We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia to your Saves list
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“a great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Staff very helpfully. The area of the city where the Hotel is is great, very nice and quite. We book a room with terrace and it was great, we had a wonderfull weather and we kann enjoy the terrace.

The hotel stay in a typical Amsterdam Huis!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and hope to see you back next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    175
    44
    21
    7
See reviews for
93
206
86
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

I'm sad to leave Amsterdam and one if the reasons is because this hotel is wonderful. We stayed in a studio room next door to the main hotel and it easily accommodated the 3 of us. Big, bright, airy room with a large bathroom, and a balcony. The stairs up to the room are typical steep ones' but you only lug luggage up once. The staff are friendly and helpful, the WiFi stable and strong. The location is on a lovely quiet street, with the number 2 tram just a short walk away (turn left out the front door). Or you can walk into the city centre in an easy 20 mins. Vondel Park is also a stones throw away, for exercise or strolling or picnicking, or all three!

We didn't chose to have breakfast at the hotel but from what we saw and smelt it seemed fine.

We would come back, and will definitely recommend to all we know who are heading to Amsterdam.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel is located in the former maison in the beautiful art-nouveau-style area of Amsterdam, right next to Vondelpark and to the stop of tram no.2 that takes you to all attractions in the city center (5 minutes to art musems, 10 minutes to Leidseplein, 15 minutes to Dam square and 20 minutes to central railway station). The design concept of the hotel is very interesting - it has the big and cosy living room where you can relax and have drinks. Rooms are also very cosy and clean, even though small. I had a nice street view from my room - unfortunately there were some street renewal construction works ongoing, so it was quite noisy early in the mornings, but it's a temporary problem not in any way related to the hotel quality. Hotel staff has always been very friendly, helpful and ready to answer any kinds of questions. Prices are also quite reasonable. I would come back to this same hotel when coming to Amsterdam once again, and I would also recommend it to all kinds of other people coming to see Amsterdam (single travellers, groups of friends, couples or families), especially the ones who enjoy comfort at good price, art and design.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
On behalf of the team, thanks you for your all your nice words!

And the good thing, you can even come back already now as the roadworks in front of the hotel are finished!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

pleasant surroundings and rooms in a quieter part of the city. On the tram line so it's convenient to access other areas. Staff were friendly. My basement room was roomy (and elongated), opened on to a small backyard but was somewhat noisy as it was located next to the stairs and laundry

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The rooms were very clean and the hosts very accommodating. The hotel is situated in a good location. Near to the museums and the train station. The hosts were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay at the place. They also had a very nice breakfast. I would recommend hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Amsterdam. It affordable and the rooms are great and the location helps in exploring the city by being in a central location close to all the major places.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Alabama, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was my husband and my second trip to Amsterdam and we spent 4 nights at The Neighbor's Magnolia. We purposely chose a hotel in a somewhat quieter part of town than our first trip and we found the stay to be very pleasant. The entrance to Vondelpark is one block away and we enjoyed walking in the park. There are two tram stops very close to the hotel and several good restaurants. The room was not large, but was larger than most in Europe. Ours had a large balcony. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable with a thick, soft mattress pad. Breakfast was excellent. The staff was outstanding. Any question or request was handled immediately. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Spend three nights here in early May. This is more like a B&B than a hotel - very personalized and laid-back. The reception/breakfast/relaxation area was like being in someone's home. We got so relaxed at breakfast, it was difficult getting started on our touring. The staff here are top-notch - very friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated a block from the Tram, a block from Vondelpark, five minutes from the museums, and in a pleasant neighborhood with shops and restaurants nearby. We chose this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and were most pleased.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Much appreciated, thank you for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.