We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service; untidy, shabby hovel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sander to your Saves list
Hotel Sander
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jacob Obrechtstraat 69, 1071 KJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #281 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible service; untidy, shabby hovel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

This hotel is not a clean one, and breakfast is just a fake 'buffet': only a small dish with very tiny slices of cheese(1), salami(1) and ham(1) per person!
The bed is 30cms from the walls...
The carpet (even the one which covers the elevator walls...) is very old and untidy.
You have to give more 4% of your bill if you pay it by credit card, plus residence taxes (more 22Euros) not included in the reservation, even if already paid.
You certainly get a better deal at the centre for the same price or lower!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    24
    35
    22
    22
See reviews for
14
29
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the beginning of June 2011. It is located in a quiet, residential area of the city, just round the corner from the No 16 tram stop which runs through the city centre to the central station.

Vondel park is within 400 metres and there is a pizzeria and two cafe/restaurants (all popular with the locals) within 300 metres.

Our room on the third floor was clean and comfortable and a good breakfast was provided, comprising juices, cereals, boiled egg, ham, cheese and preserves.

The price was not out of the way, considering Amsterdam prices in general.

Room Tip: Book in advance, they won't let you down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

In the states, a 3 star bid in almost any city gets you a decent, clean (hamton inn, etc) hotel. Not in AMS, so you have to get a b&b or bid for 4-5 star place.

We had a basement room, which was so gross... mirror falling off wall, bad carpet, TINY bathroom, tile broken, mold, etc. I felt gross in there.

PROS:
-near museaums ("I amsterdam" sigh) and tram.
-safe neighborhood, beautiful trees, apartments, etc. great ambiance.

CONS:
-20 minute walk to anything besides museums
-horrible service (made us check out at 11 even though priceline said 12)
-7 EURO "departure hotel tax" on top of the priceline payment
-bad internet
-YOU CAN HEAR EVERY WOrD OF YOUR NEIGHBORS, so if they come in at 2 am, you hear it....

If you expand your bit to "city center south" you will be in another, slightly farther residential area and just 5-10 min away from the city. After we left the hell hole that was the Sander, we got a 5 star for $175 just a 5 minute tram ride away from Sander and could have gotten 3-4 star for much cheaper.

Pay for the unlimited tram card (an above ground train for easy access to eveything) for 7Euro/day and you can go all over the city SO easily.

BOTTOM LINE- THIS HOTEL SUX!!!!!!!! I'm a flight attendant and have stayed at some pretty bad places, but this one was one of the worst.

Room Tip: Priceline-Bid for a 4 star in AMS or SOUTH of city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Unpleasant staff who placed us in a dingy basement room on Day 1 then moved us (a married couple) to two single rooms on separate floors Day 2 - the single rooms were tiny, dingy, scruffy with no tea/coffee facilities, no iron, no basic hairdryer, the tiny tele hardly worked, had to practically crawl up the steep stairs to our rooms, even the room door didn't open or lock properly ! Our Story - The Guesthouse we'd first booked into had lost our reservation upon arrival in Amsterdam so the guesthouse owner found us our alternative, The Hotel Sander, during a busy Easter weekend, the Hotel Sander gloated about "Quadrupling" their room rates because (a) it was Easter, (b) we were desperate for a room or we'd be flying home again ! yes I'm aware many hotels enjoy doing this to their guests but I've never seen a hotel look so pleased about it right to your face which destroyed my otherwise high opinion of the Dutch and would have totally ruined a romantic weekend except we are better than that and still managed to have a good time away from our hotel experience(s). I would not return to the Hotel Sander if they offered me a free weekend - I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy ... be afraid be very afraid !!! ps. 460 Euros was charged for 2 nights in below average rooms - everything about this hotel is completely shameful !

Room Tip: A tip would be avoid avoid avoid !!!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

On arrival we were asked to hand over money as a 'security deposit' - no mention was made of this at time of booking. When we questioned this the hotel staff pointed at a note that had been sticky taped to the desk. Offered no choice we had pay. The money was returned on check out, credit card details kept for a week. Accomodation was basic and fine BUT this is a VERY badly sound-proofed hotel. Other guests were not particularly noisy but every conversation in the next room could be heard-every door that was opened and closed-every footstep on the stairs-earplugs had to be purchased. Will not be returning to the Hotel Sander.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

We booked this hotel well in advance, we were horrified at our room which was down in the basement underneath the bar and reception, we had no sleep, and it was dark and dingy.
the staff were helpfull and friendly, apart for the lady who checked us in, she was miserable and not at all friendly, overall it was ok for a short break.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Judging from recent reviews, the place is going downhill fast! My review is based on my July 2009 stay. And unless you have the $ to stay at an American chain hotel, come to AMS prepared that room/amenity standards are quite different than in the U.S. Pros: Tree-lined street in mainly residential neighborhood, close to Museum Square, Concertgebouw, public tram to take you everywhere, a public express bus to Schipol Airport (a lot faster than taking the train), good breakfast, close to excellent Albert Heijn food store, free wireless in lobby/restaurant area. Cons: perfunctory staff (then again I generally found that in any AMS service personnel over the age of 30); no air conditioning; room comfort varies (my 1st room was decent-sized, a double bed in the basement below the dining area with a pleasant view of backyard, quiet and COOL. But one night I stayed in the TINY top floor front room--so hot I couldn't sleep and you could hear traffic noice from a nearby busy street). The stairs are EXTREMELY narrow and no one told me there was an elevator! GEEZ! I did my homework before going to AMS. But I must believe now there's a better place for the $.

Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sander

Address: Jacob Obrechtstraat 69, 1071 KJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sander 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Hotel located in downtown Amsterdam, near World Trade Center & RAI Congress Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sander Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.