We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Save Saved
You added Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 205, Amsterdam 1071 HB, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Overall we were very happy with this hotel. Wonderful welcome and great staff. Granted the girl at the desk on the second day was slightly less helpful, but still very pleasant. Good location. Fairly close to museumplein and leidsplein. We walked it quite easily (and all the way in the red light district). But we are walkers, it is a fairly decent walk, but very manageable. Really easy options on public transport to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    172
    40
    16
    5
See reviews for
85
195
79
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at a twin bed room, which was narrow, but did it's job. Don't forget there is not so much space in Amsterdam. The room was clean and had all we needed. Staff at the reception was extraordinary friendly and helpful. Would recommend this hotel to everybody who likes to walk a bit and doesn't need to stay in the middle of the all happening areas. Also good for people with cars. The park & ride Olympic stadium and the fashion centre are only few tram stations away. Sunday free parking etc. The hotel itself is small, but very functional, cozy and the lobby/breakfast room feels a bit like home.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I needed a single room in a hotel near tram stops as I have difficulty walking. Booked this after I had seen the reviews and found I could get it with the flight on my card points. i had a small well decorated single room overlooking the main street. The tram noise did not bother me but it might bother some. The staff were very helpful when I needed to contact a doctor to arrange for a prescription. The breakfast room is light and airy. I thought the breakfast a touch expensive but it is Amsterdam. If you turn left there is a not very good bar and tram stop. To the right 1 block away are some restaurants and another tram stop, a further block gets you to a good pub / cafe.
TRAVEL TIP. BUS 279? (Can't be sure of my memory on this) From Schipol to the Museumplein then tram 2 will get you almost to the hotel door.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Eigenaar at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you very much for mentioning the bus to your fellow travellers. It is indeed a not very often used option, but a fast and cheap trip. If you are able to walk without any problems you can even get of at The Concertgebouw stop and walk 10 minutes to the hotel.
With respect to the breakfast, it can be prebooked at a discounted rate, for you to know for your next stay!
Glad to read that you enjoyed the room decorations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I can't say too much about some hotel features, as I arrived at 23:30 and checked out first thing the following morning. The solo room was very nice, had a tv, was clean, comfortable bed and a personal bathroom. The customer service stood out as being very good; the website states that check-in is between 14:00-23:00 and I was unable to get there until 23:30, so I e-mailed them to ask if it would be okay to turn up late and received a reply ten minutes later saying the night porter would be able to stay late for me. The night porter was very polite and helpful even if I did make him stay later than necessary. The location of the hotel was excellent also, a pleasant 15 minute walk or so into the city centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was exactly what I was looking for: somewhere inexpensive, conveniently located, clean & nice accomodations, friendly staff. As I was focused on museums for this trip, I started looking for cheap hotels near the museum district, and picked this one. The neighborhood is lovely and quiet, and residential with parks nearby. It may appear fairly far from the center on a map, but as Amsterdam is quite small, it is a very pleasant 35-45 minute walk to the historic center, or a 15 minute tram (stops very close to the hotel) or bike ride, and many key tourist sites (like the Rijksmuseum & Van Gogh Museum) are closer (10 minute walk).

I was traveling alone, and the single room I had was small but met all my needs with a comfortable bed and warm shower with good water pressure. They also had some handy tourist & practical (e.g. where the nearby supermarket is) advice written by the staff that was provided in the room. I was concerned at first because I was arriving late (midnight) and it said that the desk closes at 11 pm, but the night staff were able to let me in and there were no problems. There are only stairs and no elevator, which was no problem for me, but may concern some guests. However, the staff did offer to help with bringing bags up and down the stairs. The breakfast buffet looked a typical pretty good continental breakfast, although I did not try it as I typically just eat a very light breakfast of a coffee & pastry.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Eigenaar at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We do indeed always offer to bring the luggage up&down the (typical Amsterdam) stairs we have. Helps us all to keep fit & in shape! :-)

Hope to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Would totally recommend this place. Perfect location - tram station a block away and walkable everywhere. Vondlepark is right around the corner. Super nice people - clean and comfortable all the way around. No elevator though so be prepared if you have heavy luggage!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The Neighbour's Magnolia ( very special name) is a great hotel in a lovely quiet residential area. My room was nice, clean, nicely decorated, functional and...very quiet. I stayed at the backsite of the hotel. The staff was very friendly. The continental breakfast was excellent with fresh baked breads and croissants. There are lots of excellent restaurants and cafes within a few minutes of the hotel. Also easy travel to the centre by tram or walk. I can recommend this very confortable hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Address: Willemsparkweg 205, Amsterdam 1071 HB, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.