We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, well-run hotel, perfect location for art museums” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aalders to your Saves list
Hotel Aalders
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, well-run hotel, perfect location for art museums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were very happy with Hotel Aalders for our five night stay. The service was efficient and pleasant, breakfast in the characterful dining room was very enjoyable, and our room was warm and comfortable, and had a well-fitted bathroom. The location, on the street beside the Rijksmuseum, is perfect for visits to any of the three major art museums, and the main road at the end has a wide range of shops and restaurants. The canal district and the city centre are only a short walk away, along the attractive Spiegelstraat with its art galleries and antique shops, though the crossing in front of the Rijksmuseum is hectic, with cars, bikes and trams going in all directions.

Room Tip: We were happy to be on the top floor, and the lift is efficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    383
    63
    15
    10
See reviews for
229
241
94
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We visited second time this lovely hotel in Amsterdam. If your travelplan includes visiting museums, they are just behind the corner! The area itself is very peaceful. It is easy to take a tram to the citycentre. In walking distance you´ll find lovely market on Albert Cuypstraat in De Pijp. Rooms are comfortable, but be prepaired that room might be quite small ( house is very old so that is understandable). Breakfast includes all you need to start your day.
NOTE! If you are travelling in Amsterdam in October, you should find out if there is Amsterdammarathon on that weekend. Especially if you are leaving on sunday it may cause dufficulties to reach airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Nice and quiete hotel with exellente location near the most important museums.
The room were we stayd we're not very big but very confortable to stay like we did for 4 nights
The breakfast was very good.
Great price value

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basking ridge, nj
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

One or two blocks from 3 great museums, especially Van Gogh. Very close to the tram/bus stop. Nice restaurants nearby. Quiet neighborhood. We got the standard room and it was barely large enough to fit the bed. One-way traffic only walking past the bed. Nice bathroom and friendly and helpful people, but the room was a bit small and needed some minor repairs. A bit pricey for the room quality. But, a great location...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed there for 3 Nights during a Conference at Amsterdam RAI.Only 5 Mintues to the Tram. Lot's of Restaurants and Stores in the Area. Good Breakfast. I enjoyed it. Everything was clean and in good condition.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Agree with what everyone has been saying - excellent location and great value. Rooms were on the smaller side, but could still fit two comfortably. It's on a peaceful street, a 5 minute walk to the major museums and an easy walk to the other main parts of Amsterdam (about 10 minutes to Leiseplein). Comfortable beds and a clean room. Decent breakfast and free wifi with a good signal. The staff were very friendly and helpful with recommendations. I'd absolutely consider staying here again for future trips!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Having looked at other similar hotels in Amsterdam, Hotel Aalders appears to be no more or less expensive than other such hotels in Amsterdam. For various reasons I selected Aalders and I was not disappointed by my choice.

Before arriving here I was a little concerned about review references to noise and size of rooms. However, I can honestly say that I had a wonderful nights sleep at Aalders and slept right through the storm that passed through Europe at the end of October; I only know that it had hit Amsterdam at night because the chap on Reception asked how I had slept! There was no traffic at all as this is a quiet residential street. Likewise, I heard the neighbouring occupants only once and that was around dinner time when they were returning to their room.

As for the size of the room: there are some real exaggerations on this site - someone mentions that there was no room for their suitcase - I think they were confusing the vestibule as the entrance to their room (if you are on the ground floor you will know what I mean by that when you get there). The room size was no problem for a single traveller and I would be happy there for a week, though I only stayed 2 nights. Yes, I do like the home comforts of tea/coffee making facilities but that was the only thing missing ... if people read the hotel info they will note that there are safety deposit boxes held at Reception but you have the key so there are no concerns about people gaining access.

Breakfast is very nice and you can fill yourself up nicely to tide you over (and pop an apple and a pastry in your bag for elevenses - they do offer to do you a doggy bag!). Alas, Aalders don't offer any other options in terms of dining - you can buy a packet of crisps at the bar and that is it - which is a shame if you are exhausted after a late arrival and would just like to crash in your room ... just some hot options (a toasted sandwich?!) would be nice! They do have bottled water in your room but you do have to pay for it.

I did try to find a hotel on the canal but Aalders is in a good location - and it is great in terms of access to and from the airport (the 197 everytime!). Once I had explored the area around the railway station/city centre I was so relieved that Aalders is where it is!

If the hotel was on the canal, had the in-room tea/coffee facilities (I love my caffeine first thing), offered more than a packet of crisps on the hotel menu and provided the bottled wait free of charge then I would give Aalders an 'excellent' rating. As it is, Aalders is a very nice hotel and I am sure that I will revisit it when I am next in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family owned 3-star hotel in southern part of the city centre containing 28 rooms of different sizes and types, with it's own unique character and personal attention towards guests. Certified member of HoReCa Nederland and ANWB Hotel classification guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aalders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.