We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice stay!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Save Saved
You added Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, nice stay!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We loved the neighborhood of this hotel. We enjoyed walking everywhere, going to the park and nearby cafés! We never used public transportation except to go to the train station. It was a cute hotel with friendly staff! Nice sized rooms and bathrooms.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    172
    42
    18
    5
See reviews for
92
200
85
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We found the service at the Hotel Magnolia outstanding. Most of our group had not been to Amsterdam before, but the Manager, Thomas, and other staff went out of their way to provide us with a great experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Eigenaar at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks for the compliment. It has been a pleasure having you and ensuring that you knew there is more to Amsterdam than just the RAI exhibition center. We hope the conference was a success and looking forward seeing you the next edition of INtertraffic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

the location of the hotel was very good-away from the noise of the center but close to the museum region. you can also take a tram at the corner of the hotel.If I will travel Amsterdam again I will definetly choose the same hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We spent a wonderful few days exploring Amsterdam from this cute little gem of a hotel. Rooms are small, but have a quirky character to make up for what they lack in size. Perhaps softer pillows could be sourced? Otherwise tastefully decorated, lovely hosts, great location, will be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Love the place, the employees, the location… Evething so safe, friendly and amazing. The hotel doesn't have an elevator, but at least they have someone to carry our luggage upstairs. Great breakfast and staff always taking care of you. Tram right on the corner to most places I wanted to go. Loved it! Wanna go back as soon as I can!

Room Tip: If you can stay on the first floor, you'll have less steps to go up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Hotel The Neighbor's Magnolia was a last minute find for us on a whirlwind trip to Amsterdam. We drove in on a Friday evening, and Thomas, the desk clerk (who I later discovered to be the Manager), after checking us in, helped get us, our daughter, two dogs, and luggage up the steep steps to our room (room 129). He also waited with me until nearly midnight (2 hours after his quitting time) for a Pizza that never arrived. Unsolicited Tip: Don't use "Fantasia" pizza place close to their closing time. He offered to go find me something for the family to eat even then, and only quit asking when I told him that we'd be fine. The daughter did wake up at 2 asking for the pizza though, which caused me to have some not so nice thoughts about Fantasia (which does get good ratings on Yelp...).

Overall, the hotel was really nice. Our room was in the side of the hotel that is not as updated, but still very comfortable, and perfect for us. Breakfasts were ample and delicious with fresh fruit, fresh sliced meats and cheeses, fresh cooked croissants and broetchen, yoghurt with sprinkles (a hit with our 5 year old daughter), basically a typical European breakfast.

The "Living Room" is a comfortably appointed, warm space where they serve breakfast, but also where guests congregated. We met nice folks from India, and a few other places while there, and that added to the overall experience. They have an "Honor Bar" with selections of wines, beers, juice, water, coffee and tea, and it seemed to work well (no-one appeared to be taking unfair advantage of it).

We really enjoyed our stay and are already making plans to return. Price is reasonable (everything here in Europe is more expensive than I personally like, but it's literally the price you pay for living here), especially for the great facilities, location, and staff.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 129 (Studio) has a kitchen. Not as updated as the "new" section in the main part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Eigenaar at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Also on behalf of Bleecker, our hotel-dog, thank you for your nice comments. Glad that you and your entire family enjoyed your stay.
(By the way, and for your next stay, let us order your pizza, Thomas surely knows the places where to order. Or even better, enjoy one of our neighbouring restaurants, all fine places to go).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The location of the hotel is just great - it takes about 10 mins to walk to Concertgebouw, and it's really close to the tram stop. The rooms are very clean, staff were really helpful and friendly. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.