We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aalders to your Saves list
Hotel Aalders
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very pleasant hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had a very pleasant weekend at Hotel Aalders. Excellent location on a quiet street, yet very near to major attractions (Museumplein and Vondelpark). The staff is very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. The hotel is very clean and cosy. Our room was great, with a nice view to the rear garden. Good, new bicycles are available to guests for rent at a reasonable price. Prior to our check-out, we were offered a very early breakfast, which was very convenient because our taxi to the airport picked us up at 5:00 AM. I will definitely return to Hotel Aalders.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    379
    63
    15
    10
See reviews for
229
239
93
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Excellent location, I felt really safe walking around as a single female. Staff was very helpful especially Rowena ! Some of the brochures in the lobby were outdated so I was not able to get the advertised discount.
I had a double room which was perfect for one person. I think it would be a tight fit for 2 people, due to space for the luggage, and also the bathroom was tiny. Shower was a good size but the rest of the bathroom would be small for 2 people to share.
The free wi if is an excellent perk ! Breakfast was quite decent.
Very accurately described on its website and definitely good value for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Very good place to stay for us-we had a 2 double bed family room for two grown-ups and two older children-large room, friendly, quiet and clean. Waterboiler for tea was helpful. Bathroom was small, but o.k. Museums are close , just a few minutes' walk, and also tram station was nearby. Staff very friendly and helpful. We liked the breakfast which included also fresh fruits. Absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nogent-sur-Marne, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

It was my second stay here and it was great. Especially the room (the photos)! Look at my first review, everything is still accurate. The Rijksmuseum nearby (less than 5 minutes walk) has reopened its doors and there's a lot to see. A great hotel that I really recommend to everyone!

Second séjour dans cet hôtel et toujours aussi satisfaite. De la chambre en particulier (cf. photos)! Voir ma première critique qui est toujours d'actualité. Le Rijksmuseum, plus grand musée d'Amsterdam à moins de 5 minutes à pied, a rouvert ses portes et il y a plein de choses à voir. Un très bon hôtel avec un excellent rapport qualité-prix que je recommande à tous!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The location could hardly be better for visiting the major galleries of the city. The staff were friendly and helpful, and rooms were clean and in good condition. Our particular room was on the small side, though, and an upgrade would have cost an extra 25 euros per night. Breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: The small twin is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed here with a friend for 3 nights and we really recommend this hotel. The staff were an absolute delight - friendly and helpful. The rooms are just what you need - clean and warm. There wasn't a fridge in our room though so do check beforehand if that's important to you. It's about a 2 minute walk to the Rijks Museum and even closer to a tram stop where 2 trams will take you to the city centre/station in less than 15 minutes. It's wonderfully quiet so we slept very well. If we come to Amsterdam again, we'll definitely stay here. A great place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Other than noise from our upstairs neighbors, I cannot find any fault with the Aalders Hotel. We had a large room with a balcony and it is so convenient to walk the few blocks to the museum quarter and the tram line to Central Station is just a few blocks in the other direction. Every one of the staff was polite and helpful with suggestions for nearby restaurants. It's a calm place to regroup after busy Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family owned 3-star hotel in southern part of the city centre containing 28 rooms of different sizes and types, with it's own unique character and personal attention towards guests. Certified member of HoReCa Nederland and ANWB Hotel classification guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aalders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.