incredebly small - some 8 square meters! - we had no space even to put two suitcases open, and surely no sufficent space of drawer to put our clothes. The toilet and bath facilities were also desperatly small. We complained and asked another room, they said it was impossible, bigger room were all took. After the first night we said that we were going to leave the hotel and search another. The manager said that any refund was impossible. I asked if the Aalders was a trap for foreigners, the manager replied that I was free to leave - but no money back. After some discussion the manager found a possível solution: 2 days in a bigger room, the next in a small one, the last two in a bigger, again. But with an overpayment of 80 euros. We accepted, because, really, we had no choice. Even so, the only thing good at Aalders is the location and the quiet street where it is. The classification of this hotel with 3 stars is erroneous, no more than 2 wil be just. The common spaces (corridors, stairs, lobby) are exiguous, we ear the noises from one room to another. Don't go to this hotel, the price may seem interesting, but it's awfully expensive considering what we get.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick A, Manager at Hotel Aalders, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Jorge R,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about our hotel.
We regret to hear we did not meet the expectations you and your wife had about our accommodation.

Our Small Twin/Double Rooms are great for a lovely stay in Amsterdam, for a reasonable price.
When guests contact us about suggestions for longer stays, we always advice to book our Comfort Twin Room. As this room is more spacious (and comes with coffee and tea facilities).

We apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused you.

Kind regards,


The HOTEL AALDERS Family & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Great hotel in central location (museum area), with bus and trams stops nearby for easy access to the airport, central station and other areas in the City. Friendly and helpful staff - nothing is too much trouble, clean and tidy rooms, nice fresh bedding and functional bathrooms with hairdryer. Excellent buffet breakfast that covers all tastes. Would thoroughly recommend Hotel Aalders and look forward to visiting again in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We were five adults in 3 rooms. Although quite small, the rooms were all very good. They were light, scrupulously clean (as were the bathrooms) and the beds were very comfortable.There is free WiFi and a computer and printer available for doing on-line check-in and printing boarding passes for our return flight. The location is perfect: a few minutes walk from the museums and tram and bus stops, yet in a nice quiet street. The staff were very helpful and friendly and there was a generous breakfast. We had no complaints at all and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family owned 3-star hotel in southern part of the city centre containing 28 rooms of different sizes and types, with it's own unique character and personal attention towards guests. Certified member of HoReCa Nederland and ANWB Hotel classification guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aalders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.