We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonder&vondel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia to your Saves list
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“wonder&vondel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

It's almost like at home! A lovely toy dog is waiting for you in your bed when you come back in your room in the hotel after long day. Warm croissants and delicious jam in smart glass jars are waiting you for breakfast. Organic bathgel&shampoo with nice smell is waiting you for fresh shower.
Staff is really united team - from small smiling mulatto boy (cleaning rooms) to tall handsome blond guy at reception, and everyone is very sympathetic and helpful!
I wish one day I'll be back)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
You made us smile with your nice comments. And we will do our utmost to keep the team together to welcome you back during your next trip to Amsterdam! They are indeed a great bunch of people, we are proud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    175
    44
    21
    7
See reviews for
93
206
86
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed here with a friend for a long weekend exploring Amsterdam. Having visited Amsterdam before I took the decision to look for a hotel out of the centre and chose this one due to the Trip Advisor previous reviews.
I booked directly with the hotel and that was easy to do.
Before we arrived I told them we were going to be there very early as we had a 6am flight from UK, they were happy to store our luggage until check in time and when we arrived back after a day out shopping and exploring our cases were in our rooms! They even made us a cup of tea before we headed out!
I had a one bedroom room on the first floor, up a typically steep set of 'Amsterdam' stairs, relatively easy to climb as long as you don't have a case!!
My room was spotless, very comfy bed under the window with a TV, small desk, chair, case stand. There was a hanging shelf for clothes. The bathroom was a wet room with a very efficient shower and toiletries.
My room was on the front of the house so with the window open it was fairly noisy with the trams trundling up and down. This wasn't a problem with the window closed and no worse than any other city.
I really loved the feel of the place, the staff were efficient and very friendly. They were able to give us lots of information about trams and the area around the hotel. We decided to take a shuttle from the airport and the staff phoned to book our return trip.
Breakfast was a fairly simple affair, but it was nice plenty of hot drinks and freshly baked croissants, cold meat, cheese, cereals and fruits.
They also had an honesty bar where you could make yourself a cup of tea or have a drink in the living /breakfast room area. I really like this idea great after a day exploring before hitting the town again at night!
The real added bonus was the free internet, all hotels should have internet and this one had fast internet - Brilliant!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are noisier, but not a huge problem. The stairs are very steep typical of Amsterd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you very much for you feedback, very detailed.

It is correct that the rooms at the front can be a bit noisy when you leave the window open, but as you say, just like anywhere else. But they are double glazed and isolate very well and as it is a quiet neighbourhood traffic slows down very early and the tram stops running around midnight. The breakfast buffet is based on the 'continental' items, all fresh and bread is baked a la minute. We decided to keep it simple but with a good quality.

So again, thank you for your compliment & staying with us and see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed in this room for 1 night during a Europe car trip.

It was surprisingly great! The value we paid vs value received is great. The room was very modern and comfortable.

The staff was very helpful. We were about 20 minutes away from most of the main attractions in Amsterdam. We also bought some tickets to events/museums from the hotel and saved the line.

If I go back to Amsterdam, I'd definitely recommend this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

For me, the visit to amsterdam was all about Van Gogh and this place was perfect for that. The museum block was down the road which also had Rijk and Staedlijk . To add to that, the towncentre is a short tram ride away and we preferred to walk.
The hotel is just perfect with a very friendly staff, super clean and ours was in the adjoining building with a great sit out. The size of the room was especially astounding and our only crib was that it shouldnt have had their laundry right next to the front door.

We didnt take breakfast as there are great options around. I would definitely choose this place during my next trip too

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments for the team. I will make sure also our housekeeping department gets your remark on the cleanliness of the room, they deserve it, great you thought of them as well. Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stayed here recently when the Apple Inn ( up the road) had overbooked. Despite being "dropped" upon them at a busy time I was made to feel really welcome and the (studio) room was great. A lovely small hotel and I will stay here again I'm in Amsterdam

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed three days in june, and had a lovely stay! Very helpful personnel, nice and cool design, great location in a lovely neighbourhood, close to all attractions, large room and superb value. Loved it!
We will definitely come back to The Neighbour´s Magnolia, andwonderful Amsterdam!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Excellent hotel. Great location in quiet neighbourhood just outside of the city centre and right next to the wonderful Vondelpark. Tram 2 takes you straight from the railway station to the hotel. Great design interior. Lobby / reception area feels like your living room. Friendly and helpful staff. Book your breakfast in advance (cheaper). Excellent breakfast with wide variety of choice and they are not very strict with the breakfast hours if you like to sleep a little late. One slight remark: I would not recommend the location of our room which was in the 'basement' (the hotel is located in a typical amsterdam town house). You can hear early birds walking around in the lobby for breakfast and difficult to open a windom since they give out to the boardwalk. Ask for a room on the first or second floor. otherwise great hotel! coming back here

Room Tip: avoid rooms in the basement section of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Manager at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Google Translation
Veel dank voor jullie commentaar en review. Het was geen moeite onze ontbijttijden wat aan te passen aan jullie! Het was gezellig jullie bij ons te hebben en tot een volgende keer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.