We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fuyez / run” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sander

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sander to your Saves list
Hotel Sander
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jacob Obrechtstraat 69, 1071 KJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #292 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fuyez / run”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Hotel à éviter absolument: accueil exécrable, chambres sales, odeurs de haschich / horrific experience: dirty, smoky, nasty.
Twe travelled with our daughters and the guy at the reception - very unpleasant since he knew confident since he knew we would be debited on our Visa Card anyway -wanted to give us rooms either separated by 4 floors, or in the basement!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    26
    36
    24
    23
See reviews for
16
30
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Good- right by a tram stop - Number 16 which takes you into the city to all the stops you need.
Clean and staff are OK. The beds were very comfortable. Bathroom was good. Water is hot and heating works. Has a bar which they will serve you at when you require.
Bad- We had the basement room which is quite a good size but smelt. ( not sure if water pump was broken as damp patch on the floor.) The night staff were noisy and did not know what they were doing at 7 am when checking us out. Breakfast is not worth the money- go elsewhere for breakfast.
However if you want a budget hotel and not the noise of the inner city & want your own bathroom then this was an OK hotel. They mean NO SMOKING which was good.
Having been many times to Amsterdam and stayed at more expensive hotels I was happy with this stay overall which was only for two nights. The location was good as right by Museumplein and Albert Cypt Market. The Tram stop just a little way from outside hotel made it good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel is located just off the Museumplein at a calm nice street.

The rooms are quite small and a little renovation wouldn't hurt, but everything is clean and if you're not planning on sitting in your room too much it will do the trick.

Breakfast in the morning is quite good, service level is also fine.

Overall good money/value ratio.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Hotel Sander is located in walking distance to Museumsplein and only 3 stations by tram from Leidseplein. The Hotel is a bit old fashioned and not in best shape, but every was clean the staff was friendly. If you just need a bed and a shower (ours was recently renovated) it´s perfect.

Room Tip: We were also lucky to get room 441 from which you can look to the backyard and above the sourroundin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this Hotel for 2 nights ,
It was a big of a disaster .. This is what happened
We booked it with hotels.com
When we arrived at the hotel the check in staff did not / would not acknowledge our booking even though we had the electronic booking confirmation right in front of him .
He leg us stay at the hotel but charged us more that what we locked in with hotels.com,
It was not that much more but it pissed me off, particularly because they made us wait for ages to get into the room / it was 9 at night so we were looking forward to getting into bed
When we finally got into the room it smelt soooooooo strongly of bleach!!!! Initially this pleased me as I like clean,
The next day though our clothes were stained by the bleached they had left on the floor, ( yes I should not have put my clothes on thd floor when showering)
My theory now with hand stuff around check in is the room was not ready anx they were quickly cleaning it,
We wouldn't have minded if they had of just said leave your bags here and cons back in an hour,
It's Amsterdam. Plenty to do
Overall it was not bad except we list a pair of trousers ANd a t shirt


  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night in July 2012 and I have to say it was an average place to stay. Our room was very spacious however we noticed many cracks on the wall and a crack and flaking wallpaper on the ceiling this I assume to be the damp that was clearly visable through the wallpaper. Also their was an awful smell in the room everytime we opened the window which we had to do as their was no air conditioning. It was very difficult to get to sleep due to the noise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
#256 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Omega Hotel Amsterdam
Omega Hotel Amsterdam
#288 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven
#201 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
#223 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Prinsen Hotel
#225 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Memphis Hotel Museum Square
Memphis Hotel Museum Square
#226 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sander

Address: Jacob Obrechtstraat 69, 1071 KJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sander 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Hotel located in downtown Amsterdam, near World Trade Center & RAI Congress Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sander Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.