We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aalders to your Saves list
Hotel Aalders
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
West Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delightful stay in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with Hotel Aalders. Our booking noted "small room". We found our room quite adequate, not small by European standards at all. The room was clean, the bed and pillows comfortable and the shower efficient. The service was cheerful, helpful and curtious. The breakfast offered adequate continental variety.The location is perfect for museums and art galleries as well as for upscale shopping. Wide selection of restaurants within walking distance. Would gladly stay in Aalders again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    385
    63
    15
    10
See reviews for
229
242
94
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay in hotel Aalders, very centrally. In the evening we had to be in the Center and the day after in Amstelveen. Just 200 m from the hotel the bus and tram stop that we used coming from Schiphol and the day after to Amstelveen.

The hotel is close to the trendy shopping streets and the museum plein with the music hall.

We ha room 6, which is a triple room with a balcony, very spacey and clean. Just be aware that there are only 2 sockets for charging devices. Cleanliness, friendly service, nice breakfast etc. the only recommendation I would give is to change the pillows. Also personal but they all were very hard.

I would definitely consider this hotel again when I need to go back to AMS.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed for three nights and were very satisfied with our stay. Frendly and helpfull staf, nice rooms, nice enough breakfast and walking distance to centre of the city. The neighbourhood is a very quiet one, nothing disturbed us during the night. The breakfast is far from bad but a few more thing to choose between had been nice. I will defenetly stay here next time I visit Amsterdam!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The location was great,away from the center's noise but 200 meters from tram 5 stop which takes you to center in just 5 minutes. Staff was friendly. The breakfast was pretty decent. Walls were a bit thin but the hotel guests were quiet folks so we didn' t have much of a problem. I really liked that the hotel is always locked and you have to ring a buzz to let you in. I felt safer that way. If I ever visited Amsterdam again I believe I would choose Aalders once again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Located in a tree-lined street near the major museums, it was peaceful here. I had a double room facing the street which was large enough for my needs and nicely furnished. Staff very friendly and helpful and breakfast (included in price along with wifi) was substantial. Very good value overall. Would recommend to others

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I would recommend this hote, it is clean and friendly. The small doubles are small, not much room for a suitcase, some have had the bathroom refubished. The staff are brilliant very helpful and friendly - there is a nice bar with drinks at reasonable prices. The location is excellent although there is a little way to walk to the attractions. There are shops nearby and a supermarket not too far away.
Try de knijp and Caneletto restaurants, certainly de knijp is absolutely wonderful with fantastic food and amazing staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family owned 3-star hotel in southern part of the city centre containing 28 rooms of different sizes and types, with it's own unique character and personal attention towards guests. Certified member of HoReCa Nederland and ANWB Hotel classification guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aalders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.