We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on quiet street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aalders to your Saves list
Hotel Aalders
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #47 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel on quiet street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from Nov 1 - 7, 2013, It is in a most convenient location in the museum district. Close to transit and good restaurants. They have suggestions for their guests and we tried, 3. 2 were really good. The Indonesian restaurant not so good. Look further. I would give the hotel 5 but it is a little run down. Do not judge it by the entry hall! We booked a triple room. Number 27 and it was worth the extra cost. Lots of room which we needed since we were there 6 days. The hotel was quiet at night except when late homecomers came in upstairs but that did not last long. The street is relatively quiet but not soundless esp on weekend but not a big problem. Could be worse in the summer since windows have to be open. No air con that I could see. Breakfast is included ( vs hotel across the street ) and it is a really good deal. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms kept very clean. Would go back.

Room Tip: See above room 27
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    415
    66
    15
    10
See reviews for
245
263
99
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
shrewsbury
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were three friends sharing a spacious , comfortable, triple room for four nights. As well as all the usual things, the room had a plastic box we could store food in...just right for the cakes and biscuits from the nearby supermarket.
It is on a quiet street but with easy access to museums and the tram. A taxi from the airport was 40euros...ok between three of us. Breakfast included a good selection. You can buy e-tickets for the Rijks Museum and also the iAmsterdam card from the hotel reception.
Staff were very helpful and we could store our bags on the last day as our flight wasn't until the evening.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend at the Hotel Aalders. We researched places through Tripadvisor and chose this for its proximity to the Rijksmuseum. We were very pleased with our choice. We were on a quiet street but it was a 5 minute walk to the museum and to the tram line that take you to and from the train station and to the bus stop that takes you to and from the airport. Although like many houses in Amsterdam the stairs were steep, there was a lift. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was typical Dutch - rolls, meats, cheeses, cereals and fruit - and on one day, a great lemon cake. The price was reasonable. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the street side on th 1st floor, right beside the breakfast room. It might have been a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were very happy with Hotel Aalders for our five night stay. The service was efficient and pleasant, breakfast in the characterful dining room was very enjoyable, and our room was warm and comfortable, and had a well-fitted bathroom. The location, on the street beside the Rijksmuseum, is perfect for visits to any of the three major art museums, and the main road at the end has a wide range of shops and restaurants. The canal district and the city centre are only a short walk away, along the attractive Spiegelstraat with its art galleries and antique shops, though the crossing in front of the Rijksmuseum is hectic, with cars, bikes and trams going in all directions.

Room Tip: We were happy to be on the top floor, and the lift is efficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We visited second time this lovely hotel in Amsterdam. If your travelplan includes visiting museums, they are just behind the corner! The area itself is very peaceful. It is easy to take a tram to the citycentre. In walking distance you´ll find lovely market on Albert Cuypstraat in De Pijp. Rooms are comfortable, but be prepaired that room might be quite small ( house is very old so that is understandable). Breakfast includes all you need to start your day.
NOTE! If you are travelling in Amsterdam in October, you should find out if there is Amsterdammarathon on that weekend. Especially if you are leaving on sunday it may cause dufficulties to reach airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Nice and quiete hotel with exellente location near the most important museums.
The room were we stayd we're not very big but very confortable to stay like we did for 4 nights
The breakfast was very good.
Great price value

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basking ridge, nj
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

One or two blocks from 3 great museums, especially Van Gogh. Very close to the tram/bus stop. Nice restaurants nearby. Quiet neighborhood. We got the standard room and it was barely large enough to fit the bed. One-way traffic only walking past the bed. Nice bathroom and friendly and helpful people, but the room was a bit small and needed some minor repairs. A bit pricey for the room quality. But, a great location...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and run by three generations of the Aalders Family since 1955, the Hotel Aalders is a charming establishment with a 3 star rating, located on a quiet, residential street. Ideally situated in the cultural centre of Amsterdam, the comfort and hospitality of Hotel Aalders can be found just a few minutes from the Van Gogh or Rijksmuseum and the astonishing historic city centre. We are delighted to welcome you and will make sure that you enjoy your stay and feel at home. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aalders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.