We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aalders

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aalders to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Aalders
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, Amsterdam 1071 CJ, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #40 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed 27th-29th November 2013. We had a large double room (very good value) and it was very quiet in spite of overlooking the street. Shower room was clean and adequate. Yes! The carpets need replacing in our bedroom and throughout the hotel but they were clean. Breakfast (included in the overall price) was generous offering a large choice of breads; eggs; ham/cheese and fruit.
Staff were helpful and very cheerful and there seemed to be someone on duty 24/7!
Position was superb with trams; buses very close by and frequent; and also the possibility of renting a bicycle from the hotel. Walking distance to the center of the city; RAI(20-25 minutes walk) and the Flower Market as well as being close to Museums and the Concert Hall.
Very good value indeed and definitely we will stay here on our next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    312
    46
    15
    7
See reviews for
169
194
73
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Friendly hotel, great location just behind Rijksmuseum, very close to everything and in a quiet street. I had some trouble with the shower (it was way too hot because the crane was broken), but after I mentioned this it was repaired on the same day. Breakfast is good, with some fresh fruit and veg available. A little crowded during 'rush hour', but no shortages. Good thing for me: windows can be opened, heating can be turned off. No airconditioning (which I consider a plus!). Room and bathroom nice and clean, good hair dryer available, good towels. Special feature: an airtight food container (box) in the room, to keep your food stuffs in. Clever.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is a good value hotel which could not be better placed for the museums - literally only 100 yards or so from the van Gogh, and less than 10min form the Rijksmuseum.

What I liked: the location, which is also very convenient for trams running into the town centre on lines 2 and 5; the room was quiet (looked onto a courtyard), and although the bed was soft we slept well - I asked for a thinner pillow, which was provided; staff were helpful, and could sell tickets for (some of) the museums, canal trips etc. The breakfast was a good quality buffet - I particularly liked the muesli and the brown bread. The TV has several English language channels.

What could be improved: the small toilet/bathroom didn't have an extractor fan, so was a bit whiffy; some carpets in the bedroom and in communal areas were stained, and needed changing; on arrival, I noticed a small stain (which looked like blood) on the wall in the bathroom, and cleaned it off myself after two days when it was still there.

Overall: very good value - needs a bit of TLC on the carpets etc.

Room Tip: Our room (10) gave onto a courtyard, so was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from Nov 1 - 7, 2013, It is in a most convenient location in the museum district. Close to transit and good restaurants. They have suggestions for their guests and we tried, 3. 2 were really good. The Indonesian restaurant not so good. Look further. I would give the hotel 5 but it is a little run down. Do not judge it by the entry hall! We booked a triple room. Number 27 and it was worth the extra cost. Lots of room which we needed since we were there 6 days. The hotel was quiet at night except when late homecomers came in upstairs but that did not last long. The street is relatively quiet but not soundless esp on weekend but not a big problem. Could be worse in the summer since windows have to be open. No air con that I could see. Breakfast is included ( vs hotel across the street ) and it is a really good deal. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms kept very clean. Would go back.

Room Tip: See above room 27
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were three friends sharing a spacious , comfortable, triple room for four nights. As well as all the usual things, the room had a plastic box we could store food in...just right for the cakes and biscuits from the nearby supermarket.
It is on a quiet street but with easy access to museums and the tram. A taxi from the airport was 40euros...ok between three of us. Breakfast included a good selection. You can buy e-tickets for the Rijks Museum and also the iAmsterdam card from the hotel reception.
Staff were very helpful and we could store our bags on the last day as our flight wasn't until the evening.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend at the Hotel Aalders. We researched places through Tripadvisor and chose this for its proximity to the Rijksmuseum. We were very pleased with our choice. We were on a quiet street but it was a 5 minute walk to the museum and to the tram line that take you to and from the train station and to the bus stop that takes you to and from the airport. Although like many houses in Amsterdam the stairs were steep, there was a lift. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was typical Dutch - rolls, meats, cheeses, cereals and fruit - and on one day, a great lemon cake. The price was reasonable. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the street side on th 1st floor, right beside the breakfast room. It might have been a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were very happy with Hotel Aalders for our five night stay. The service was efficient and pleasant, breakfast in the characterful dining room was very enjoyable, and our room was warm and comfortable, and had a well-fitted bathroom. The location, on the street beside the Rijksmuseum, is perfect for visits to any of the three major art museums, and the main road at the end has a wide range of shops and restaurants. The canal district and the city centre are only a short walk away, along the attractive Spiegelstraat with its art galleries and antique shops, though the crossing in front of the Rijksmuseum is hectic, with cars, bikes and trams going in all directions.

Room Tip: We were happy to be on the top floor, and the lift is efficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, Amsterdam 1071 CJ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family owned 3-star hotel in southern part of the city centre containing 28 rooms of different sizes and types, with it's own unique character and personal attention towards guests. Certified member of HoReCa Nederland and ANWB Hotel classification guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aalders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.