We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small hotel close to museums” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aalders

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aalders to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aalders
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent small hotel close to museums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend at the Hotel Aalders. We researched places through Tripadvisor and chose this for its proximity to the Rijksmuseum. We were very pleased with our choice. We were on a quiet street but it was a 5 minute walk to the museum and to the tram line that take you to and from the train station and to the bus stop that takes you to and from the airport. Although like many houses in Amsterdam the stairs were steep, there was a lift. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was typical Dutch - rolls, meats, cheeses, cereals and fruit - and on one day, a great lemon cake. The price was reasonable. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the street side on th 1st floor, right beside the breakfast room. It might have been a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    345
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
212
219
86
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were very happy with Hotel Aalders for our five night stay. The service was efficient and pleasant, breakfast in the characterful dining room was very enjoyable, and our room was warm and comfortable, and had a well-fitted bathroom. The location, on the street beside the Rijksmuseum, is perfect for visits to any of the three major art museums, and the main road at the end has a wide range of shops and restaurants. The canal district and the city centre are only a short walk away, along the attractive Spiegelstraat with its art galleries and antique shops, though the crossing in front of the Rijksmuseum is hectic, with cars, bikes and trams going in all directions.

Room Tip: We were happy to be on the top floor, and the lift is efficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We visited second time this lovely hotel in Amsterdam. If your travelplan includes visiting museums, they are just behind the corner! The area itself is very peaceful. It is easy to take a tram to the citycentre. In walking distance you´ll find lovely market on Albert Cuypstraat in De Pijp. Rooms are comfortable, but be prepaired that room might be quite small ( house is very old so that is understandable). Breakfast includes all you need to start your day.
NOTE! If you are travelling in Amsterdam in October, you should find out if there is Amsterdammarathon on that weekend. Especially if you are leaving on sunday it may cause dufficulties to reach airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Nice and quiete hotel with exellente location near the most important museums.
The room were we stayd we're not very big but very confortable to stay like we did for 4 nights
The breakfast was very good.
Great price value

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basking ridge, nj
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

One or two blocks from 3 great museums, especially Van Gogh. Very close to the tram/bus stop. Nice restaurants nearby. Quiet neighborhood. We got the standard room and it was barely large enough to fit the bed. One-way traffic only walking past the bed. Nice bathroom and friendly and helpful people, but the room was a bit small and needed some minor repairs. A bit pricey for the room quality. But, a great location...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed there for 3 Nights during a Conference at Amsterdam RAI.Only 5 Mintues to the Tram. Lot's of Restaurants and Stores in the Area. Good Breakfast. I enjoyed it. Everything was clean and in good condition.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Agree with what everyone has been saying - excellent location and great value. Rooms were on the smaller side, but could still fit two comfortably. It's on a peaceful street, a 5 minute walk to the major museums and an easy walk to the other main parts of Amsterdam (about 10 minutes to Leiseplein). Comfortable beds and a clean room. Decent breakfast and free wifi with a good signal. The staff were very friendly and helpful with recommendations. I'd absolutely consider staying here again for future trips!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family owned 3-star hotel in southern part of the city centre containing 28 rooms of different sizes and types, with it's own unique character and personal attention towards guests. Certified member of HoReCa Nederland and ANWB Hotel classification guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aalders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.