We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia to your Saves list
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Piano Di Sorrento
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Adorable staff, wonderful room (always clean and with a private bathroom). The hotel is in a nice position, not too far from the center of the city. Hotel also rent d Bikes (good price!) that gives you the possibily to have the best trip of the city. Excellent!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    201
    48
    23
    7
See reviews for
100
233
96
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

A great hotel which is located next to the very scenic Vondelpark, a short 15 minute walk to the museum district and a about a 10 minute tram ride into the centre of Amsterdam. When we first went into the hotel we were greeted by Thomas who was super friendly and helped take a load off our feet by offering us a free cocktail which was exactly what we needed! Thomas was extremely helpful and even let us play some old vinyl music while he checked us in! Our stay there was great, except for the mix up for our room booking. We had originally booked a double room but we were given a twin room and since there were no other rooms available we had to make do with this. Thomas was very apologetic about this and gave us a discount on our room and free use of the rental bikes for a day which compensated us adequately. Would have been 5 stars if it were not for this room mix up. Would definitely recommend for anyone who wants to stay away from the hustle and bustle of central Amstedam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for the kind words for Thomas, our ' vinyl-dj' hotel manager. He even got us going back in time music-wise. Really fun.

Sorry to read about the room mix up; with so little rooms there is not much we can do to fix such a case that fortunately hardly ever happens. Next time we make sure you get the right room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful neighbourhood. Rooms were basic but comfortable. The bathroom looked a little dated but the shower (over a bath) was of a decent standard. Sleep quality was good with large beds and soft pillows. The only thing to note is that some of the doors in the hotel are a little noisy - even when closed, some of them make a 'juddering' noise which can be quite loud. This is possibly caused by the wind or when other doors are opened / closed.

The staff were extremely helpful and corteous throughout. Overall I was very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Good to see that you enjoyed the hospitality from our team, they work hard to make everybody's stay a pleasant one. (And we enjoy doing so!) Thank you for your remark on the doors. We have not heard that before but will definitely look into this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicali, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great little hotel. Cozy rooms. Walking distance to all the main spots. Highly recommend it. Just got back from amsterdam. Loved it. The staff was very nice. We got there at 10:30 pm and they had everything waiting for us to check im without any problems. Great local restaurants just a block away. Van Gogh museum 10 minutes walking distance. Hope to comeback soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great location for our first visit to Amsterdam. We found the hotel to be peaceful and located in the museum quarter with easy access to everywhere by tram. Service was great and hospitality very warm and welcoming. Our room was spacious with direct access onto an outside terrace. Breakfast was lovely and staff very friendly. If we return to Amsterdam we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the inside with access to a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Compared to our previous few nights in a similarly priced hotel in Cologne, this hotel was in another league. The service was excellent and the whole ambience of the place exuded warmth and security. Although we were in another strange city, we immediately felt at home here. Our room had a lovely clean bathroom of decent size and a substantial TV with lots of channels. Upon entry, we were immediately helped up the steps with our luggage and treated to a pleasant 15 minutes of orientation on the ways of the hotel as well as getting the best out of our stay in Amsterdam. I would love to return for a longer stay sometime in the future. Having a tram line just outside the hotel was also a huge benefit. Well done to all of the staff.

Room Tip: Ground floor room was nice i.e. near the breakfast room and no stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Eigenaar at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
On behalf of the team, Thank you! It has been our pleasure to have you over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We loved the neighborhood of this hotel. We enjoyed walking everywhere, going to the park and nearby cafés! We never used public transportation except to go to the train station. It was a cute hotel with friendly staff! Nice sized rooms and bathrooms.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.