We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Aalders to your Saves list
Hotel Aalders
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

A small hotel in the museum neighborhood, 2 blocks from the Rijksmuseum and around the corner from the Van Gogh. A tram stop is 1 block away, and an airport bus stops there as well. The rooms are European cozy, sparkling clean, and being in the middle of a city there is street noise at night. Choose a rear facing room if you are bothered by noise as I was. The staff is helpful and can arrange for museum tickets, which enable you to bypass the long lines, as well as discounted canal boat tours. They offer a good cold breakfast buffet, with outstanding coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    367
    59
    15
    10
See reviews for
222
230
93
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed 4 days at the Hotel Aalders in late Sept. after a 12 day cruise up the Rhine from Basel. The family staff and location were excellent. Very short distance from Rijks, Van Gogh and other museums and concert hall. Location on a nice residential street away from city congestion. Ideal location for local shopping and restaurants.

Marty Seidler
San Antonio, Texas

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Early September we stayed three nights in Hotel Aalders. The hotel staff was welcoming and very helpful. Our ground floor room which opened onto a quiet back yard was comfortable and spacious for my husband, our 19yr daughter and myself. We enjoyed eating in the breakfast room overlooking the quiet street. The hotel location was perfect for us. It is within a few blocks of the Rijk Museum, Van Gogh Museum, Vondelpark, Blue Boat canal tours, P.C. Hooftstraat shopping street(which to our daughter's delight, happened to be hosting a 2013 Vogue Fashion's night out).
Hotel Aalders' staff offered excellent advice for local attractions, dining and public transportation (a main stop is just two blocks away). We purchased 24-hour passes available directly from bus/tram drivers. In Amsterdam the bicycle traffic can be overwhelming. Once we learned to distinguish between the bike lanes, tram/bus lanes and the pedestrian walkways, the city was easy to navigate. Just keep your wits about you and keep your eyes and ears open.
One day we took the bus to Schiphol Amsterdam Airport where we rented a car for a driving loop outside of the city (driving in the city center was daunting, so we rented and returned the car at the airport). We drove to Lelystad, then 27km across the North Sea on N302, Houtribdijk dam to the town of Enkhuizen, with its picturesque canals and drawbridge. We visited the Zaanse Schans Windmill park on our return to Schiphol.
We had a wonderful time and very highly recommend the Hotel Aalders.

Room Tip: Our ground floor "garden" room had no air-conditioning but was comfortable and very relaxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel staff was extremely helpful in giving us information about the trams, restaurants, train schedules, etc. Great location -- near the tram and bus stops and the museums. The breakfast was decent and the hotel very clean and nicely kept. A cute little bar is off the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel was a stopover for us as we were traveling from Canada to Africa. Definitely, it's in a good location. We could walk to just about everything, except for the red light district. Since we were in Amsterdam for such a short time, this was pretty important. It's very quiet also, so we had a good night's sleep here.

We realize, of course, that Amsterdam is an expensive city for tourists and this hotel lived up to our expectations in that regard. I suppose it is priced right compared to other hotels, but it was awfully expensive considering what the rooms were like. They were very small and fairly plain and simple. We had four adults crowded into one small room, which is a bit much by North American standards, I think. We had arranged this hotel online and after seeing the room, I felt that we had been a bit duped. I really felt I had been led to expect something with a little more space.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

i spent 5 days in amsterdam with family (wife and three kids). The hotel was great, clean and comfortable beds. Bathroom was super excellent and the staff were very helpful in giving us tips and tourist maps every morning. I will surely check in again when in Amsterdam

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We came for a week; our first room was on the third floor and was both very small and VERY hot (Amsterdam was having a warm week). We asked if they could move us, and they gave us a room that was much better, with a/c and a bigger bath. The staff has been very helpful throughout our stay.

The location is just wonderful; the street is pretty and quiet. It's a short walk to the tram station, and there are lots of restaurants and shops around it.

Worst part was the beds. The "two singles" are tiny beds, each barely big enough for a person, with feet hanging over the end. Our first bed was a double, which was far too soft.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family owned 3-star hotel in southern part of the city centre containing 28 rooms of different sizes and types, with it's own unique character and personal attention towards guests. Certified member of HoReCa Nederland and ANWB Hotel classification guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aalders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.