We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, great staff, small rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aalders to your Saves list
Hotel Aalders
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #55 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great spot, great staff, small rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We came for a week; our first room was on the third floor and was both very small and VERY hot (Amsterdam was having a warm week). We asked if they could move us, and they gave us a room that was much better, with a/c and a bigger bath. The staff has been very helpful throughout our stay.

The location is just wonderful; the street is pretty and quiet. It's a short walk to the tram station, and there are lots of restaurants and shops around it.

Worst part was the beds. The "two singles" are tiny beds, each barely big enough for a person, with feet hanging over the end. Our first bed was a double, which was far too soft.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    442
    70
    17
    12
See reviews for
269
287
103
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Friendly staff eager to help, gracious, kind. Tawny location.
Easily accessible on foot to everything one could want.
Hotel is adding a/c currently so in summer ask for those rooms.
Breakfast is beautifully done for a happy days start.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My three daughters and I have just returned from a very happy three days in Amsterdam, and the charming staff at Hotel Aalders certainly added to this experience. We took the 197 bus from the airport to the bottom of the street and the whole journey took only about 35 minutes. We were too early to get into our room but the staff happily looked after our cases so we could start our sightseeing straight away. The hotel is literally within a few minutes walk of all the major museums, the Blue Boat canal tour, and an easy walk or tram ride to the centre of town. We had a family room for four, and although it wasn't luxurious, it was clean, had extremely comfortable beds, a lovely shower and was very quiet even though we overlooked the road. The breakfasts were very good each morning and all the staff were kind and helpful, providing maps, booking a bicycle tour for us and giving directions. On the last day they kept our cases after checkout and we returned later to collect them before using the bus once again to reach the airport. A really super hotel in a brilliant location and we will definitely return here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

An anticipated nineteen hour layover in AMD necessitated my stay, but I wanted to make the most of it. After careful review of others' feedback, I knew Hotel Aalders was the right choice. My room preference was not available upon checkin, but I was upgraded (without asking) to much larger family room which was beautiful, spacious and comfortable and which (surprise) had a balcony on which I enjoyed a glass of wine (from downstairs) after long day traveling. The staff was very friendly and even prepared with walking map and suggested routes for making the most of my 1/2 day visit. Close to everything so this was achievable. Taxi was reserved upon my request. I will definitely come back to Hotel Aalders and beautiful Amsterdam for a longer stay next year. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you are visiting Amsterdam to enjoy the Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijks museums, then look no further and stay at this hotel! 2 minutes away from all 3 (and the Diamond museum and House of Bols) and yet easily connected with trams 1/2/5 to the rest of the city where all the 'other' activity is going on. Easy to get to from the airport using bus 197 (6-8 minute walk from nearest bus stop outside the Concert Hall). Very clean room and common areas, extremely helpful staff and good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The customer service is great, staff is very helpful. The hotel is located is in a quiet street but just a few steps away from the museums and only a few minutes from the main city attractions. The rooms are comfortable. It offers a great buffet breakfast.
A bus to the airport can be taken from a bus stop just 50 mts away from the hotel, so it makes it easy to access to. This is not a family hotel though so don't expect any facilities/entertainment for the kids.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the backyard are quieter, given that the hotel is located in a residential area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hotel Aalders was exactly what it said on the box. The location was great - near to many of the attractions but in a quiet street. Our room - two adults and a 15 year old daughter - was spacious and had the added benefit of an outside balcony. Free wi-fi was a definite bonus as far as our daughter was concerned. The beds were very comfortable and the room was very clean. Breakfast was good and the staff were efficient and friendly. On a return visit to Amsterdam this is the hotel where I would stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#80 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#42 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#11 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
Hotel Restaurant Larende
#32 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#44 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and run by three generations of the Aalders Family since 1955, the Hotel Aalders is a charming establishment with a 3 star rating, located on a quiet, residential street. Ideally situated in the cultural centre of Amsterdam, the comfort and hospitality of Hotel Aalders can be found just a few minutes from the Van Gogh or Rijksmuseum and the astonishing historic city centre. We are delighted to welcome you and will make sure that you enjoy your stay and feel at home. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aalders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.