We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located In Museum/Shopping District” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aalders to your Saves list
Hotel Aalders
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tennessee
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Located In Museum/Shopping District”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was an interesting little hotel. We reserved a quad room for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. The room had adequate space, but was very, very dated. It was a very old building which appeared to have been renovated in the 80's, but they were not very successful at combining old and new. It was, however, clean with comfortable beds and a decent morning breakfast. They had a bar in the lobby, but I think we were the only ones who wanted to use it and the night clerk (who is also the bartender) didn't seem very pleased that he had to wait on us. Interestingly enough, on the times we met him as he was getting off work he was a very pleasant fellow. I just don't think he liked his night job very much.

Word of warning - we happened to be there when it was unusually hot and they do not have air conditioning. Do not rent the quad room if going in warm weather, the night clerk (when off duty) told us it was the hottest room in the hotel...he wasn't kidding. They gave us a fan to use, but since you can only open one of the windows in this room it never really cooled down that much.

All in all, I would stay here again if the weather was cool. I really liked being close to the museums (all within a few blocks) and high end shopping. It was also very easy to access the rest of Amsterdam via bus or water taxi.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    375
    61
    15
    10
See reviews for
228
236
93
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Aalders for 4 nights. The location was ideal, within walking distance to everything we wanted to visit, (very close to the museums). And a short direct 12 minute tram ride to The Bosbaan where the World Rowing Under 23 Championships were being held. The staff was very helpful, the breakfast was filling, and the hotel was clean and comfortable. I would stay there again either with my family or alone, it felt very safe!

Room Tip: We stayed in a twin large room on the top floor , pretty view out the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The stuff at the Hotel it's very friendly, helpful. Location is excellent in the expencive area of Museum district very central easy to get to and come back at night, safe area you can get n tram 5 from central station to get to the hotel. Breakfast room was very nice, food standard breakfast food stuff helpful. Room very clean with flat screen tv over looking back garden got to say it was noisy from the room you can hear other people going up and down the stairs which I found annoying and the bed needs up grading, I used ear plugs and then was fine. Room small but in central Amsterdam it's normal.
Room next to mine nice big double room and I am sure much more quite. You can keep bike in the garden at the back. wish they had alternative milk soya based at breakfast and soya yogurt & porridge.
Stuff: 5
Room:3
Location:5
Breakfast:3
Cleanliness:5
Noise:2

Room Tip: Ground floor single room noisy but very clean with flat screen tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amslon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

What do I mean, well simple really, Straight up, no fuss honest as the day as is long type of hotel, NO gimmicks, no Rubbish. Ie Boutique Hotels or the Big hotels with 500 +plus rooms.Always helps when you get upgraded upon arrival,I had booked a extra small but got a single, probably biggest single in Amsterdam and I have a been in some small rooms. For me a hotel is somewhere to sleep, could care less about details esp on weekend break. All I want is Clean room, TV, shower,fresh, friendly staff, come and go as you want, security over belongings and the Aalders delievered. Simple really stay here. and when you factored in Breakfast, city taxes, at 95 per night @height of the season, I can wear that too. Thanks Aalders.,...

Room Tip: Room 21 a small ground flr
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Excellent, safe location on a quiet, tree-lined street just steps from Amsterdam's most famous museums and minutes walking distance to most of the city's other cultural squares, sites and neighbouring hotspots.

Situated just out of the canal ring, Aalders is a perfect home base for exploring Amsterdam on foot, or taking advantage of public transit with convenient stops just steps away from the hotel.

I stayed in the small single room on the top floor. Exactly as advertised on their website, so don't be surprised by its compact size. It is tiny, with almost a dorm-like quality to it. Except for the flat panel, the décor is very dated, making the room look unkempt. The bathroom needs a makeover. Housekeeping is average. And the walls are incredibly thin so be prepared to hear your neighbours' conversations, what they're watching on t.v., and their bathroom activities (and vice versa, I presume.) Poor drainage in the shower and the hot water was unstable at times. Depending on your level of expectation, you'll either be very disappointed, or you'll tolerate the room's quirks and get on with your city stay (recommended).

Of the positives: Aalders is cozy and actually quite charming in spite of its shortcomings. The breakfast room was pretty, and the breakfast itself was plentiful and of good variety. Special thanks to all the staff here. They are fabulous! Friendly. Knowledgeable. Helpful. And kind. I will return. And would recommend this hotel to other solo travellers looking for safe, acceptable, no-fuss accommodations when visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011 via mobile

This is a great little hotel, a stones throw from the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum. Bus from the airport comes right to the Rijksmuseum and it's easily walkable from there. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, spoke perfect English, and were happy to provide advice and directions about restaurants, transport etc. We stayed in a family room, just large enough for four (2 boys under 12), clean and comfortable if a little bit dated. It's on the expensive side - a good bit more than equivalent hotels we stayed at in Munich and Innsbruck - but so is everywhere in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

The hotel is located in a street close to the Van Gogh Museum. The building is very typical and placed in a nice and quiet position, easy to reach by tram which links this zone with the centre. The staff is always nice and ready to give information. The rooms are confortable and clean. The breakfast is good and adequate to the price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family owned 3-star hotel in southern part of the city centre containing 28 rooms of different sizes and types, with it's own unique character and personal attention towards guests. Certified member of HoReCa Nederland and ANWB Hotel classification guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aalders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.