We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Excellent Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aalders

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aalders to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aalders
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Excellent Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed in the Hotel Aalders for 4 nights in May and we would definitly stay there again.
Only a 5 minute walk from the Van Gogh Museum and the Rijksmuseum, it was the perfect location for us. The street it is in is quiet yet you are only 1 Tram stop away from Leidseplein which is an area full of bars, clubs and cafes. The number 2 or 5 Tram both stop at the end of the street and bring you to Dam Square, and Central Station. The Hotel is clean and the staff could not be more helpful. Our room was lovely, looking out over the garden, we even had a balcony. Breakfast was more than adequate - Cereals, Boiled Eggs, Cold Meats, Cheeses, Bread, croissants and fruit. If you are looking for an old fashioned, friendly, family run hotel in a great location then this is the place for you! We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    306
    340
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
198
213
80
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

This hotel is expensive, but every hotel in Amsterdam is expensive, and I'd bet most are not as nice as the Hotel Aalders. This hotel is walkable to the Rijksmuseum and the van Gogh Museum, and only a block away from the 2 and 5 trams which will take you to the more lively parts of the city. The staff was very nice, and willing to answer the many questions we had. The hotel is on a quiet street, so we could get a good night's sleep. The only complaint: the pillows were very uncomfortable.

Stayed May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Stayed at the Aalders for 4 nights and was not dissappointed. Comfortable beds, large room, adequate breakfast, polite staff. What more can one want? A boquet of tulips even awaited us in our room.

Room Tip: book early and ask about room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Small European hotel in a fantastic location, clean & simple rooms, very decent breakfast, very helpful staff. Near Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum, canal boat stops; quiet street, Breakfast rooms in front and back -- back with view of magnificent magnolia, flowering in April. Elevator (fortunately, because stairs are steep and narrow), narrow corridors. Bike rental. We hope to return.

Room Tip: Book early;
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

The Aalders is a typical European hotel, nothing too flash, but good service and a fantastic location near Vondel Park, Leidseplein and the Rijks museum. You can easily walk to all of these attractions within a few minutes and it's a great place if you take your jogging seriously!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Our stay at the hotel Aalders was only for 2 nights but we would definitely return due to its convenience.

My husband & I had a double room - the only problem was that there was not enough room between the bed, the door & the wall to get our suitcases in so they had to be lifted (each one weighed about 22kg so was not an easy feat) over the end of the bed. However, the shower was hot & water pressure good - which counts for a lot.

My sister's room was upgraded by the hotel on their own volition on checkin - her room was very large with oodles of room. One interesting feature was the fake chest of drawers.

The downstairs coffeeshop/bar area was pleasant & the prices fair. Breakfast was good - but don't expect bacon & eggs, sausages etc. On offer were boiled eggs, pastries, bread for toast, cereals, cheeses, meats, juice & tea or coffee. The staff were very helpful & nothing was too much trouble.

As we were lesving for a 2 week river cruise, we had the hotel order us a taxi to take us to the embarkation point. When we reached the wharf, the boat was not there & noone on any of the other boats knew where it was. However, out intrepid taxi driver dropped us off & then went searching for the boat, finding it on the other side of the river. he then came back & picked us up. The cruise company had not updated the website so the wrong embarkation point was listed. If all Amsterdam taxi drivers were like this one, then everyone would be smiling.

All in all, the hotel staff were friendly & helpful. One of the sons was serving in the bar on one of the nights & was very friendly & chatty.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

excellent choice of the hotel, friendly stuff, clean rooms but small (if you are staying for a short time...you nevermind :)), delicious breakfast, very good location - close to everywhere - only few minutes to rijksmuseum and van gogh museum, approx. 10 minutes by walk to city centre...i really recommend :)

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family owned 3-star hotel in southern part of the city centre containing 28 rooms of different sizes and types, with it's own unique character and personal attention towards guests. Certified member of HoReCa Nederland and ANWB Hotel classification guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aalders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.