We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Expectations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia to your Saves list
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Below Expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

First the positives. Very good location. Just off the tram station on willemsparkweg. Friendly staff, met Thomas and Tom. Sweet to offer coffee when we came.

The Negatives were more glaring though:

1) The rooms are very cramped. After you keep your suitcase, there is hardly space to move.
2) The beds are ridiculously uncomfortable.
3) While we asked for a double bed and were confirmed so by the website, we got two single beds shafted together.
4) We asked for a 5 am wake up call since we had a train to catch. No call came. I found this really surprising especially since we were assured we will get a call. It may seem like no big deal, but really small, inexpensive hotels in India give you a wake up call, when you ask for it.
5) The flight of stairs to climb in this hotel can be a pain, if you have big luggage. They are supremely narrow stairs. I had asked for help for taking the luggage down in the morning, but since there was nobody about, i brought down one of the suitcases myself. Thankfully, the guard woke up and helped me with the second, without which I would certainly have deemed this a 1 star review.

For the money spent, i felt vastly disappointed. We had spent two days prior to this in a B&B in Amsterdam at a fraction in this price and felt so looked after.

Vinay & Nidhi

Room Tip: choose a room on the ground floor, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Vinay & Nidhi,

We are very sorry to read on Tripadvisor about the negative experience during the last part of your stay in Amsterdam. We are proud that our team has such a serviceminded attitude and I was very unleasantly suprised to read about this incident.

After making some inquiries it turns out that the wake-up system was not programmed in the proper way, the team only found out in the morning. Of course we always do our utmost to avoid these situations and I am afraid you were just unlucky that it happened to you and I sincerely apologise for this. Due to this mistake the night guard also overslept and was too late to help you with both suitcases down the stairs (common service at the hotel!)

With respect to the rooms, the standard room you had is a size normal for a city hotel; at a small extra fee our guests can book the larger double and superior rooms.
We try to accommodate guest requests as it comes to twin or double beds, but this is a preference we can never guarantee. The team (Thomas and Tom) tried to help you as much as possible to meet your request by at least making the bed with 1 sheet into a double bed.

For your next stay, please get in touch with me personally, I will be more than happy to offer you a complimentary room to show you that we do know what hospitality is all about @The Neighbour's Magnolia.

We hope next time you will get in touch with us directly, we always take complaints very serious and react to them in an appropiate way. With kind regards, Elvira Wilthagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    178
    47
    21
    7
See reviews for
94
213
87
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

very cosy hotel with nice interior decoration, clean and comfartable rooms, helpfull and friendly staff, very good location near vondelpark, museum quarter and good restaurants,two tram stop is very near

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

WOW- so happy to have found this hotel. A great experience from the time we checked in to the minute we checked out! We stayed for 3 nights. I was traveling with my 12 year old daughter and my 80 year old mom. We were met by Tom at the reception desk. He told us to sit down and offered us a soda or water to drink while he pulled up our reservation. He carried our bags up the steep stairs to our room and made sure that everything was to our liking. We loved our cozy room with the big window opening up to back of the hotel. I loved that the hotel was just up the street from where the #2 tram stops. The beds were comfy and the room was clean. On checking out, the girl at the desk helped us to carry our bags outside. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room #4 at the top of the stairs was a bit noisy. I think that everytime the downstairs main doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia is more likely a 2 star hotel rated as 3*. The biggest advantage is it's location. Being located in a quiet place near large Vondel park, at a walking distance from the Museums square (Van Gogh, etc.), a lot of cafes in the vicinity of the hotel, it can be a good vantage point for both exploring the city and relaxing. You can take a tram that will get you to the city center in 10-15 min. You can also take a walk but be prepared to jump road pits and tranches, since there are roadworks all along the street that leads from the hotel to the Museums square. But the hotel itself.... You may not see the Vondel park and listen to birds in the morning (as was written in one of the reviews) just because there is another block of buildings separating the park from the hotel. You would hardly enjoy meagre breakfast especially when you know it's price. You will likely get disappointed with the room furnishings which looks as it were taken from dormitory rooms or derelict warehouse. After reading all these enthusiastic reviews, it was a shock for us to face with the reality. Indeed, the staff is very friendly but this does not make up for all the rest negatives.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your honest opinion with us. Good to see that you enjoyed the neighbourhood, as it gives a glimps of what living in Amsterdam is all about outside of the tourist centre of town.

But I am sad to read that the hotel product did not meet your expectations as we do our utmost to make it a pleasant 3 star hotel experience (that the birds in the large gardens in the back did not sing during your stay, is unfortunately beyond our control). With respect to the breakfast, please let us know what you missed at the continental breakfast buffet we offer for E 10,50 apart from the freshly baked croissants, rolls, toast, juices, jams, cheese, coldcuts, yoghurt, fresh fruits and the typically Dutch Hagelslag and Ontbijtkoek. And for the rooms, as many of our guests only stay for 2 nights we removed the closets to create extra space. Closets and drawers can be placed upon request, no problem just ask.

But please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your experience in further detail. We take pride in making sure all guests go home with a good feeling and love to come back and stay with us again.

Kind regards, Elvira Wilthagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Neighbour's Magnolia. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The street below our room was a bit noisy and you could hear the tram going by- but when we closed the window it mostly blotted out the noise. (There was no aircon so this might be uncomfortable if it's very hot- there was however a small fan). It's located in a pleasant area close to Vondelpark and the art museums. There's also a tram stop on the street which conveniently takes you to the more central parts of the city- it's only a few minute drive. Breakfast seemed a bit expensive (but optional). The staff was very helpful and friendly and there was free wifi and computers which could be used free of charge. We would definitely recommend it :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Nadia,

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences on the web for other travellers to benefit from. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we may welcome you again in the future. Small tip for that next visit, if you pre-book the breakfast you will get a 25% discount.

Kind regards, Elvira Wilthagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Welcoming and friendly hotel. Clean and fresh too. We loved the way that the honesty bar was available all the time for drinks, snacks, tea and coffee, but if a member of staff was there, they offered to make us whatever we wanted.
Position is just right; you can walk into the city through the park (30mins to the centre) or take a tram from outside the door. Museums are 10 mins walk
Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. The team takes great pride in offering just that little extra to ensure our guests feel at home. Thanks for acknowledging that! Hope to see you back soon, Elvira Wilthagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Really phenomenal hotel experience. Excellent service and superb facilities. The staff were incredibly helpful. Rented a bicycle from the hotel and it added to how great my stay in Amsterdam was. Also, the breakfast buffet was excellent. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.