We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very expensive!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aalders

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aalders to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aalders
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, Amsterdam 1071 CJ, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
West Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great location, very expensive!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel was a stopover for us as we were traveling from Canada to Africa. Definitely, it's in a good location. We could walk to just about everything, except for the red light district. Since we were in Amsterdam for such a short time, this was pretty important. It's very quiet also, so we had a good night's sleep here.

We realize, of course, that Amsterdam is an expensive city for tourists and this hotel lived up to our expectations in that regard. I suppose it is priced right compared to other hotels, but it was awfully expensive considering what the rooms were like. They were very small and fairly plain and simple. We had four adults crowded into one small room, which is a bit much by North American standards, I think. We had arranged this hotel online and after seeing the room, I felt that we had been a bit duped. I really felt I had been led to expect something with a little more space.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    303
    332
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
193
210
79
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

i spent 5 days in amsterdam with family (wife and three kids). The hotel was great, clean and comfortable beds. Bathroom was super excellent and the staff were very helpful in giving us tips and tourist maps every morning. I will surely check in again when in Amsterdam

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We came for a week; our first room was on the third floor and was both very small and VERY hot (Amsterdam was having a warm week). We asked if they could move us, and they gave us a room that was much better, with a/c and a bigger bath. The staff has been very helpful throughout our stay.

The location is just wonderful; the street is pretty and quiet. It's a short walk to the tram station, and there are lots of restaurants and shops around it.

Worst part was the beds. The "two singles" are tiny beds, each barely big enough for a person, with feet hanging over the end. Our first bed was a double, which was far too soft.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Friendly staff eager to help, gracious, kind. Tawny location.
Easily accessible on foot to everything one could want.
Hotel is adding a/c currently so in summer ask for those rooms.
Breakfast is beautifully done for a happy days start.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My three daughters and I have just returned from a very happy three days in Amsterdam, and the charming staff at Hotel Aalders certainly added to this experience. We took the 197 bus from the airport to the bottom of the street and the whole journey took only about 35 minutes. We were too early to get into our room but the staff happily looked after our cases so we could start our sightseeing straight away. The hotel is literally within a few minutes walk of all the major museums, the Blue Boat canal tour, and an easy walk or tram ride to the centre of town. We had a family room for four, and although it wasn't luxurious, it was clean, had extremely comfortable beds, a lovely shower and was very quiet even though we overlooked the road. The breakfasts were very good each morning and all the staff were kind and helpful, providing maps, booking a bicycle tour for us and giving directions. On the last day they kept our cases after checkout and we returned later to collect them before using the bus once again to reach the airport. A really super hotel in a brilliant location and we will definitely return here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

An anticipated nineteen hour layover in AMD necessitated my stay, but I wanted to make the most of it. After careful review of others' feedback, I knew Hotel Aalders was the right choice. My room preference was not available upon checkin, but I was upgraded (without asking) to much larger family room which was beautiful, spacious and comfortable and which (surprise) had a balcony on which I enjoyed a glass of wine (from downstairs) after long day traveling. The staff was very friendly and even prepared with walking map and suggested routes for making the most of my 1/2 day visit. Close to everything so this was achievable. Taxi was reserved upon my request. I will definitely come back to Hotel Aalders and beautiful Amsterdam for a longer stay next year. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you are visiting Amsterdam to enjoy the Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijks museums, then look no further and stay at this hotel! 2 minutes away from all 3 (and the Diamond museum and House of Bols) and yet easily connected with trams 1/2/5 to the rest of the city where all the 'other' activity is going on. Easy to get to from the airport using bus 197 (6-8 minute walk from nearest bus stop outside the Concert Hall). Very clean room and common areas, extremely helpful staff and good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, Amsterdam 1071 CJ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family owned 3-star hotel in southern part of the city centre containing 28 rooms of different sizes and types, with it's own unique character and personal attention towards guests. Certified member of HoReCa Nederland and ANWB Hotel classification guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aalders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.