We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neighborhood hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia to your Saves list
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“Great neighborhood hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The hotel was recommended by a friend. It's in a quite area of this bustling city with easy access to everything by foot or tram. There are plenty of good shops and restaurants around the hotel. The staff is very friendly,attentive and helpful. We definitely recommend this hotel and we will stay here again when we return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
A great neighbourhood hotel, that's exactly what we want to be. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    177
    46
    21
    7
See reviews for
94
211
86
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was a last minute booking and value was good for Amsterdam. The hotel is in a nice quiet residential area about 40 minute walk from the centre but only about 15/20 mins on the tram. The tram stop is only a few minutes walk from the hotel which was very handy. You're not too far away from the action, but far enough away so you get a quiet nights sleep. It's a great base for the museums (Van Gogh and the Rijks) which are only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. I would recommend to book tickets before you go as they were very busy.
The room was lovely, nice comfy bed beautiful surroundings. We had a great balcony and if we had a bit of sunshine (instead of constant rain) it would have been nice to relax with a coffee or a beer.
Staff we're friendly, decor was very boutique for the most part. I think our bathroom needed an upgrade as it wasn't in keeping with the rest of the place but it was still fine. Overall just a lovely place. I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam and this hotel. It is located in a quiet residential and safe neighborhood and is within walking distance of the museums, and trams. The staff was very friendly, and helpful. Rooms are small, but clean, and comfortable. Although it does not have an elevator, the staff is very willing to assist with carrying luggage up and down. We had breakfast in the hotel a few times, but there is also a great coffee/restaurant/cafe with an outside terrace located just down the street. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Unless you are in really good shape and don't mind climbing stairs, I would stay away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thanks a lot, Jonne. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Youth pleasant staff, good location in a quiet location, good condition rooms. I had a window, there are lots of trees, in the morning I woke up to singing birds.
Hotel is small, but cozy. No elevator, but for me it was not a problem. I want to come back.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows to the courtyard especially pleasing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We enjoyed a very nice stay in this hotel. It is situated in a quiet residential area, 10 minutes of walk far from the main museums of the city. The place is small but clean, comfortable and very nice. The owners are kind and helpful. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torun, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Great service, perfect location (next to Vondelpark and Museums, close to tram 2, 16 and bus to Schiphol), clean and silent room. I would only add a few more things during breakfast to make it more well-off. The rest was just perfect

Room Tip: If You just want to sleep and rest take a cosy room. It is enough for one person. If not take a bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had a lovely stay at this hotel in mid-March. It is very easy to take the bus from the airport to get to the hotel (I believe it is bus 197 and was around 4-5 Euros per person). It drops you off right by the Concertgebouw and the museums and it is a short walk to the hotel. The hotel is on a lovely little street with a lot of cafes. We arrived very early in the morning (around 8am) and asked if we could check in, assuming that we wouldn't be able to until later in the day. In fact, they did have a room available for us though the configuration was a bit different than the one we had booked. We were very grateful to be able to nap so that we could make the most of the rest of the day. The service was really great for our entire stay.

The accommodations were nice: the rooms are a bit small, but perfectly fine and this is understandable given the location. And the view of the magnolia tree in the courtyard is quite pretty. We felt the hotel was a good value for Amsterdam, which can be fairly pricey, especially on the weekend.

The best thing about the hotel is by far the location. It is about a 10 minute walk to the museum district and you can walk pretty much anywhere in the main part of the city, and the walk is quite nice along the canals. However, taking the tram is also very easy and quick and there are two stops right down the street from the hotel. It is in a quiet part of Amsterdam so you can get a good night's sleep, but close enough to anything you might want to see. The only problem is that there aren't a lot of restaurants in the area right by the hotel. So if you are going to Amsterdam for the red light district and bars, you should stay elsewhere. But if you are going for the museums and something a bit quieter, this is the place for you.

We would definitely stay here again the next time we go to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and explanation for the option of taking the bus from the Airport to the hotel (and vice versa).

It is true that some of our standard rooms are typical big city small, but when you come back, treat yourself to a superior of deluxe room, they a significantly larger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.