We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sander to your Saves list
Hotel Sander
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jacob Obrechtstraat 69, 1071 KJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #300 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ok but not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night as part as a short break in Amsterdam. Stayed in a triple room which consisted of a single plus an additional 2 singles placed together.
- bathroom basic but clean.

Pros:
- good location, minutes from the bus stop which buses run from the airport & minutes from museums.
- reasonable quiet location as not situated directly on a Main Street and slightly out of the city centre bar area. Felt safe walking around at night.
- helpful staff.

Cons:
- Mattresses and pillows were very soft.
- very dated hotel, needs updating
- costly for what it is compared to other hotels in the city

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The hotel is located in the "Old South". By foot--- five minutes from Het Concertgebouw, ten minutes from the Van Gogh Museum, and fifteen minutes from the Rijks. Tram 16 which can take you anywhere in Amsterdam and Bus 197 which can drive you to Schipol stop nearby. The hotel is close to a school, so it's usually the children's banter that woke me up.

I had a Single Room (EUR612.00 + 5.5% tax) for six nights. It had a desk with a plasma TV (which I didn't use), a vault where you had to pay an extra EUR2.00 to get the key, a toilet and hot shower. Wifi is extremely slow. You have to go down to the lobby for faster access. Even the connection is slow in the dining area. You really have to be at the foyer or outside the front door. The room is cleaned everyday. But please take all your valuables with you, if you're not availing of the vault. I lost USD10.00 after the first round of cleaning was done. I no longer brought it up with the management to avoid any disputes. Also, don't bother reading the hotel policies which are in a clear book on your room's desk. They do not offer laundry service. I was disappointed because the website also advertised this.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank makemineaventi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We were traveling as a family of four and I was surprised at the large room we received esp. in Europe. This is a 3 star hotel that is located in an excellent part of Amsterdam close to Tram lines, museums and the neighborhood is very safe. We were served an adequate and simple breakfast. I think a 28% rating on trip advisor is low. The hotel room was clean but needs to be upgraded, worn out furniture. Elevator functional but needs carpet removing. I found staff helpful. I loved the location and felt very safe in hotel and street was quiet. This hotel just needs to be renovated. Also WiFi was down the one night I stayed but they were trying to fix it and staff allowed me to work in dining area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mafungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Worst sleep of our European holiday, worst mattress, worst pillows, ancient bedspreads, no heating or cooling, no smiles at reception, terrible coffee for breakfast, wonky stairs, ancient lift. Stained old carpet.Location was Ok, that was the only acceptable part.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Small hotel, just correct. Conveniently placed very near Concertgebouw. Several tramway lines pass nearby. 20 minutes pleasant walk from hotel to RAI Congress Center (I had to attend a Congress there, my wife just wantet to do tourism in the city).
Our room (3rd floor) was small but clean. Bed and bathroom were OK.
Breakfast simple but also OK. I don't need a sumptuous breakfast.
Personnel OK. A light bulb in the lamp above our bed was fused. We reported it when we went away from the hotel in the morning, and in the afternoon it was readuly substituted.
They arvertise there is wi-fi everywhere in the hote, but in our room it didn't work; apparenmtly it was only working only in the ground floor.
Overall, just OK, especially if you want a simple but correct hotel not far from RAI Congress Center, and also well connected byt tram with city centre.

Room Tip: Some people say the basement room should better be avoided. Our room in 3d floor was OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank handreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Safe area but you need to be buzzed into the hotel like a 2 year old, no internet on the upper floors, poor to zero connectivity in the lobby and eating area. The owner has no client service skills and did not listen to the internet issues I and others had in the lobby.

There was virtually no water pressure on the 4th floor, you cannot regulate the heat in the room, the telephone did not work, the stairs are very steep even for Amsterdam. The is a hotel for the desperate. The only good thing about this place is the location.

Room Tip: Review trip advisor and look at the trends. They are very telling. Second, book early or you get s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ericksonce2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Hotel à éviter absolument: accueil exécrable, chambres sales, odeurs de haschich / horrific experience: dirty, smoky, nasty.
Twe travelled with our daughters and the guy at the reception - very unpleasant since he knew confident since he knew we would be debited on our Visa Card anyway -wanted to give us rooms either separated by 4 floors, or in the basement!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khalloud61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
#286 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Prinsen Hotel
#233 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Memphis Hotel Museum Square
Memphis Hotel Museum Square
#231 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#200 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sander

Address: Jacob Obrechtstraat 69, 1071 KJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sander 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Hotel located in downtown Amsterdam, near World Trade Center & RAI Congress Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sander Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing