We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solo traveller- Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aalders

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aalders to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aalders
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, Amsterdam 1071 CJ, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Amiens, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Solo traveller- Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great location, near the Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum!
Maybe 10 mins to Vondelpark and other great locations. Staff was friendly and helpful especially since my French bankcard didn't work the first night I was there! (No idea why)
I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    303
    332
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
193
210
79
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ra'anana, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel is located in a very nice neighborhood , near the museums and near a very elegant
shopping area.
It is very easy to get to the hotel from the airport by public bus, almost from door to door by bus 197.
The staff is very friendly , the hotel very clean as well as the room . We were in a middle size room
and it was very comfortable for two people.
The breakfast was abundant and tasty .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

One block from the Tram (2,3,5). Take the tram from Centraal Station to Rijksmuseum.
The Hotel is located one block from the Van Gogh Museum.
Outstanding breakfast (they even offered to provide an early breakfast, per my early departure!!!).
Clean room, clean bathroom.
Bad pillows!
Good Wi-Fi.
I will certainly come back when in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Our room was located on the top level which looked like an attic with low ceiling. The room was cramped however it was clean. The building is several decades old yet the bathroom had modern fixtures. Water pressure seem to weaken in the evening though. Breakfast was good and filling. The receptionists were very helpful and pleasant. Location was excellent it was near the tram stop and museums. Good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I spent 3 nights here on my own and stayed in a Small Double Room. This room type is fine for 1 person. If there are 2 persons, you'll need to limit yourself to 1 large suitcase, or 2 small suitcases.

The room was clean and all the essentials were provided for. The only things that could be better:
1. The bed was very soft -- not enough support as it sank in various places as I moved about in bed.
2. The shower stall has no door, so the bathroom floor can get wet after a shower. But it does dry quickly as there is a good exhaust fan in the bathroom.

But I would definitely return to this hotel because:
1. Excellent location -- lovely quiet street, yet only round the corner from the museums, the high-end shopping street and tram lines. A large supermarket is just a short walk away. Felt very safe as a single female traveller. Much better than staying near the Centraal Station/Dam Square area.

2. Nice breakfast included -- no hot food, but the selection was good enough -- breads (toaster provided) and spreads, cold cuts, cereals, hard boiled eggs, fruits and veg (cucumbers and tomatoes), milk, selection of teas, and a machine offering coffee, cappuccino, etc. You can also ask the staff to make sandwiches from the breakfast selection to take away if you need it -- nice!

3. Value for money -- good price for the great location, breakfast and a safe, clean hotel.

4. Good service -- the staff were helpful and friendly. They were able to help me with my various queries and requests, such as tourist information, taxi booking, food delivery, etc. The lady in the breakfast room would chat with me, which was nice, as I was travelling alone.

I enjoyed my stay in Amsterdam and would recommend Hotel Aalders to other travellers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

As others have said, really central and one can walk everywhere.
I upgraded my room and for the price it was excellent with a very good breakfast included. Just have one comment, the pillows were so hard that I couldn't get my head into a comfortable position. Another time I would ask for flatter and a softer pillow and I will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a double room, choose N° 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

we stayed in Aalders for 3 nights in order to visit the famous museums.they are all situated at just a verty short walk. The Jan Luijkenstraat is a very quiet one, no traffic noise. The rooms are comfortable, all different as the hotel was originally built as twin city houses dating from the XIX century. The prices in January are moderate. Interesting restaurants can be found in the neighbourhood. Cheaper restaurants can be found in the narrow streets near Leidseplein. streetcars pass nearby in a parallel running street.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, Amsterdam 1071 CJ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family owned 3-star hotel in southern part of the city centre containing 28 rooms of different sizes and types, with it's own unique character and personal attention towards guests. Certified member of HoReCa Nederland and ANWB Hotel classification guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aalders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.