We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Save Saved
You added Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

The Zandbergen is in a great neighborhood just outside of the main tourist area with lots of good restaurants, bars and shopping close by. You can walk through Vondelpark and be at the Leidesplein in a few minutes. From there you can easily walk practically anywhere in Amsterdam. Our room had a balcony overlooking a small park. The breakfast was very good. Henk and his staff are very friendly and helpful but not at all intrusive.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    166
    40
    18
    5
See reviews for
87
197
80
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

We've traveled through Amsterdam over 50 times in the 15 years for both business and pleasure (like Queen's Day). In a city of where even the biggest name hotels are heavily worn, and marginal, Zandbergen stands out one that's trying to change this image. The hotel is charming, clean, with extremely helpful staff, and an owner Henk, who is personally involved with every guest. It's just off the main tourist area so you're not kept up all night yet, it's four trams stops on the 2 line (15-20 minutes walk) back to Leidesplein Square and the beginning of the 'party zone,' if you're looking for that. Famous museums and concert halls are just down the street.

The hotel is well maintained with smaller comfortable rooms that are just fine for any tourist activity or staying on business when you're out all day anyway. No elevator but the staff will carry your bags and will not accept a tip! Breakfast was simple (by European terms, spectacular when compared to a Country Suites Inn) but plenty, and if anything ran out, it was promptly replaced.

Can't beat the value anywhere else in the area. I'm afraid to post a good rating as it may make it harder for me to make my next reservation!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

My friend and I stopped over Amsterdam for one night during the crazy Iceland Volcano week in April 2010. We had difficulty getting out of AMS/Schiphol airport because we had no Euros and our American credit cards wouldn't work because it didn't have the "special chip" (and there were no signs stating this). After 2 hours, we were finally able to get out of the airport by train and head into the city. We tried to enjoy ourselves despite the bad weather and the dirtiness of Amsterdam Centraal area.

After walking for hours visiting sites and looking at architecture, we finally took the tram #2 around 10pm to Hotel Zandbergen. We were very nervous because it seemed so out of the way from the Centraal area. The tram went through the center of town for a good 15-20 mins and we walked out to a completely quiet, pleasant, seemingly deserted part of town next to Vondelpark.

Exhausted and cold, we walked a few steps to the hotel and what a pleasant surprise. The door opened automatically and Henk, the proprietor, greeted us with a very warm smile, pleasant greetings and offered us a hot cup of coffee or tea. He carried the tray up the stairs and showed us our room, #17. I was glad we didn't have our luggage with us since there was no lift/elevator (like most of Amsterdam). The room was fairly open and large with a couch, a desk, two twin beds, a 27" flatscreen TV mounted in front of the beds, mini-bar and two closets. The bathroom was small but well appointed. The window was large and when we opened it the next day, it opened to the view of a small, quaint garden in the back
with a small terrace and beautiful flowering trees and evergreens. The continental breakfast was nice and the eating area was quite cute. The hotel offers free wifi and had a computer station in the lobby. I saw various travel guidebooks and reading materials in the common area as well.

During breakfast, Henk gave us advice on the museums (which are walking distance) and a free concert during lunch time. He was knowledgeable and offered many good local tips. The hotel has tickets to the nearby museums so you don't have to reserve ahead and would be able to skip the lines. (Please confirm this with Henk ahead of time since this may change.) My friend and I already bought the
IAMsterdam card so we had access to the museums and free transport already. We still had to wait on a fairly long line at the Van Gogh Museum with the IAMsterdam card.

Since Centraal area hotels/b&b/hostels are either too expensive or dirty, I would highly recommend Hotel Zandbergen. The location is not bad at all--especially since couple of trams and buses go there.

We could have taken a bus directly to Hotel Zandbergen from the airport instead of taking the train to Centraal station since the hotel is located half way between the airport and Centraal station. This is cheaper and may be a good option.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

We booked this hotel for three nights while travelling in Amsterdam with our teenage kids and wound up having to stay 3 extra nights due to the volcanic eruption that stranded european travellers. Henk and his staff were extremely accomodating throughout this whole experience. The rooms were clean with nice bathrooms-we wound up staying in three different ones because of our extended stay and I would recommend booking a room that faces the back of the hotel since they are the quietest . We stayed one night in the Penthouse which is very roomy and has a large living room, kitchen and bedroom -Dvd player with good movies-the kids loved it. The only down side to that room is you cannot black out the morning light since the room has many windows and the floor plan doesn't have floor to ceiling divided rooms. The breakfast was great and Henk was extremely helpful with tour ideas, especially since we had three more days than we had originally planned. It is a 15-20 minute walk ( very pleasant ) from the center of town but in a very cute neighborhood with everyhting you need and is a very peaceful part of town to return to in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner on a short break to Amsterdam.
We had a good stay - the proprietor was really welcoming and helpful, breakfast delicious, and the rooms comfortable and well thought out (e.g. English-language glossy magazines left to read).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope,AL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Hotel Zandbergen was a wonderful surprise to this weary traveler. Having arrived on the red-eye from Memphis, my luggage was carried up the 2 flights of narrow, typically Dutch stairs for me. My single room was spotlessly clean and comfortable with a bathroom and shower. Cleansing gel and lotion along with a hairdryer were provided. A small room refrigerator was also stocked with wine, water, beer and a few snacks. The room was well thought out with regards to space, there was not an over abundance of unusable space. Everything one would need was right there perfectly placed.
Downstairs in the public area was a delight with Henk my host graciously offering coffee and suggestions as to how to handle the jet-lag. They all worked!!
Breakfast the next morning was delicious with something for every taste. The computer was put to good use as was the free Wi- Fi. Henk helped with directions and suggestions for the best use of my time in seeing what I wanted to see.
There are some wonderful little restaurants and cafes in that area of Amsterdam. Just walk down the street in any direction. Look out for the people on bicycles.....they aren't looking out for you!!!
When plans necessitated a one night stay back in Amsterdam before flying home a week later, I again booked the Zandbergen and was upgraded to a larger room with no stairs for my, by then, battered knee. Such a kind gesture from my new friend Henk and the rest of the staff at this hidden gem of a B+B. Dutch Hospitality at it's best!!
There are people of all nationalities staying at this B+B. One does not feel surrounded by americans, instead the opportunity exists to meet many interesting people and learn something new. As a single woman traveling alone, I felt quite safe there and cared for.
A nice thing to be able to say in these days and times.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaniva, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and found the hotel to be the best value for money. We booked direct with the hotel website the night before and picked it up for half price!
We did a PO Ferries cruise staying an additional night and also picked that up for half price too through their website!
Anyway, the hotel is on the tram route, (get an all day ticket so you can hop on and off.)Impeccably clean and all faclities were uptodate and working. Brilliant breakfast , free internet, nice staff, quiet location, good english, what more could you ask for!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.