We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia to your Saves list
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Moscow
1 review
“Good place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Youth pleasant staff, good location in a quiet location, good condition rooms. I had a window, there are lots of trees, in the morning I woke up to singing birds.
Hotel is small, but cozy. No elevator, but for me it was not a problem. I want to come back.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows to the courtyard especially pleasing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    178
    47
    21
    7
See reviews for
94
213
87
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We enjoyed a very nice stay in this hotel. It is situated in a quiet residential area, 10 minutes of walk far from the main museums of the city. The place is small but clean, comfortable and very nice. The owners are kind and helpful. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torun, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Great service, perfect location (next to Vondelpark and Museums, close to tram 2, 16 and bus to Schiphol), clean and silent room. I would only add a few more things during breakfast to make it more well-off. The rest was just perfect

Room Tip: If You just want to sleep and rest take a cosy room. It is enough for one person. If not take a bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had a lovely stay at this hotel in mid-March. It is very easy to take the bus from the airport to get to the hotel (I believe it is bus 197 and was around 4-5 Euros per person). It drops you off right by the Concertgebouw and the museums and it is a short walk to the hotel. The hotel is on a lovely little street with a lot of cafes. We arrived very early in the morning (around 8am) and asked if we could check in, assuming that we wouldn't be able to until later in the day. In fact, they did have a room available for us though the configuration was a bit different than the one we had booked. We were very grateful to be able to nap so that we could make the most of the rest of the day. The service was really great for our entire stay.

The accommodations were nice: the rooms are a bit small, but perfectly fine and this is understandable given the location. And the view of the magnolia tree in the courtyard is quite pretty. We felt the hotel was a good value for Amsterdam, which can be fairly pricey, especially on the weekend.

The best thing about the hotel is by far the location. It is about a 10 minute walk to the museum district and you can walk pretty much anywhere in the main part of the city, and the walk is quite nice along the canals. However, taking the tram is also very easy and quick and there are two stops right down the street from the hotel. It is in a quiet part of Amsterdam so you can get a good night's sleep, but close enough to anything you might want to see. The only problem is that there aren't a lot of restaurants in the area right by the hotel. So if you are going to Amsterdam for the red light district and bars, you should stay elsewhere. But if you are going for the museums and something a bit quieter, this is the place for you.

We would definitely stay here again the next time we go to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and explanation for the option of taking the bus from the Airport to the hotel (and vice versa).

It is true that some of our standard rooms are typical big city small, but when you come back, treat yourself to a superior of deluxe room, they a significantly larger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

The Neighbour's Magnolia was thrown up during a search for Hotels in Expedia, and I thought why not?
On a previous trip to Amsterdam I stayed a stone's throw from Centraal Station. This Hotel is around 20 minutes from the Station (take Tram 2 to Cornelius Schuystraat); during the journey You get to pinpoint a few iconic Amsterdam landmarks that You may wish to visit - the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh and Leideseplein are all within walking distance.

The Hotel itself is conspicuously tucked away on a beautiful tree-lined residential street.
Steps from the front door to the Lobby are steep, as are the steps up to the rooms (not sure if there's a Lift), but I was pleasantly impressed at how chic the Hotel is.
The Reception aka Living Room is light and airy, the rear doors opening onto a small balcony, framed by the neighbour's Magnolia tree (hence the name). There's a Mac to satisfy any communication needs (the Hotel offers WiFi in the Living Room and all rooms free of charge), and an amazing vintage Vinyl collection complete with turntable should You wish to take it back to the old school.
Snacks and drinks are readily available from the honesty bar, and a Continental Breakfast is served daily - expensive at €14.50 although a €4 discount is offered if You request Breakfast the day before.
The Gentleman that greeted me on arrival was lovely; took my bag and offered me a much needed cold drink! We sat and chatted for awhile whilst He went over my reservation details and pointed out local attractions and things I might wish to see and do. The key card to Your room is presented in a very handy pocket sized Map of Amsterdam.

My room was on the first floor. It was a lot smaller than I expected, but I actually didn't mind. The Bathroom was clean and simple, although the 'open plan' all-in-one aspect threw me slightly!
The Bed was comfortable and whilst under the window, didn't get draughty - however, with the room situated at the front of the building traffic noise (trams especially) could be an issue, as well as the smell of exhaust fumes that mean You can't have the window open for long periods.
What irked me most was the bumps in the night; slamming doors and Elephants in the room above - extremely loud and at random times, often startling me out of sleep!

Nonetheless my stay at The Neighbour's Magnolia has been lovely.
I'm still undecided as to whether I'll take Sparky home with me, but I know that next time I visit Amsterdam, I'll definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willowbrook, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

On a tram line, near all manner of shopping and eating places, and just a ten minute walk to the concert hall, three museums,Vondel Park, the location was perfect. It was near enough to the central city, but had a pleasant neighborhood feel. The room and bath were immaculate, the staff was entirely cheerful, and friendly. Certainly, the suggestions for King's Day were right on the money. We had a fabulous day browsing, buying, listening, taking pictures. Thanks for sending us to Beethovenstraat. We would stay nowhere else in Amsterdam. And....the beds were super comfortable!
Helene Cox &Katherine Himelblau

Room Tip: If you don't want stairs, there is a twin room near the reception...lovely view of Neighbour'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piano Di Sorrento
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Adorable staff, wonderful room (always clean and with a private bathroom). The hotel is in a nice position, not too far from the center of the city. Hotel also rent d Bikes (good price!) that gives you the possibily to have the best trip of the city. Excellent!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.